We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,546)
Filter reviews
1,546 results
Traveller rating
709
575
177
59
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
709
575
177
59
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water taxi coronado island ferry landing san diego walking path bay view tennis courts convention center seaport village gaslamp quarter bike rental self parking sofa bed rooms are large small fridge resort fee nice property
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,546 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Had a flying visit for 2 nights whilst visiting our son and family in New Mexico for a longer stay.
Had a lovely time
Went on foot ferry to SAN Diego.
Used free bikes to ride across Coronado for first viewing and paddle in the Pacific Ocean
Room spacious and clean with views across the water.
As only a short stay, ate in the hotel which was good quality and served by friendly staff
As we were there after Labour Day the hotel was not busy

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nusrat M, General Manager at Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear Guest,
'Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay here and were able to utilize the wonderful amenities our property has to offer. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

We came to this hotel at my wife’s wishes. The complex is very spread out and getting to the room from the parking garage is a nuisance. Be aware there is resort fees of $30 and self parking fee of $31 or $35 for valet and I was surprised to that taking showers in morning two days in row that temperature would flacurate from hot to cold to hot again. I mentioned to front desk and they were willing to compensate resort fees and one dinner.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank fredrick0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nusrat M, General Manager at Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at our resort. We sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced with the water temperature, we have shared your comments with the appropriate staff in order to address what occurred.

Thank you again for your comments, and for staying with us while you were in Coronado. We hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

This property was a huge disappointment...from check in, where three things in our room were not functioning to the single elevator which ran on its on schedule it appeared that this hotel was resting on its reputation...Everything was over priced and not in the least hotel guest friendly....Find someplace else to spend your money and come visit if you need to see this old world property.

Room Tip: Visit for the day to see the grandeur that once was....stay someplace else!
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drzlevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nusrat M, General Manager at Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear drzlevy,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our resort. We appreciate that you took time to complete a review, and we sincerely apologize that you experienced issues during your stay with us involving things not working in your room, as well as with elevator service.

We have shared what occurred with our Engineering leadership team so that they can look into what happened.

We apologize again, and hope to have an opportunity to provide you with a better experience if your travels bring you back to the Coronado area.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

We were in Coronado for a wedding and this is the only Marriott property on the island. Even though we were only looking for a place to sleep rather than the "Spa", I expected to be impressed. However the whole checking in experience left us underwhelmed and unimpressed. An early flight brought us there at noon and the double room was ready but i'd asked for a King bed. That wasn't available, but was offered after 4 when the other Platinum member checked out. I was told we would be called, so we left to see family .
I tried several times to check and see what the status was, but we never got a call so a little before 6 we went back and were told "Here's your double room ".
[Our "Upgrade" wasn't, I suspect alot of people are told their rooms are upgrades.] But we ended up finally in a King bed which was fine. We were there to sleep only. Parking is under the building and costs $31. to self park which we needed. A $25 "Spa Fee" is tacked on whether you're there for the facilities or not.
With taxes, the extra $100 a night could be a surprise so plan on it.
At our end of the building the parking area looked like a construction zone. Rooms are large but nothing special and the carpet had stains. Which I suspect most do considering the number of kids we saw. We had to call for the extra towels that I had asked for. Another call for a folding luggage rack wasn't successful though the second call was prompt.
Coronado is a great relaxing town, and the facilities looked nice. We just thought it would be smoother and prettier at the hotel. Not their fault but even the check-in was a bit irritating since a "guest ?" seemed to be trying to impress someone at the counter and decided the people outside, a block away, needed to be in on his conversation while we were trying to talk to the agent. Perhaps some sound deadening would be useful in that counter area.....

Getting off the bridge to the hotel is simple, just bear right to Glorietta. Leaving is a bit more difficult. The Easiest way when there is TRAFFIC, is to just go up 2nd to Orange Avenue and use the light signals to get across the island and back to the bridge. If traffic is light, B or C streets will get you back to the outbound flow or let you cross to the west side but C may be better.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dairybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nusrat M, General Manager at Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Thank you for your recent visit and detailed feedback sharing your stay with us, we have shared your comments with the Resort team to ensure we utilize it to improve our overall service, we are refreshing all the public spaces in the winter and will have a fresh and upscale look when they are completed in Spring 2019. Please give us another try when your travels bring you back to Coronado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Overlooks SanDiego. Beautiful views and patios to enjoy them. Pool area is great. Menu at pool could be better. Bar could be a little more
Lively and not so dark. But overall a great place to stay, in a good location a little further from downtown but the shuttle service is great.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank kaplat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nusrat M, General Manager at Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. We're so glad you were able to enjoy our spacious bay view rooms. Your comments are much appreciated and will help us to continually improve the standards of our facilities and services. We are happy to see that overall you had a positive experience We hope that you will consider our property again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews