We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, unbelievable location and view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here recently for a work conference. First impressions: nice lobby, Starbucks, beautiful outdoor pool with a bar, and an incredible view of the San Diego Bay, Coronado Bridge and the skyline.

The rooms are old and can use some remodeling. It appeared the bathroom had been recently remodeled, which was a plus. Our room was 111, first level, overlooking a pond and waterfall. Room had sliding glass doors with a very large patio with chairs and a small table. We were visited daily by the Mallard ducks that loved being fed and would take food right from your hand.

The location can't be beat! Only .5 mile from the Ferry that takes you over to Broadway Pier in San Diego and the Ferry Marketplace where there were lots of stores and restaurants. Il Fornaio had excellent Italian food with beautiful views by the bay with outdoor seating. Would highly recommend. Also there is a bus that runs every half hour from the Ferry Marketplace that is free in the summer and takes you to the end of Orange St. ( 2 miles) to the The Hotel Del Coronado, another must see. Miguel's Mexican restaurant is across the street, also highly recommend.

If you enjoy running, as I do, the bike/walking path behind the hotel and along the bay is very convenient and the views are spectacular!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hms203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

661 - 667 of 1,410 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is one of my favorite hotels in San Diego, located on Coronado. The hotel is older and the rooms show their age a bit, but the location overlooking San Diego Bay makes up for it. Hotel rooms have a balcony, and if you have a room on the waterside, it's a great place to sit and enjoy the weather and view. The hotel is billed as a resort but as I have always been there on business, I haven't really experienced the resort aspects; but a Sandal's it is not. There is an excellent fitness facility, tennis courts and pools/hot tub. The hotel is within walking distance of Coronado restaurants and you can ride the ferry across the bay to San Diego. Parking is $29/night which seems high to me, especially when there is ample parking that never seems to be used. Again, one of my favorite hotels though.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Wonderful location and the property itself is nice but the rooms are nothing special and everything is way overpriced.

Dining is fine. Just super slow service and way understaffed. Marriott cares about one thing: Profit. And it shows... Marriott nickles and dimes you on everything from $29 parking (per night)... to resort fees, etc.

This would be a fair deal at $200 a night. But at $397 for a bay view, 2-double bed room, it's honestly a rip off.

Room Tip: Bay View Room is the only one to get, but be prepared to pay through the nose. Also.. the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlySleepEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nusrat M, General Manager at Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

I am grateful for you selecting my hotel during recent visit to Coronado Island. Thank you very much for the feedback, my sincerest apologies for us not meeting your expectations. We take your comments and feedback seriously and will definitely make needed adjustments.

Once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I read a lot of reviews before we went and had some concerns about the condition of the hotel, noise level and a pool being overrun with "non" hotel guests. Here is what we experienced: We are a family of 4 - kids ages 14 and 11 and we travel frequently. The room did show some wear and tear but was large, had a fridge, no microwave, huge bathtub, and a small shower. The kids were disappointed that there was one free wifi day- otherwise they charged. Wifi should be offered to guests at no charge. There is a parking fee - we parked across the street for free :) albeit a bit of a trek if you aren't lucky. There was a balcony (unfortunately ours overlooked the parking lot - at check in we were informed we could pay 30.00 a night to upgrade - we declined.) We ate at the restaurant late afternoon, as we were starving after traveling all day- it was good and the prices were fair.

The grounds were well kept and guests had easy access to a very nice walkway/bike trail next to the water. We did not take advantage of the activities as we were there for a short stay. The best part of this hotel is location, location, location. The view by the hotel is beautiful!!

We did not experience any noise but if you were there during a convention I could see where this would be an issue. The pool was not busy when were there- a Thursday and Friday. We did get wrist bands and were told to use them on the weekend (Friday-Sunday). We didn't and no one checked??

The pool bar closed at 6:00 I think - bummer for drinks or snacks.

Coronado is a great- quiet place to stay while taking advantage of everything San Diego has to offer.

If they give this place a small facelift it would be tough to beat!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atpederson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nusrat M, General Manager at Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you very much for stay at my resort in Coronado. I am grateful for your feedback that I will share with my staff.

Looking forward to seeing you back at resort in near future.

Best regards,

Nusrat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a nice relaxing weekend. The hotel was very nice and the staff was very accommodating. The entire atmosphere of the resort makes you feel like you're on vacation.

The rooms were nicely furnished and the bathroom had a huge tub perfect for bubble baths. It looked like all of the rooms also had balconies with chairs and a bistro table. We enjoyed having breakfast out on our patio in the morning and it was really nice to have the private enjoyment of our own balcony.

Just steps from the hotel is the "boardwalk" that is a nice paved pathway that runs along the side of the island that flanks the channel between downtown San Diego and Coronado. It was a fantastic evening walk, and the San Diego skyline is beautiful at night.

This is also the perfect place to ride bikes, go rollerblading, or just plain strolling. If you continue down the way you'll really the ferry landing marketplace where there are plenty of restaurants, shops, and dessert places.

Room Tip: The rooms on the backside of the hotel have balconies that overlook the resort. Most of the frontsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaseyTheTomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Great location, close to Ferry Landing were there are shops and great restaurants (also bike and kayak rentals). The Hotel grounds older but kept up very nice. The room was little bigger than average and clean. The bed was very comfortable. The pool had plenty of lounge chairs with views of the bay and San Diego skyline. The staff was friendly...always greeted with a smile.

Room Tip: Third floor quieter, no one above making noises in the middle of the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

First of all let me say the view and private balconies on each room is a VERY nice way to start this property. Restaurant food was ok and decently priced. Valet parking reasonably priced (and those kids hustled!) Location was fine, 5-7 min walk from Coronado shops and bars.

All that said: I can see this kind of hotel getting overwhelmed during a big conference, rooms had furniture that was a bit worn but by no means unclean. Overall a slightly older but reasonably well kept Marriott Resort Property with a great view of the bay and downtown San Diego.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
302 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 2000 Second Street, Coronado, CA 92118-1551 (Formerly Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa)
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#2 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#8 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £164 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning views of the San Diego skyline from the balcony of your newly renovated luxury suite. Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa provides a comfortable atmosphere for relaxation and renewal with a variety of luxurious on-site features. Explore our tranquil beach community by renting a bike, basking on sun-filled beaches or taking a day trip into San Diego to see the famous zoo. Guests will discover convenience to beautiful sandy beaches, shopping and fine dining at Ferry Landing. After the day is done, return to our Coronado Island resort to relax in luxury with oversized bath tubs, down comforters and plush beds with cotton-rich linens. Flat-panel TVs, connectivity panels and high-speed Internet access keep guest well-entertained. Dine in for the freshest seafood at our restaurant, Current, offering innovative drinks and breathtaking views. Our San Diego luxury resort also boasts breathtaking indoor/outdoor event spaces with over 26,000 square feet for your dream wedding or conference event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing