We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,546)
Filter reviews
1,546 results
Traveller rating
709
575
177
59
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
709
575
177
59
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water taxi coronado island ferry landing san diego walking path bay view tennis courts convention center seaport village gaslamp quarter bike rental self parking sofa bed rooms are large small fridge resort fee nice property
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,546 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I usually do not write reviews but always check out trip advisor before staying at a resort! This prompted me to make sure it was known that this Marriott is a paradise for ducks. The villas at this resort have several very dirty duck ponds positioned behind them! Unfortunately, upon check-in the front desk forgot to tell us that while staying at our villa the ducks would be residing there also! The ducks made a mess of our patio and kept us awake at times during the night and early morning.
We discussed this issue with the front desk and management our last day at the resort. The management and front desk personnel were in denial about the ducks!
Just wanted to let you know in case you ever considered staying at this property!
Wish someone had informed me of this "Duck Paradise."

Stayed: September 2018
Thank eleesaepps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nusrat M, General Manager at Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your experience with us, we appreciate your feedback and will work toward improving our services based on your comments, we hope you give us another opportunity to host you when your travels bring you back to the Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A friend and I stayed in a lovely decorated villa for 4 nights. The room had many great amenities, was quite spacious, had a well supplied kitchen with a microwave, refrigerator, and the rollout sofa is perfect for families and guests. The quality of food in the restaurant was very good and the location of the resort was close to most activities of our interest. The staff was helpful, and kind. In particular: the daytime bellmen, the night bellman, the waiters, the spa employees and the Starbucks servers and bar attendant. The updated spa is beautiful and the quality of the spa treatments was excellent.
If you plan to stay in a villa, please ask for a location away from the ponds where the ducks reside. We had quacking ducks outside our patio doors at 5 a.m., ducks at our door hoping to gain entrance and again quacking in the early evening. One time we had up to19 ducks in our small pond! We could not use our patio because of duck fur and duck droppings all over. The droppings greeted us as we walked on the sidewalk to our entry door as well. We asked to talk to the manager before we left but he/she was not available. The front desk and others in management said they have never had any complaints about the ducks and we were the first to complain. We were told from other hotel employees that this has been an ongoing problem. The night before we left after asking for reimbursement for the resort fee, we were sent a bottle of champagne and strawberries at 8 pm That was nice but we needed to leave at 5 am so the champagne was not used and had to be left with a friend.
You will have an enjoyable stay if you choose a location far away from the ducks.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Annette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nusrat M, General Manager at Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Annette,

Thank you for your comprehensive review and for providing both positive and constructive feedback about your experience, we will share your comments internally to ensure the issues you shared with us are addressed. We hope to see you again at the Resort when your travels bring you back to the Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is very clean and has a very nice view of the pool and water. We were in a top floor room with a city view rather than bridge view and were happy with the choice. There were beautiful lights at night.

Right behind the hotel is a nice walking/biking path. We walked the path to the ferry which is very close and then to downtown Coronado which would have been a better trip by bike.

The food is rather expensive, however, for smaller appetites, they do let you order off the children's menu.

We didn't have a rental car, so we used Uber and walked, but it would have been very nice if the hotel had a shuttle service for at least the island locations.

Room Tip: Top floor with city view
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PortlandPhyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

We loved everything about this resort hotel. We had a high spec large room overlooking the bay and loved sitting on our balcony watching life on the water and shore. Staff were all great in the hotel, breakfast was perfect and we particularly loved the position of the hotel and it’s facilities. Would love to go back one day.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

I've stayed at this venue many times and it never fails to surprise me as to the number of ways the folks here go out of their way to make everything just-right. Always a cozy room, most times a great view to go with it. This past week we were upgraded to a bay-view and it was stunning to watch the water from the third deck with no obstructions. The deck has two comfortable chairs and the table was perfect for the bottle of wine and snack tray we brought in. The nicest feature of all is the ease of access that you can have to the pedestrian walkway that hugs the shoreline; Bay Bridge to the right and restaurants and shopping to the left. All good! A special thank you to the staff for addressing our needs- it was a nice date-weekend in contrast to business stays, these guys are great!!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews