We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loads of charm, great location, wonderful stay.”
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Cordova Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loads of charm, great location, wonderful stay.”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Great place for: People who value unique locations, local charm, and style and who are looking for a little extra space to spend more than a day or two. Very good for kids as well.
Not so great if: You are looking for an absolutely 5-star experience, you can't abide a little (clean) wear around the edges, or you want absolute peace and quiet.

We selected this hotel for a 5-day vacation on Coronado Island where we wanted easy access to the beach, room for 2 adults and 1 child, and some local charm. It was absolutely perfect in all respects. The property is beautiful, a 80+ year old building with Mexican tile and flowers and oozing with character and uniqueness. We took one of the small suites - a living room with a couch that converts to a bed (for our child),a small dining area, a small kitchen,a large bedroom, a large closet, and smallish but cute bath. It is less than a 10 minute walk from the beach, 12 to hit the water. It is surrounded by Coronado's beach-town vibe. The room was clean and cute, the bed comfortable, and sleeping was quiet and nice. The staff was friendly and helpful but unobtrusive. The pool and hot tub were perfect for relaxing or letting the child work off some steam. All in all it was absolutely perfect for our family to serve as a lovely and comfortable base camp to enjoy the beach, Coronado, and San Diego.

It is, as advertised, an 80+ year old property, well kept, but wearing (nicely in my opinion) around the edges. Don't expect a brand-new and perfect shining building. Management has done some nice upgrades, there's an air conditioner in each room (I think), and the kitchen appliances worked nicely.

The only thing to bear in mind is that the ground floor on the street side is the extremely popular restaurant Miguels/Miguelitos which is packed every single night, has a patio, and can be very noisy. I would not want to stay in the rooms over it. As it was, with our windows open (to get the lovely sea breeze) we would hear it as background noise all evening. But, once the windows were shut and the a/c was on, we couldn't hear a thing. We booked well in advance, asked for a room away from the restaurant and they were happy to accommodate us. If I were you, I'd recommend the same.

All in all, we will happily go back!

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a room away from Miguel's restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utah-CaliforniaMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    248
    76
    34
    27
See reviews for
249
236
23
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This is a great hotel for families that is less expensive than the Hotel del Coronado, but right across the street. We had a two bedroom, two bathroom unit with a living room and small kitchen. There is a nice, warm heated pool that our kids spent hours in everyday.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lexileo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed in the standard basic room here at El Cordova for 5 nights, and loved the location, price, and friendly staff. This is definitely a "boutique" type property, with a charming small room. The closet is nicely sized, the bed very comfortable, and the internet service very dependable and fast (for our business needs while away). The room has a great ceiling fan and programmable window unit AC. We were pleasantly away from the noise of Orange Ave, within the Cordova courtyard area. The bathroom is quite small, but has a nice shelf ledge that you can put to good use. The price was great, so I'm rating this clean, comfortable, great location hotel room a . . . value gem!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottsdale_AZSherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Our first stay was great. the second a disaster. Bed was so poorly made it looked like someone thru the sheets at it. I watched the housekeeper take the used cups & glasses in the room into the bathroom & wipe them out & put them back. The room was dirty & not well cleaned. It seemed like we where at a different hotel from our first stay. Maybe different management??

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vaquerosinfrontera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicaJackson, General Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
On behalf of my entire team, I’d like to apologize for the dissatisfaction that you have experienced with your room. It is the hotel’s policy to daily replace all soiled dishes and pans. The dirty dishes are to be cleaned and inspected in the housekeeping area and not in the rooms. We also conduct regular surprise inspections on the rooms to ensure cleanliness. Your experience is being investigated for further follow up, resolution and retraining if necessary.

Your stay is certainly not typical of the high level of service we strive to provide our guests. I hope that you would give us a chance in the future, should your travels bring you to the San Diego area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed at Cordova in 2009 and have never forgotten the European feel. When we checked in back then- the room was not what I was expecting and they switched us around to a better room. We are coming back this month for a week, with our family in another room, and I am a little nervous but hoping there has been some renovations so the first room we are given is wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russianbarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicaJackson, General Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2011
Let me be the first to say, Welcome Back! I am glad to hear that you are giving our lovely hotel another try. I am confident that you will find our rooms to be clean and comfortable, and that our staff will be ready to accommodate your requests. Please feel free to stop by our front desk and ask to see me. I would love to say hi and hear about your travels.

We'll see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2011

My husband and I planned a last minute 4th of July trip and randomly called hotels to see who had cancellations. The El Cordova was able to accomodate us in their standard room at what I considered a very reasonable rate. The front desk staff was nice, the room and the grounds were clean and pretty quiet at night. For the other reviews that complained about "having to walk through a restaurant to get to their room" well that's the kind of facility this is, like an open courtyard latin america feel. If that's not for you, stay at a chain hotel. I never felt it was an inconvenience, and we were wheeling our bikes around as well. My only complaint is the bathroom is TINY! Clean, good water pressure, but the closet was bigger.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsumner13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Staff will go over and above to assist guests! The location perfect as is the ambiance.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harr827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,012 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coronado Beach Resort
Coronado Beach Resort
#3 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Property: El Cordova Hotel
Address: 1351 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#6 Family Hotel in Coronado
#7 Business Hotel in Coronado
#10 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cordova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing