We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Staff Here "Gets" Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“The Staff Here "Gets" Customer Service”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed at this property for four nights in June 2014 while attending a conference there. I was sold a king room, non-bay view. I am uncertain as to the price paid for the room as it was direct billed to the conference organizer. The published room price was $349/night.

The property is located just off the Coronado Island Bridge in a primarily residential area. Some restaurants and retail are a few blocks away and all nearby areas appear to be very safe and well lit. Free parking is available on nearby streets while paid valet parking is available at typical hotel rates. Walking one half block can allow visitors to see significant savings.

The exterior of the property is very attractive, clean and well-manicured. It is obviously well cared for. The lobby area is expansive, clean, attractive and well lit. It can easily accommodate large groups without difficulty. The hotel bar and restaurant are immediately adjacent and feature both inside and patio seating. Food and service in these areas were as expected at this price point.

Check-in was two minute affair and staff were very polite and helpful. This was a precursor of what was to come.

Rooms are accessible only from outside walkways. While unusual for a resort property, designers availed themselves of the typically great Southern California weather. It worked. Elevators are spread-out and during my stay one was consistently out of service making the walk with luggage even longer. Elevator cabs were very attractive and spotlessly clean.

The king room was found to be large, attractively decorated and well equipped. Minor spots were noted on carpeting and very light wear was noted to furnishings. Bedding was comfortable, in good repair and typical for the brand. Important to the business traveler, internet speeds were excellent, electrical access points were plentiful and all electrical devices worked as advertised. The room was exceedingly quiet both day and night. The balcony overlooking a pond was an added plus and a great point for morning coffee.

The bathroom was spotless and featured both a soaking tub and shower. Water pressure was excellent but delivery of hot water was a lengthy affair. The quality of towels and amenities was typical for the brand.

Housekeeping service by and large was good. It seemed as if one minor item was missed each day. One day we were shorted towels, another day we were shorted shampoo. Perhaps the housekeeping staff are rushed from staffing shortages? Regardless, it was noticeable and atypical for the brand. Attention to detail would be a bonus in this regard.

Food service was simply excellent. Although all group meals were served buffet style, the meals were well presented, tasty and of excellent quality. Most importantly, the service at these meal sites was simply stellar. One would no longer finish a plate until it was gone. Food was constantly refreshed on the buffet and everything happened with a smile and a most polite tone. Even while standing in a buffet line a server would come by and simply say “welcome back” and inquire if previous meals had been satisfactory. Simple gestures for certain – but they reflect a commitment to customer engagement and service that obviously starts at the top and rolls down.

I would be remiss if I failed to mention the efforts of the food service supervisors. I spend a significant amount of time at resorts and business hotels. I tend to see supervisors don their sport coats and stand in the corner with their hands behind their backs watching staff scurry about. Not here. Every single one of them pitched in and helped staff to see that everything was done quickly, efficiently and politely. This was evident from my first meal there and was noted throughout. Again, great customer service.

The resort features tennis, a spa, a pool and exercise equipment. Each area was clean, well equipped and was well stocked with great staff. One cannot walk through this place and not have every employee they see speak to them in a most polite manner. I typically only see this at a Forbes 5-Star and/or AAA 5-Diamond properties, not at the Marriott. Management here “gets it” and they have effectively pushed service and engagement throughout all levels of the organization. It worked and it shows.

My check-out was a brief affair as all documents were in order. I was thanked for my business and invited back. The valet inquired as to whether directions were needed, wished me a pleasant day and I was off.

Given the high quality management and broad attention to detail I experienced, should the opportunity present itself, I would not hesitate to stay here again. I recommend that you try this property and see for yourself that, regardless of those who say it can’t be done, the delivery of consistent, high-quality customer service is achievable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cburley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    497
    148
    50
    25
See reviews for
437
392
33
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I have stayed at this location and the Marriott Marquis just across the bay. I am not sure what the hype is about this particular hotel. It has an updated lobby, but that's about it. It went from a category 6 to a category 8 in one year, but nothing much has changed. The rooms seem dated. If you must stay here, the villas are more spacious and in a quieter part of the property. It is nice to be able to park right outside your door, if you consider that an amenity worth $29 extra per day. The grounds are so, so, but nothing inspiring. Unless you really want to be on the peninsula, I think the Marriott Marquis across the bay is a better deal for almost 40% less the price and more convenient to get around town.

Room Tip: Villas are located in a quieter part of the property. Bay villas would be the best. The villas on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camellia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nusrat M, General Manager at Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you very much for staying at my hotel during your recent trip to Coronado Island. I am grateful for your kind comments about great view and updated lobby. I apologize that you did not find our rooms as updated, your are very important and helpful for future renovation plans.

Hope to see you again in future.

Nusrat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aljezur, Portugal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel in May 2014, for 3 nights of our five week holiday. We had a one bedroom villa with bay view, the reception was very welcoming, and the fact that we could park outside the villa was a bonus. The rooms were adequate, and the kitchen was useful for making a drink when needed. The on site restaurant was good though very quiet at the time we were there, the outside eating area was pleasant, and our view of the harbor was great. We made a visit to the aquarium while we were there and the sea horses were a spectacular treat, well worth the visit. And we had a meal in a good restaurant (George's in La Jolla) the valets have to park your car, but at eight dollars it's well worth it. It is a very busy place in the evenings. Overall it was a good experience in our extended stay in California.

Room Tip: The villa was adequate for a three day stay, We travelled to view different areas so we did not spen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
137 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I could of spent more nights there. Beautiful place. The staff was great. The concierge was so helpful. The view was great and our room very nice. Such a relaxing place. I want to go again soon. So easy to get around town/island. The bridge has great views. Nice little shops and restaurants to choose from. Something for everyone.we stayed at 3 different Marriott properties in 8 days. Loved this one & Seaport Harbor. It is not a cheap place to stay. It's location you are paying for. Rooms were expensive, but close to attractions.

Room Tip: Our room looked out to ocean. Only thing is there are a lot of planes/helicopters flying over. We en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mschris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here recently for a work conference. First impressions: nice lobby, Starbucks, beautiful outdoor pool with a bar, and an incredible view of the San Diego Bay, Coronado Bridge and the skyline.

The rooms are old and can use some remodeling. It appeared the bathroom had been recently remodeled, which was a plus. Our room was 111, first level, overlooking a pond and waterfall. Room had sliding glass doors with a very large patio with chairs and a small table. We were visited daily by the Mallard ducks that loved being fed and would take food right from your hand.

The location can't be beat! Only .5 mile from the Ferry that takes you over to Broadway Pier in San Diego and the Ferry Marketplace where there were lots of stores and restaurants. Il Fornaio had excellent Italian food with beautiful views by the bay with outdoor seating. Would highly recommend. Also there is a bus that runs every half hour from the Ferry Marketplace that is free in the summer and takes you to the end of Orange St. ( 2 miles) to the The Hotel Del Coronado, another must see. Miguel's Mexican restaurant is across the street, also highly recommend.

If you enjoy running, as I do, the bike/walking path behind the hotel and along the bay is very convenient and the views are spectacular!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hms203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is one of my favorite hotels in San Diego, located on Coronado. The hotel is older and the rooms show their age a bit, but the location overlooking San Diego Bay makes up for it. Hotel rooms have a balcony, and if you have a room on the waterside, it's a great place to sit and enjoy the weather and view. The hotel is billed as a resort but as I have always been there on business, I haven't really experienced the resort aspects; but a Sandal's it is not. There is an excellent fitness facility, tennis courts and pools/hot tub. The hotel is within walking distance of Coronado restaurants and you can ride the ferry across the bay to San Diego. Parking is $29/night which seems high to me, especially when there is ample parking that never seems to be used. Again, one of my favorite hotels though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Wonderful location and the property itself is nice but the rooms are nothing special and everything is way overpriced.

Dining is fine. Just super slow service and way understaffed. Marriott cares about one thing: Profit. And it shows... Marriott nickles and dimes you on everything from $29 parking (per night)... to resort fees, etc.

This would be a fair deal at $200 a night. But at $397 for a bay view, 2-double bed room, it's honestly a rip off.

Room Tip: Bay View Room is the only one to get, but be prepared to pay through the nose. Also.. the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlySleepEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nusrat M, General Manager at Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
I am grateful for you selecting my hotel during recent visit to Coronado Island. Thank you very much for the feedback, my sincerest apologies for us not meeting your expectations. We take your comments and feedback seriously and will definitely make needed adjustments.

Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 2000 Second Street, Coronado, CA 92118-1551 (Formerly Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa)
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning views of the San Diego skyline from the balcony of your newly renovated luxury suite. Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa provides a comfortable atmosphere for relaxation and renewal with a variety of luxurious on-site features. Explore our tranquil beach community by renting a bike, basking on sun-filled beaches or taking a day trip into San Diego to see the famous zoo. Guests will discover convenience to beautiful sandy beaches, shopping and fine dining at Ferry Landing. After the day is done, return to our Coronado Island resort to relax in luxury with oversized bath tubs, down comforters and plush beds with cotton-rich linens. Flat-panel TVs, connectivity panels and high-speed Internet access keep guest well-entertained. Dine in for the freshest seafood at our restaurant, Current, offering innovative drinks and breathtaking views. Our San Diego luxury resort also boasts breathtaking indoor/outdoor event spaces with over 26,000 square feet for your dream wedding or conference event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing