We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxed elegance”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed four days for business meetings. Spectacular waterfront location, very hospitable and attentive staff. Spacious waterfront grounds for walking and relaxing by the pool. Many nearby attractions and dining opportunities.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    502
    152
    50
    25
See reviews for
447
395
33
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
deer park,ny
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I finished the final leg of our trip down the Pacific California coast at this hotel. I'm a little surprised this hotel is a Marriott. Not that it isn't nice but. .. It had outdoor corridors very Un Marriott like. The service at mostly good except they were doing a toilet change and left the old ones in the hall. Also I had called for a bellman for check out and they never sent anyone.
The resort had a ferry that goes to San Diego. $6 a person and only runs fri-sun. This should be free considering the cost of a room. Room was large even though they had to change my room from 2 doubles to a king.
I loved staying on coronado Island and would again but not here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 11messiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had a short trip to this resort for a conference. Last time we'd stayed at a Marriott it was a JW Marriott and we were underwhelmed. This Marriott had superior rooms and the staff were very pleasant. The king bed rooms were large, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was large and well appointed. We only had breakfast at the restaurant and that was good, so I can't say what other meals are like there. In general, though, I'd recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deli8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have stayed here twice and loved it, we will be returning this next weekend, location is great! nice place for families or couples. perfect short walk to several restaraunts and coffee. perfect view of the water.

Room Tip: We have never had a bad room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This resort is average to a fault. No major complaints but no "wow" factor either. The location is OK, but be forewarned that it is on the quieter side of Coronado so it's a bit of a hike to most shopping, restaurants, etc. The view of the bay and downtown San Diego is marred by the industrial nature of the shoreline on the San Diego side. The room was large and comfortable -- though it seems every Marriott I stay in these days needs new mattresses -- and there is a nice balcony with table and chairs to relax. The pool is large and great for children (it would be nice if they had an all-adult pool for the rest of us). The big disappointment was the landscaping. This could actually be a beautiful place but the "flower beds" were completely devoid of flowers and the property was depressing. It just seemed like no one cares.

The service at the restaurant was very good. The dinner menu was quite uninspiring; breakfast was a better experience. The last time we were in Coronado we splurged and stayed tat the Del -- next time I'd definitely head back to the Del.

Room Tip: Ask for the bay side rooms, otherwise your view would really be nothing to write home about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PinguinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nusrat M, General Manager at Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you very much for selecting my hotel for your recent visit to Coronado. I am grateful for your candid feedback. My sincerest apologies for not being able to exceed your expectations. I will make sure to address your concerns with my team immediatelty. Hope you will give us anonther opportunity so we can show the improvements we have made based on your feedback.

Best regards,

Nusrat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
208 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed in a 2-bed room with roommate for several nights.
Originally assigned a first floor room, having read the comments and needing quiet, we refused and were given a second floor room facing a tree and the flamingos.

The bed was comfortable with worn linens (holes in clean sheets). The shower took a while to get hot, but then good pressure. Plenty of counter space, mirror, and lighting. Tub takes up lots of space. Sink is in bathroom, not separate from toilet, shower and tub. Maid replaced towels every day despite our hanging them on the racks. Lighted closet with iron/board and safe. Odd counter room separator with stool and frig that served as our dumping place for bags, newspapers, etc. Desk/chair, lots of drawers. Room arrangement meant we did not hear noise from walkway, but no convenient light switch on entry. Door to bathroom not solid, so could hear noise from inside in the room.

The room had a musty smell. I would have turned on the a/c for white noise (can turn fan on continuously) and ventilation, but my roommate no, so we opened the sliding door (on chain) at night with curtains closed, so got fresh air (temps were pleasant), no noise, and only 1 bug. Balcony was nice even if our view not much.

One night the upstairs neighbors seemed to be using their beds as trampolines, but one call to the front desk put a stop to it.

Staff friendly and helpful. Maid thoroughly cleaned room every day. Hamburger in restaurant was great. Entree salad in restaurant was OK. Drinks from bar OK. Service time and assistance good.

Took long walk from hotel, around edge of golf course, over to ocean and historic hotel, back along shopping street. Very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Metwo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawton, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We spent the weekend at the Marriott Coronado Island resort and we loved it. From check-in everyone in the staff that we encountered was very pleasant and accommodating. Our room was upgraded to a bay/pool view room, which was a pleasant surprise.

Our room was very large for just my husband and I, but we appreciated the ability to spread out a little. The bathroom was nice as well, separate shower and very large soaker tub (no germy jets!!!). The carpet could stand to be replaced/updated but it did not look like there was anything we should worry about on it. Our balcony was spacious and relaxing, We spent a decent amount of time there in the evening. You will be able to hear noise from the pool so if that is a concern do not take a room that overlooks the pool.

We were at the resort for a ball and found that they hotel did a very good job accommodating all of the needs of our organization (separate rooms for childcare, photos etc.) There were some details that could be worked on in terms of the dining portion of the ball though. My napkin was dirty, it was folded very neatly but it had not been laundered prior to the ball. Also, everyone was supposed to have a choice between beef or chicken and our table was split 3/7, but our server told us she had 5/5 for our table, so some people did not get the meal that they pre-ordered.

Parking was reasonable and you have the choice of self-parking or valet. I recommend doing self parking just because getting to your vehicle in the garage is not a hassle, especially if you park in the colored area that corresponds to where your room is.

This hotel is walking distance from many shops and restaurants in Coronado. We will definitely stay again when we visit Coronado.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about noise, no room overlooking the pool. Self-parking is more convenient tha...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel changes towels and linens about every other day unless you request it more frequently (or leave your towels on the ground)
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShalatrvlDRMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
274 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#74 of 279 in San Diego
4,744 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 2000 Second Street, Coronado, CA 92118-1551 (Formerly Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa)
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning views of the San Diego skyline from the balcony of your newly renovated luxury suite. Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa provides a comfortable atmosphere for relaxation and renewal with a variety of luxurious on-site features. Explore our tranquil beach community by renting a bike, basking on sun-filled beaches or taking a day trip into San Diego to see the famous zoo. Guests will discover convenience to beautiful sandy beaches, shopping and fine dining at Ferry Landing. After the day is done, return to our Coronado Island resort to relax in luxury with oversized bath tubs, down comforters and plush beds with cotton-rich linens. Flat-panel TVs, connectivity panels and high-speed Internet access keep guest well-entertained. Dine in for the freshest seafood at our restaurant, Current, offering innovative drinks and breathtaking views. Our San Diego luxury resort also boasts breathtaking indoor/outdoor event spaces with over 26,000 square feet for your dream wedding or conference event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing