We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good property but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good property but....”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We booked this property and paid quite a bit for a San Diego area hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews so we had good expectations. Check in went okay and our room was fine. The room was on the bigger side and had a refrigerator so we were happy with that. Where it could be improved is in having queen instead of double beds and it could offer a more 'polished' finish in terms of the little details like having the sink drain properly, the windows closing properly, proper lighting and caulking in the washroom. Another thing we noticed is that there were fruit flies in the closet. We would expect it to be a much cleaner.

The public areas were very nicely laid out and the pool and restaurant were very comfortable with excellent views, however... What really got to us was the lack of quality service. One of the issues we had was with the concierge; she gave us both inaccurate and incomplete information with respect to both water taxi/transportation options and and restaurants in the Coronado area. She told us that the only close by restaurants were at the ferry landing a short walk away. We trusted her judgment and went to one of her recommendations... we received the worst service and food we have ever experienced. When we drove around Coronado on our last day, we found that there were many other establishments in an area that she had not mentioned - all within a 15 minute walk or 5 minute drive.

Another poor service experience was at the property restaurant at dinner time. We went for dinner after a busy day of sightseeing and ordered our food once the server was ready. While we waited for our food, our server did not show us any interest. After 45 minutes went by, we finally flagged down our server and asked for an update. She indicated that the kitchen is having a very busy day and our food was delayed as a result. The restaurant was only 1/4 full. When we received our food, the rice was undercooked, my husbands fish tacos were undercooked; kids food was dry and my medium burger was well done instead of medium and also lukewarm. This begs the question: if the kitchen is so busy, why was our food lukewarm when we received it? Clearly this is a service issue.

We would not recommend anyone to stay at this property due to the lack of quality service and lack of value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AbbyVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    497
    148
    50
    25
See reviews for
437
392
33
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sparkill, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Spent two wonderful nights here at the Marriot. From the time we registered we were given first class treatment. From the front desk staff, to our wonderful waiter Marco and housekeeping everything was done to make sure our first ( but not our last) visit would be top notch!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itinerent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park KS
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We moved here from Loews Coronado. Wanted to be closer to town. Hotel is nice it is more of a beach cottage feel. Walk out side to get to your room. Paid $19 more for bay/pool view, was worth it Rooms are spacious but in need of an update. Chips in tile in bathroom and caulking is old and discolored, carpet dirty in spots. Pool food is so so. Expensive. Didn't eat bfast or dinner here. The ferry is $6 pp per way. Ridiculousy expensive for a family and during week last one back to hotel is 8:25pm. There is another ferry at Marketplace for $8.50 pp round trip. Drops you off next to USS Midway Musuem or on 5th Ave. If you have a car I recommend driving into San Diego. Less than 10 min drive and parking is plentiful for a minimum charge. Faster and cheaper than the ferries. The weather in San Diego is amazing. Bring jackets for nightime even in summer!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkv4ou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Coronado island is the perfect getaway during the high temperatures of summer. We left weather at home of 105 and arrived here to a cool 70degrees! We were very pleased with the marriott and all the accomodations it has to offer. We dined outside and the food was delicious. The spa is first rate and the staff was very kind and accomodating. The view is gorgeous and the pool is gigantic. No criticism from us on this visit coronado island and the marriott inn and spa!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank judyartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

We just returned from a seven-night stay at the Marriott Coronado Island resort and loved it! After staying at the Hotel Del last summer, we were a little worried we'd miss being right on the ocean. However, so many aspects of the Marriott were better than the Del that we will choose this hotel from now on. First, the pool area: having a child, the pool is a very important feature. The Marriott's pool had a true resort feel and had a beautiful view of the downtown San Diego skyline right across the bay. Second, the location. Though not on the beach, it is so easy to get to. We enjoyed being on the bayside and seeing the skyline, and loved the walking path. We walked to the ferry landing shops and to the great playground the other direction. Third, we felt the Marriott just had a more relaxed feel overall. The Del is hectic and busy all the time with non-guests who want to visit this historic hotel. Our room at the Marriott was great, service was great, self parking was easy and great. We can't wait to return, hopefully next summer!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank AllieBrookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, PA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

The Marriott resort on Coronado Island is an excellent place to stay in San Diego. We had room 232, which offered a great view of the city skyline across the inlet. The rooms are very large. Our family of four had plenty of space. We had a couple of friends that live in San Diego come over to visit us, and our room had a decent size countertop / bar in the center of the room and a large balcony which, combined with the view, offered a nice place to have a few drinks before heading out for dinner. The parking is a little expensive. Self parking was good, though, because you could park close to the elevator and get to the hotel lobby without much walking. Their Gym is a decent size, and they offered free headphones to plug into the machines while watching TV (a nice touch). Their pool was very warm (almost too warm), but again, very nice. You will need to drive to the beach, but we found that parking easy as long as you head over in the morning. You may want to consider parking on the nearby streets to save some $. There were many non-metered spots closeby in the surrounding neighborhood. Water coolers were set up in the lobby every day with a different type of fruit in them for flavor. Our kids enjoyed checking in the morning to see what the water flavor of the day would be.

Room Tip: Room 232 is an end unit overlooking downtown San Diego.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank familyof4inpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

While this is a beautiful resort and we had a wonderful view of the harbor and the bridge, I was disappointed in Marriott's nickel & dime-ing. I guess this goes for all Marriotts but for the price we paid per night you would think they could offer some free amenities or at least some breakfast. The water shuttle they mention on their site is actually $6/person each way, internet is $13/night (the "free" wireless internet they claim is only in the lobby), they even wanted to charge me a delivery fee to bring me a spoon from the kitchen (and no, they wouldn't just let me come get it). They also wouldn't let me take my own bags. Only the bellman could use the luggage carts (and of course, that means a tip). None of these fees are mentioned on the website. It got pretty ridiculous. We were splurging to celebrate our anniversary in a more expensive hotel and I left feeling like it wasn't really worth the extra money especially since we were out and about a lot. Unless you're planning on spending your entire stay in your room or at the resort (in which case, this hotel would be wonderful), find a cheaper hotel that offers some free amenities.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fallenstar2716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 2000 Second Street, Coronado, CA 92118-1551 (Formerly Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa)
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#8 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning views of the San Diego skyline from the balcony of your newly renovated luxury suite. Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa provides a comfortable atmosphere for relaxation and renewal with a variety of luxurious on-site features. Explore our tranquil beach community by renting a bike, basking on sun-filled beaches or taking a day trip into San Diego to see the famous zoo. Guests will discover convenience to beautiful sandy beaches, shopping and fine dining at Ferry Landing. After the day is done, return to our Coronado Island resort to relax in luxury with oversized bath tubs, down comforters and plush beds with cotton-rich linens. Flat-panel TVs, connectivity panels and high-speed Internet access keep guest well-entertained. Dine in for the freshest seafood at our restaurant, Current, offering innovative drinks and breathtaking views. Our San Diego luxury resort also boasts breathtaking indoor/outdoor event spaces with over 26,000 square feet for your dream wedding or conference event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing