We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay!!!”
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Cordova Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We were just here for a week with our family (the two of us and our three year old) and we have loved the location and the hotel. You get a great bang for your buck and has small personalized service. I want to mention Jay and Christine as they both stood out but everyone here was awesome. My only dislike was the noise in our room as we had the restaurant on one side and the road on the other. As there is no AC and we lucked out with some abnormally hot days you had a choice to roast or it is so loud it drives you a little bonkers. Still a great room and we are already considering when we could return.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank rubymitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicaJackson, General Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you for the review of the hotel. I am glad that my staff made your stay a memorable one. However, I would like to make one correction concerning our rooms. Every one of the guest rooms at the El Cordova Hotel has heating and air conditioning in it. I would like to find out if yours was not functioning properly so that we can fix it for the next guest that uses the room. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss your stay. You can also call me when you are ready to stay with us again. We love our return guests!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
There are newer reviews for El Cordova Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

I had been to Coronado twice before, and stayed at the El Cordova one previous time (I was young, and didn't remember much about it.) My husband and I just returned from a nine day trip, and had a great time. The hotel was clean, staff was friendly, the grounds were fun, and the rooms were unique. I love that there are shops and restaurants so close by. I would recommend a better continental breakfast- perhaps set something up down in the patio area? We found that the staff at the breakfast location was not overly friendly, even on days where we paid for breakfast. But, a few other travel tips: Things that we loved and that were totally worth it: Balboa Park, San Diego Zoo, Chez Loma (!!!), Little Piggy's BBQ, Gaslamp Quarter and Westfield Mall, Ferry Ride, Boardwalk, Ferry Landing, USS Midday Tour, Candy Place on Orange Street, Mootime, Art Museum at Balboa, Botanical Gardens, Miguel's, Basement of the Del Shops, Things we did not love: The Tavern (gross food, cool environment lured us in.) Price of Seaworld is INSANE, Prices at some of the museums at Balboa are also insane and not worth it, La Jolla- crowded, price of parking is pretty intense some places. Overall, we had a great great time! The weather was great!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Great place! I really enjoyed this hotel and the service was excellent. I would recommend this to my friends and family. I was here on business so i didn't really get to see much, but bed was nice and room was spacious.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schuey91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicaJackson, General Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am sorry that you did not get to experience everything that El Cordova has to offer. The next time that you are here on business, I suggest having lunch at the Brigantine Seafood restaurant. It is a great place to host a business lunch and has some of the best seafood on the island. My personal favorite is the fried calamari and jumbo shrimp. We hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I was VERY impressed with this hotel. The staff was exceptionally wonderful to our wedding guests that stayed there for our spring 2012 wedding. Our guests basically used every hotel room and they had nothing but wonderful things to say about their stay at this charming hotel. All the hotel rooms are updated and very nice. We loved that there was always coffee or tea in the lobby. I also had a very good experience with the general manager with planning the hotel room block. He was very flexible and always available by phone or email. In other words, very charming hotel that is a great place to have your wedding guests stay if you are planning a wedding on Coronado Island. Or, if you are just looking for a place to "get away" this hotel is in an amazing location and you would not need a car to enjoy the Island.

A little bit more information about the hotel: This historic hotel is tucked within the shops kiddy corner from Hotel Del and across the street from the beach. It reminds me of a Spanish hotel with the two story, outdoor hallways with cobble stone pathways and a courtyard for a small gathering. There is a pool and hot tub area with grills. We saw a deluxe standard, one bedroom suite and the Casa Grande. It has Mexican decor with stone floors and Mexican tiles. The one bed room suite has a separate bedroom, a living room with a pull out couch and small kitchen. All rooms overlook the courtyard/pool area. Attached to a Mexican restaurant with bar and margarita specials which are DELICIOUS!, On one side the Mexican restaurant is also a coffee shop with a side-street cafe. Also attached is the Brigantine, a seafood restaurant where we had our rehearsal dinner and the food was amazing. The staff at the restaurant was also so friendly, flexible and helpful with our planning. HIGHLY recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMac2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We had a reservation for 1 night. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here. It was clean and had a nice kitchenette. The decor and atmosphere were really fun -- as their brochure describes, it has a "charming hacienda atmosphere" and is surrounded by restaurants and shops. Miguel's Cocina Restarant had very good food - we got take-out there and ate in the lovely hotel courtyard. There was a nice pool and convenient laundry area. It is about 2 blocks from a great beach. A few things that could be better: 1) the check-in clerk was not friendly or welcoming, but he was competent, 2) the air conditioner was only in the bedroom, not throughout the living room (where the sleeper sofa is) and kitchen, though there was a ceiling fan in the living room and a window in the kitchen, 3) there was only one or two spots for unloading and loading which can be an issue at a busy time (when we were checking out we found a metered spot and kept feeding the meter) 4) there is no free hotel parking; the parking garage is about 1 block away for $8. But overall we had a very relaxing stay here and would love to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backnforth2nfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This hotel was just what we thought it would be. Rustic, spanish, roomy, clean and comfortable. We were in room 35, right next to the restaurant (which was very, very good - love the warm cheese-jalepeno dip served with the freshly made tortilla chips). The light fixture and mirror in the bathroom were brand new and beautiful. The staff was very friendly and we just felt welcome. Coronado is a beautiful area and The Del right across the street was twice the price. We would stay here again. And the crepe place for breakfast was really good. Different, yet filling and felt healthy. My one complaint would be to have high def on the TV. Shame to have flat screens without it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulubelle60_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I kind of hate to spread the news about El Cordova because I love it so much, I do not want to try and stay there and have it all booked up! However, they do provide a wonderful vacation rest place. Love the decorations, the service, and the coffee in the office at all times. We really enjoy the Spanish music and the restaurant on site, too. It is so centrally located and quite "cozy". Love all the shops in walking distance. Best part is....walk to beach!

Room Tip: Love the suites. Have stayed here approx 3 times in 2012. Very happy.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnieplusfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.7 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Address: 1351 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#6 Family Hotel in Coronado
#7 Business Hotel in Coronado
#10 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £128 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cordova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing