We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, perfect base to do everything you want to do.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Kernersville, NC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, perfect base to do everything you want to do.”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

First of all, I was lucky enough to get this hotel on a bargain website as an "Express deal" for $240 a night. I would certainly not pay some of the prices that have been mentioned in the reviews ($500-600?, you people must not shop the internet!). Having said this, this resort was absolutely beautiful, water features are everywhere, as well as the best view of the city across the bay. Our daughter loved the flamingos and ducks right on the resort. The pool is gorgeous and right on the bay. We didn't eat at the restaurant or use the spa, but absolutely loved the Starbucks in the lobby, with the same prices we are used to paying at Starbucks (well-played Marriott!). We also enjoyed the coffee in our room and the maids always left us extra (thank you!). Sure there are some worn spots, our bathroom door really creaked, paint was peeling in the soaking tub, our view wasn't stellar, however overall it was a nice room. Our daughter had the pull out sofa and wasn't bothered by it, but it was not something I would want to sleep on. Our king size bed however, was heavenly, very soft linens and great pillows. We arrived early, around 11 am and checked right in, front desk very accomadating, concierge immediately walked up to us, friendly and with local restaurant suggestions as we were starving from a 5 hour plane ride. There is an awesome sidewalk that runs around the property and it's just a short walk over to the ferry landing where there are several great restaurants and shops. The free shuttle bus over the entire island has a stop right across the street and it was very convenient to take to the beach over by the Del. DO NOT waste your money parking in the lot, and park on the street. We had no trouble finding spots. Shame on you Marriott for charging so much and taking away parking from the local residents but no way was I paying $29 a night to park. Also please reconsider the wireless fee. It is 2014. This should come standard at every hotel. We even got it free at a dive hotel in Jamaica for crying out loud! All in all, we had a lovely stay and would certainly stay here again if we had the chance, particularly if management made just a couple of small changes.

Room Tip: not a great view from room 168, parking lot and tennis courts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    497
    148
    50
    25
See reviews for
437
392
33
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The staff is great, but the resort is not. We had our room changed after our first night due to air conditioning issues as well as the carpets and sofa having a lot of stains. The decor and furniture is dated and the exterior could use a fresh coat of paint. This resort does not live up to the usually high standards you see at other Marriott properties which is unfortunate since the location is excellent. It is a disappointment for the cost versus value.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gints628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nusrat M, General Manager at Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying at my resort during your recent visit to Coronado. I am grateful for your comments about the staff. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due airconditioning issue. Your feedback is very important to us, it's an opportunity for us to make neccessary needed improvements.

Best regards,

Nusrat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Lets be honest - the Del Coronado is dated and overpriced! The Marriott is the place to stay in Coronado . There are a few specific jewels to the resort namely Miguel on the front desk - this young man is out of this league and a real asset to the hotel !!, Alex and Jennifer - Concierge Desk - who'll both go beyond their call of duty to provide customer service and lastly Marco who was the joy of the restaurant - this man is the most cheerful and caring waiter Ive encountered in a long time Well done guys - keep it up ! THis Hotel is excellently managed !!!

THis hotel is perfectly placed between Coronado beaches and town - Great pool , great rooms and definitely worth booking the breakfast option . Free WiFi in the lobby and although you pay to self park - its underground spanning the full width of the resort iow you park right below your room and end up having a cool and secure car .

Free summer shuttle from the Marriott via Orange street - to the beach .

Definitely stay here again .

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the city , but away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ovonarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We just returned home after spending a week at this Marriott on Coronado, July 27-August 2. We loved it! Our room had a skyline view, which I highly recommend. We enjoyed breakfasts on our balcony watching downtown San Diego as well as sipping wine after dark, watching all of the downtown lights. On Friday and Saturday, there were fireworks too! I don’t know if the fireworks are in the summer only, but it was an extra special, unexpected treat.

Our room was spacious and on the third floor with a vaulted ceiling. The beds are full size (not queen), that’s about the only downside. The beds were very comfortable though. With a spacious dresser and closet, we were able to completely unpack our family of four (mom, dad, 2 -16 year old boys). The bathroom had a nice soaking tub and separate shower. Housekeeping left us enough coffees each day for my husband and I to enjoy multiple cups each morning. We loved drinking coffee on the balcony watching ships go by while our teenagers slept.

The pool and hot tub were both nice and located bayside. One of our sons used the fitness room most days, located in the spa. The on-site flamingoes are a nice touch as well as all of the landscaping and water features. The concierge was very helpful; we bought tickets to both the zoo and Midway with a nice discount right in the hotel lobby. (These were better discounts than I was able to find elsewhere.)

We can’t say enough about the location of this Marriott. Coronado is quite close to just about everything we wanted to do and see in San Diego: Balboa Park and the zoo, Mission Beach (went parasailing), Midway, pier for dinner cruises, Petco Park, and of course, Coronado Beach. Even LaJolla Cove (went kayaking into the caves) was less than 30 minutes away. My husband and son went on a Segway tour around Coronado, which they truly enjoyed. The Coronado landing is just a short walk away on the boardwalk along San Diego bay, right next to the resort. There are several restaurants and shops at the landing as well as a ferry to downtown San Diego. We ate at the landing several times; saved a bundle of money eating there rather than at the resort. There is a BBQ and pizza restaurant, KFC, Taco Bell and Burger King, as well as some nicer restaurants. We took the Old Town Trolley tour around San Diego, boarding at the Ferry Landing (we walked there).

We are Marriott Platinum Elite Rewards members and used points (a lot of them) for our stay, got complimentary wifi and the room upgrade (from resort view to Skyline view).

Room Tip: Loved the Downtown San Diego Skyline view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbarnett01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHELTON, CT
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

First I can't express enough the 100 percent dedication of the manager Byrant too me as a customer. Upon arrival we were told that there was only a King size bed and pullout sofa available. My mistake by not booking directly with the hotel, I booked online and didn't request the beds needed. After hearing we traveled 6 hrs and were disappointed and tired he credited us 100.00 for dinner on him, and had them move us to a harbor view the next morning. It wasn't just these two things , this manager was probably one of the most sincere people I dealt with on my 12 day stay in various Marriotts in California/ I am a reward member and always chose Marriott. I am an assistant to a CEO of a rather larger corp and make many travel arrangements and because Byrant showed me "the customer comes first " we will be booing here from now on, as for the hotel itself, it was fabulous, clean and friendly. I wouldn't expect anything less from Marriott. Thanks Byrant !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ntpinc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My room had a balcony that overlooked a pond and Garden. The food was all great. The staff was very friendly. The place is huge and you can walk and explore their awesome gardens and fountains for hours. And it's next to some great food locations and the trail that runs the shoreline is right in front of the hotel. You can even rent bikes on the trail right out in front. I was happy with my stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NathanSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our family of five stayed for six nights over July 4th. We had a great time in Coronado and enjoyed our stay at the Marriott. It was a lot of fun to sit on the grass and watch the fireworks over the bay. Our room was clean and comfortable but the hotel itself needs a little help.

When we reserved our room I was told we would have two queens and a sofa bed. When we got to the hotel after a long day of traveling, I was told that we had a king bed, a sofa bed, and a rollaway. At first, I wasn't too excited about it, but it actually ended up working really well. The only downside was that our room was pretty cramped with the rollaway.

The rooms all are exterior, meaning you access your room from the outside--not a hallway. This is nice; however, the exterior is tile which means that carts going up and down at 2 or 3 in the morning are very, very loud. We were on the first floor and apparently on the path of laundry or maintenance carts because we heard them loud and clear a number of times throughout our stay.

One night we woke up at about 2 or 3 because our air conditioning had gone out. The room was pretty warm and so we called the front desk. They promptly set up another room for us and moved us there. When we returned to our room the next morning, the air was working and all was back to normal. That evening we returned home to a big basket of fresh fruit and a note from the management. Very much appreciated and we were thankful for the quick response from the staff.

The grounds could use some attention as well. I noticed a number of accent lights not functioning on the property and there is a strange smell around the hot tub...kinda moldy. The pool food was also expensive and left a lot to be desired so we would order in for those nights that we chose to stay by the pool. The website for the property also says that there is laundry on-site which we needed due to our longer stay and three kids, but there is no laundry available. We had to go into town to do our wash which was inconvenient. Marriott should remove that from the website.

I have to say, however, that we really enjoyed our stay here and wouldn't hesitate returning despite some of the issues I just mentioned. We've also stayed at the Loews, but would return to the Marriott in the future because of its better proximity to town (although the food at Loews is much, much better).The free shuttle across the street was fantastic. The shops and restaurants in close proximity of the hotel were great (Tartine was a favorite for breakfast) and we were able to rent bikes close by. We got them on the 4th, had breakfast at Tartine and then rode over to Orange to watch one of the greatest 4th of July Parades ever. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay, but I hope Marriott has this building on their list for some renovations soon.

Room Tip: All rooms have patios/decks but not all rooms have views of the bay. Our room faced the resort which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDiddy605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: 2000 Second Street, Coronado, CA 92118-1551 (Formerly Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa)
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#6 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#6 Business Hotel in Coronado
#8 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stunning views of the San Diego skyline from the balcony of your newly renovated luxury suite. Marriott Coronado Island Resort & Spa provides a comfortable atmosphere for relaxation and renewal with a variety of luxurious on-site features. Explore our tranquil beach community by renting a bike, basking on sun-filled beaches or taking a day trip into San Diego to see the famous zoo. Guests will discover convenience to beautiful sandy beaches, shopping and fine dining at Ferry Landing. After the day is done, return to our Coronado Island resort to relax in luxury with oversized bath tubs, down comforters and plush beds with cotton-rich linens. Flat-panel TVs, connectivity panels and high-speed Internet access keep guest well-entertained. Dine in for the freshest seafood at our restaurant, Current, offering innovative drinks and breathtaking views. Our San Diego luxury resort also boasts breathtaking indoor/outdoor event spaces with over 26,000 square feet for your dream wedding or conference event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Coronado Island Hotel Coronado
Coronado Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing