We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, Filthy, Roach Hotel!!!”
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Cordova Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Southern CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dirty, Filthy, Roach Hotel!!!”
Reviewed 27 October 2007

The filth in this place was absolutely the worst I have ever seen. The children's feet became black within half an hour walking on the carpets, the kitchen floor had gobs of gunk stuck to it, the furniture had massive stains and spots on it and smelled so much you didn't want to sit on it.
The bathrooms were incredibly dirty with plenty of bugs both in the tubs and on the walls. We refused to take a shower. Far worst of all was the giant cockroach we killed in the room which made us take a hasty exit and book a room across the street at the Hotel Del. It may be more expensive but it was worth every extra cent to be in a clean, fresh-smelling, and beautiful room.
The staff at El Cordova was very nice, and the tile is certainly pretty. But I cannot imagine they will stay in business much longet with the abominable condition of the guest rooms. They still use keys and the flimy doors looked like a 5 yr-old could break in. Very very old and decrepit hotel badly in need of a total overhaul.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank elanmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    250
    77
    34
    27
See reviews for
249
239
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights (was supposed to be 4 but left early because it was horrible!). We were in town for a friends wedding who got married across the street at Hotel Del Coronado. One person from our family was in the wedding - total we had 3 adults and 2 kids. We booked a big suite so we could all stay together back in February but when we arrived they told us that all the suites had been given out and all that was available was a one bedroom standard room - for 5 people!! On top of that the kid at the desk helping us was SO rude and didn't even try to accomodate us! After speaking with a manager he assured me that we would be moved to a suite first thing the next morning. SO we stuck it out for one night in a room the size of a closet with so much noise from the outside it ws unbelievable. The next day around 1:00 (not in the morning) the mamager transfered us to our suite. At first we were relieved but then an hour later while we are all trying to get ready for the wedding the AC broke!!! It was horrible and of course they had no other rooms available!! Overall we had the worst time and the service was ridiculous! The rooms were old and run down and we were beyond disappointed. DO NOT stay here!!!

  • Disliked — didn't get the room we had reservations for and then the AC broke!
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mnex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2007

We stayed in a two-bedroom, one bath unit. The hotel's location was convenient, but the following were negatives for us: lack of parking; the master bedroom window was right above the street and it was really loud with motorcycles, cars, and people congregating below on the sidewalk; the living room furniture was in really bad shape (big tears in chair, really old, flattened sofa cushions); there was no door between the second bedroom and the kitchen (and you had to walk through the bedroom to get to the kitchen); the kitchen was tiny and unappetizing with no microwave oven or paper towels (just one dirty-looking dish towel); the bathroom was also tiny with bathtub faucets that were really difficult to adjust ; there was only one mirror in the whole unit (it was in the bathroom); there was a layer of dust on the tops of the dressers when we arrived and it was still there 3 days later when we left; and finally, not that this is necessarily negative, but after we checked in, there was absolutely no communication at all (written or otherwise) from the staff about the hotel or anything. We are pretty self-sufficient, but an information binder in a hotel room is helpful to guests.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenbenaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2007

When I booked this room, I specifically asked about air-conditioning and was told yes, our 1 Bedroom unit had it.

When we arrived and checked in, we realized that we only had a wall air-conditioner in the bedroom. The living room/ kitchen, did not have air, it was supposed to be cooled by the unit in the bedroom. This is not sufficient in the middle of summer. Those rooms never really got cool until early morning for a short time. It was not comfortable in the living room and kitchen, so we never were able to use those areas. The kids had to sleep in the living room, they gave us a fan, which helped a little but we would have been better off in a regular room at the Del, or Glorietta Bay, but they were sold out.

They then told us that they do have units with central air, but there was nothing available for the 4 nights we were there. Our friends had a great renovated beautiful large one bedroom, but it was over the kitchen for the restaurant so they had people talking loudly and banging pots from 8:00am to 11:30pm right under them.

Other than the air problem, our room had a very tiny bathroom and whenever we took a shower, it would run cold then very hot (almost scalding), it happened in our friends shower also so I think it is a hotel wide problem. The outside of the cupboard in our bathroom had a half-inch of dust on it. I would have expected more for $300 a night.

I would not recommend this hotel, I don’t think there is a good choice of rooms. You either don’t have central air, you are next to a busy street, next to the outside eating area of the restaurant, or over the kitchen of the restaurant. I love Coronado, but would never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psdabj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Bear Lake, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2007

The El Cordova is a historic hotel that retains all the charm of early California. It is very conveniently located across from the Hotel Del and just a block off the beach. It was a very crowded and busy weekend (we found out later it was because the Red Sox were playing the Padres). From the moment we walked into the lobby, each and every person at the hotel, shops and restaurants on the property were so friendly and nice and the service could not have been better. They offered a roll-away bed for my daughter even before I could ask. Miguel's Cocina was delicious and the service was outstanding. I just can't say enough positive things about this hotel and its staff. We can't wait to return!!

  • Liked — The historic aspect of the building and the service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CATraveltwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2007

We found the hotel badly signed & could not believe that "We had arrived" even though our Sat Nav. told us so. Although you enter this quirky hotel from Main Street the entrance & reception area is set back & you cannot park nearby unless you can find a metered spot. Parking is available at the multi-storey nearby at a discounted daily rate.
The "hotel" is more like an apartment complex with outside stairways to the bedrooms. Ours was facing the very bustling & noisy Mexican restaurant. Our room was shoddy with run down furnishings, plumbing & hard, noisy beds. Walls were wafer thin & shook when our neighbours moved around. Worst of all at 1 a.m. a couple checked in for the night & "bonked" like there was no tomorrow - drunken hollerin until 6 a.m. when they checked out. Receptionist just took the line that "these things happen".
We stayed for 2 of the 3 nights we had booked before moving just across the road to the Del Coronado which was $75 more expensive but so much better value.
Apart from its great location I cannot think of anything positive about the El Cordoba.

  • Liked — Noyhing.
  • Disliked — Noise & quality of furniture.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank battyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2007

We just returned from El Cordova. This hotel was the mansion of the founder and visionary of Hotel Del.

We have stayed at both Hotel Del and now here and you can't compare the two places except to say that we paid almost $200 less for a room.

I fully expected the hotel would be noisy. We already knew where it was and how it's set up in a courtyard etc. BUT IT WASN'T. We had no problem sleeping and really didn't notice the restaurant noise or the car noise from the street and our window opened out to the street.

I read other reviews which talk about the mattresses. Our mattress was fine. We are used to sleeping on a Tempur-pedic mattress at home but had NO problem falling asleep on this one.

I will say that although the decor is very nice and custom, the wood furniture could use a redo.

The Mexican restaurant is one of the best I have ever been to and I live in Phoenix and have tons to choose from.

The staff was very nice and accommodating. They even told us we could use the spa beyond the pool hours. (and we did) I agree with another review that I never saw anyone else in the pool and it had wonderful cushioned chairs and lounges.

The only thing I wish they offered was some kind of breakfast or danish, donuts or SOMETHING to eat in the morning and perhaps cookies in the afternoon. BUT they did have constant hot water and coffee all day long. I was very grateful for that because although we had a coffee maker in the room, when you want tea, it always tastes like coffee coming out of one of those pots.

The parking was a wonderful deal because at Hotel Del it's $20 a day and other hotels at other nearby beaches we have paid up to $17/day. Here we paid $6/day. I wish I knew that when we went to the Del. We could have saved a lot of money.

You absolutely can't beat this location. We went to Mission Beach one evening and I told my husband we had to leave. The people there mostly looked like hoodlums. I guarentee you that Coronado Beach is a wonderful family atmosphere for descriminating people. Be sure to dress up. I didn't see many jeans there. This is definitely an area to bring your resort wear.

Any further questions, please email me at shelleydewane@yahoo.com

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — handling our own luggage up steps
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley-AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 16 in Coronado
573 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
1.0 mi away
Coronado Inn
Coronado Inn
#13 of 16 in Coronado
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
5,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Property: El Cordova Hotel
Address: 1351 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#6 Family Hotel in Coronado
#7 Business Hotel in Coronado
#10 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cordova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing