We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights early september for the start of our honeymoon roadtrip. We had a resort view room with king bed and balcony. Room was nice, balcony overlooked some fountains and flamingos, and the coronado bridge! We were very happy with room, but after 2 nights, the management rang to ask if we would like an upgrade as we were on honeymoon and a resort view room had become available! I thought this was a very nice touch as we hadn't asked for an upgrade being so happy with our original room!
New room was even nicer and seemed cleaner somehow! (Not that the first one wasn't!)
All staff were extremely friendly and helpful. the grounds of the hotel are beautiful as is the pool, great snack and drinks by the pool and a beautiful view of the bay.
We found the breakfast a bit pricey, roughly €40 for 2! If you walk down orange ave to coronado you will find plenty of places much cheaper!
Water taxi was great leaves right from the hotel and never had to wait long for it.
Plenty of restaurants nearby at the ferry landing, but can be quite expensive we prefered walking further to find cheaper places!
I would recommend trying Boneys Bayside market on orange ave and 2nd for lunch it was awesome!!!

Room Tip: The bayview rooms are worth the extra, watch the passing aircraft carriers right from your balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marishnosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    513
    158
    51
    25
See reviews for
468
405
33
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Our family stayed here the first week in October, 2011. Booked our 2 bedroom villa by calling the hotel directly. The villas often do not show up as "available" on line so be sure to call if you you can't find one for your specific dates.

Villa was huge and consisted of two one-bedroom villas connected by an interior door. We had two large king beds, two large bathrooms (each with a jetted tub and separate walk-in shower), 3 flat screen televisions and one large kitchen and dining area. There were also two patios - one overlooked the bay and the city of San Diego (gorgeous) and the other one overlooked the parking lot (yuck). Kitchen had dishes, cups, silverware, small refrigerator, microwave and a Kuerig coffee maker. Complimentary coffee, tea and hot chocolate pods were replenished daily.

The villas are a short walk to the main hotel lobby. There is also a children's park and small beach a short walk in the opposite direction. We enjoyed all the walking and being away from the main hotel, but I can see how it could be tedious for someone with mobility problems.

The hotel's main restaurant Current was an excellent choice for breakfast. The staff is super friendly and efficient - never had to ask twice for anything. The menu is extensive, but the buffet has pretty much everything you could ask for. It's pricey, but the food and service was always top notch. The bar gets crowded in the evenings (happy hour) but the drinks are good and the bartenders are very attentive.

Villa pool is small, warm and quiet. The hotel's main pool is much larger but it got pretty crowded on the weekend. We stuck to the smaller pool. There is a phone on the wall closest to the entrance that will connect you to the pool restaurant if you wish to order drinks or snacks. Very handy when you want a quick bite but don't want to travel up the main hotel.

The concierge Norma was a huge help when booking restaurants and transportation. Be sure to see her before you head out - she has coupons for things like a free appetizer or dessert at many of the restaurants. Nice!

This Marriott was definitely a winner with us. We hope to bring our family back here someday!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TaniaWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Large rooms, lots of space, great view, excellent location. You can take a walk by the bay. In-restaurant dining is great. Service was very good. Open space plan. Was wonderfully surprised for the value compared to other hotels in the area. Check it out!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorkingMomSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Stayed here with the family and had a great time. The grounds are amazing with lagoons, flamingos, ducks that my son loved. Our room had a view of the pool and was nice and comfortable with a mini fridge. The pool is huge and was so warm that we were swimming until after 8PM every night.

The hotel is located on the San Diego Bay side of the island not the ocean side so there is a lovely view of Downtown San Diego, Pet Co Park and the Navy ship yards and there is a nice boardwalk that leads to the Ferry Landing which has shops and plety of place to eat. The main drag Orange Ave. is a long walk or short drive away. San Diego and all it offers (Zoo, Sea World, etc. is just a short drive over the Coronado Bay Bridge.

If you want a quiet relaxing resort to lounge by the pool this is the perfect place. If you want to hang out at the beach and swim in the ocean other than two small beaches near the ferry landing you will probably be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try to get a pool or bay view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acctgdweeb001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mesa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

To me, this is not a 4 star hotel. The bed was extrememly uncomfortable. There was a lot of dust on the coffee table supports and the carpet was so dirty that our white socks were filthy within a half hour. The staff only partly restocked the coffee supplies for the second day, and did not change the sheets. I booked for two nights, but only stayed one. We just used the room to store our belongings for the day as we were not interested in staying in that room again.
The grounds are beautiful. The water features with ducks and flamingos were great and entertaining for my 1 year old. The pool is very warm, which we appreciated as my baby could stay in the water longer.
In the restaurant, avoid the breakfast buffet. No eggs, no pancakes. Just a lot of breakfast meat and pastries for a lot of money. I tried the french toast (gross) and the cake things (also not real good). I ended up eating 3 pieces of bacon and my daughter had oatmeal. My husband had just a little bit too and it ended up costing over $50. Try ordering from the menu, I wish I had.

Room Tip: IF you choose this hotel, get a bay view. It's a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I spent 2 nights there with my family last July. I choose this hotel because it is in Coronado Island, but it was a deception, it is in the middle of nowhere, in the opposite side of the island, where the famous Coronado Hotel is and where the beaches are.
It is a nice hotel, with a nice entrance, a lake with ducks and flamingos at the left. Rooms are very nice too, staff is nice enough but not sincere, you can realize that they passed by a heavy training and always give automatic answers, with no emotion.
But it is an “all not included” hotel. I perfectly understand when I stay in a hotel where they don’t have breakfast included nor internet service just because they don’t have these services. I also understand when they charge for the parking because it is a big city where parking spaces are very valuable and some guests don’t come by car.
But this hotel has internet, breakfast service and parking area but they charge for it separately! Most of the guests preferred to park on the street rather to pay $22 a day for parking! Everything there is a price abuse. The same bottle of water you pay $1.75 in a liquor store two blocks away costs $7 in the room. Internet service? “Just” $12 a day! TV? Most of the channels shows just propaganda. Do they have movie or series channels? Sure, if you pay for it!
And this is not a cheap hotel. By the price, it was supposed that all these facilities where included. It definitely was the worst cost/benefit ratio of my entire trip!
Concluding, if you don’t mind to be fooled, paying for everything, this is the right hotel for you.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudioCFTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Even though my wife and me only spent one night in the hotel, we got everything we choose when we made the reservation. There are many nice places were you can stay when you visit Coronado. However, if you want to stay in one of the nicest places without spending a fortune per night, I will suggest this hotel.

Among all the things you expect from this hotel (e.g., nice bedrooms, good room service, big and gorgeous pool and great facilities) the view of San Diego bay is worth the price. Also I will recommend to rent a bicycle (the hotel provides that service) and go around the bikeway in front of the bay.

Room Tip: By all means, choose a room with bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmolinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 2000 Second Street, Coronado, CA 92118-1551 (Formerly Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa)
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning views of the San Diego skyline from the balcony of your newly renovated luxury suite. Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa provides a comfortable atmosphere for relaxation and renewal with a variety of luxurious on-site features. Explore our tranquil beach community by renting a bike, basking on sun-filled beaches or taking a day trip into San Diego to see the famous zoo. Guests will discover convenience to beautiful sandy beaches, shopping and fine dining at Ferry Landing. After the day is done, return to our Coronado Island resort to relax in luxury with oversized bath tubs, down comforters and plush beds with cotton-rich linens. Flat-panel TVs, connectivity panels and high-speed Internet access keep guest well-entertained. Dine in for the freshest seafood at our restaurant, Current, offering innovative drinks and breathtaking views. Our San Diego luxury resort also boasts breathtaking indoor/outdoor event spaces with over 26,000 square feet for your dream wedding or conference event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing