We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt at home right from the beginning”
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
El Cordova Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Felt at home right from the beginning”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

After having a bad airport experience everything got delayed this Friday night, we didn't make it to the El Cordova until 1:30am we were so tired, to our surprise James at the front desk couldn't have been more attentive, he said "I know you guys are tired so i will make this as fast as i can, i already have the lights on inside your room, here are your two room keys and breakfast vouchers..." That was music to my ears, we went into the room and it was very cute and clean right on the courtyard. We requested two extra pillows and after 3 minutes James was at our door. The bed was great. Location was wonderful.
We were really pleased with the staff and the hotel, we felt right at home right from the beginning.
The only sad part was leaving but i am sure we will come back.
Virginia

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    252
    77
    34
    27
See reviews for
249
242
24
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My family and i loved our stay. Maria at the front desk was most helpfull. Everyone we encountered was hospitable and very nice. We had a room by the pool where we spent a lot of our time. Enjoyed Miguel's the restaurant very much. Close proximity to the beach (5 or 6 minute walk). We would definately stay there again and we will recommend it as well. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2012

cute Mexican styled hotel, great location on Coronado, good Mexican restaurant at this property. The room was very small, and we were on an alley, which was very loud in the morning with trucks, etc. and the bathroom was ridiculously small, but very cute and clean. Not really what the pictures showed for a Queen standard room, but their beds are awesome! So comfy, and besides, you don't go to Coronado to stay in your hotel room all day. It's a great value and a nice clean place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

After reading many good reviews we decided to stay at the El Cordova. We were looking for a decent inexpensive hotel, and we were not disappointed. We stayed in a small king size bed room. It was really small. The hotel itself is old, however is cleaned well and has character. The room looked as if it had recently been updated (new carpet, bathroom fixtures, etc...). The bed however, was not the best (we both woke up with sore neck and shoulders--but nothing that an ibuprofen couldnt fix). The pool and the jacuzzi were small but very nice- we really enjoyed having them. Once nice touch was that they give you vouchers for a free continental breakfast- or a coupon for $4 off breakfast at the french restaurant located next the hotel. The location of the hotel was great. We had good mexican food and a cheap bike rental place located right next to the hotel. Also the hotel is right across from the Del Coronado, beach, and Orange ave (where all the shopping and restaurants are). The hotel staff were are really wonderful everytime we spoke with them. We will definatly come back next time we visit!!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Malisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My family of five recently stayed at El Cordova Hotel in July 2012. We shared the family suite which is a two bedroom, one bath unit with a separate living, dining and kitchen. The suite is very nicely decorated and very clean, as is the hotel. El Cordova is directly across from the Del Coronado Hotel and the beach. Offsite parking is also directly across the street and the cost is nominal. The complimentary breakfast is meager but the hotel offers $4 off breakfast at a French crepe restaurant next door. My advice is take the offer! The breakfast at the French crepe restaurant is outstanding! As other reviewers have mentioned, there is no elevator so it was difficult dragging all our luggage upstairs. Be advised that El Cordova does not have central air conditioning! The family suite had one AC wall unit in the dining area and it was not sufficient to cool the entire space. I wish I had known this before I booked.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicaJackson, General Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our new Family Suite since it was just remodeled in May. We are also very excited about the new French creperie on property. Those crepes have become a very popular breakfast item.

I also want to point out that all of our rooms have heating and air conditioning. However, it is true that there are several rooms on property that have window or wall units. We are working to ensure that these units provide sufficient heating and cooling for the entire room. The comfort of all our guests is a top priority for this team.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again when you return to the San Diego area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Nice hotel, great staff (Jay was just awesome!), great location but a little noisy during morning and evening hours. I was not aware that the hotel had a fitness center and we also did not order room service. It's located across the street from the Coronado Hotel, close to the beach and restaurants, it's got a great Mexican restaurant right next to it. The room are very interesting, makes you feel like you're somewhere in South America. It does not give you the impression that you're staying in a hotel, but rather in a private residence. Jay who was working at the desk was great, alway ready to help and very professional. Nice staff!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serban m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The El Cordova was a great home base for out ca vacation. The rooms were clean and plenty spacious and the hotel ameneties were great. We particularly liked the barbeque grills. The staff was pleasant and very help and the hotel was located within walking distance of anything we wanted to see/do.
We would stay here again.
Jkulla

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jkulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 17 in Coronado
586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.7 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Property: El Cordova Hotel
Address: 1351 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#6 Family Hotel in Coronado
#7 Business Hotel in Coronado
#10 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cordova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing