We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Cordova Hotel
Nearby Hotels
La Avenida Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$260
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$445
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$374
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Loews Coronado Bay Resort(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Loews Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
1906 Lodge(Coronado)
US$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$337
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$276
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crown City Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Capri by the Sea(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$308
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$329
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Coronado Beach Resort(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$289
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (744)
Filter reviews
744 results
Traveller rating
336
266
79
36
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
266
79
36
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmexican restaurantacross the streetspanish stylegreat locationone bedroom suitesmall kitchencharming hotelfull kitchencoronado islandbeautiful courtyardwithin walking distanceshops and restaurantspool and hot tubthe staff was friendly and helpfulstreet parkingliving areashort walk to the beach
Filter
Updating list...
537 - 542 of 744 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2013

My husband and I recently celebrated our first anniversary at El Cordova April 19-22. We had a later check-in on Friday night and it went smoothly and quickly. The grounds of El Cordova are located in the middle of everywhere and everything you want to experience on Coronado Island. El Cordova is a cute boutique hotel and has a great relaxed atmosphere. They have a Mexican restaurant(Miguelito's) on location and at night is a fun place to get a drink and listen to music. Our room (1bedroom suite) was spacious and was like a time share. It consisted of a separate dining room, kitchen(apt.size fridge,stove), and living room. The bedroom has a large walk in closet and plenty of storage. Most importantly for me everything was super clean all of the time and the staff was attentive and friendly. The hotel is located across the street from the beach and the Hotel Del Coronado. Parking is easy. If you park at a meter it is .25cents for an hour(unheard of in Southern California.) and free after 6p.m.. If you can find parking on a residential street it's free all day. The El Cordova is quaint, full of charm and different from your typical large chain hotels. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we are looking forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: If you are looking for quiet when you sleep, then I suggest asking for a ground floor room or a second floor room that is not above the restaurant Miguelito's. Our room was perfect. It was across from the restaurant and on the second floor(Rm# 103).
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Except for the fact that they very recently lost their parking arrangement with the nearest parking facility (leaving guest to fend for themselves), this is by far and away the most charming, romantic, boutique hotel on Coronado (it's really for adults). The un-advertized free breakfast vouchers for the onsite french creperie, the human sized pool and hot tub, the diverse dinning opportunities onsite (french, 2 mexican, American seafood/steak), meant we never really had to leave the confines of the hotel area except for sightseeing walks. Guests from Hotel Del and the neighboring Coronado Beach Resort were clearly visible crossing the road to come to our tiny (by comparison) bit of Heaven. When I discovered the TV remote was dead at 11PM, the hotel staff did NOT put it on the maintenance list for the next day but arrived at my door in minutes to change the batteries out. Wow. The kitchenette is not a kitchenette but a complete kitchen (only missing an oven). The building is the embodiment of Mexican Cantina complete with courtyard that the founder of Coronado built as his vacation home which was converted to this amazing jewel.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor room with a view of the pool.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomanceSeekerSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

No parking for the cars.
They gave us queen bed, instead of King.
The curtains of the rooms were not covering the windows.
The unfriendly and rude behavior of the blond receptionist guy.
The yelling of the children swimming in the pool at the early morning hours.
The workers sweeping around the pool and cleaning the pool early in the morning.
The sounds of pots and pans in the kitchen just beside the room.

Room Tip: High floors.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

El Cordova is reasonably priced, and it's very quaint, as it has a very Spanish feel to it-there's a cute courtyard with a pool, and it's very well maintained. The rooms itself are old and very basic, but it's good in the fact that there's a kitchen and a living room. We got a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit which was perfect for us four-2 adults and 2 children. The rooms facing the courtyard tend to be noisy in the morning. The workers are cleaning the pool and courtyard area, and they start at about 6:45 am. It didn't bother us, as we don't sleep in, but others could find it annoying. There is no air conditioning, which didn't bother us since it was cool at night. Also, there is no parking, so you either have to find residential parking or put money in the meter. After 6 pm, it's free. We took day trips to San Diego Zoo and Sea World (only about 15 min away), so the parking thing didn't really bother us-we put money in at 8 am, and it's only .25 cents an hour. In the courtyard, the pool was nice and heated, and hot tub was nice as well. You can walk to everything from the hotel. The Mexican restaurant, Miguelitos, was very good, and the margaritas are excellent!! Overall, the price was right, and it was nice not to be crammed into one hotel room. The beds were very comfortable as well. We would recommend this place, but keep in mind the no air conditioning could be a problem if you travel there in the warmer months.

Room Tip: the 2 bedroom, 2 bath is only $16 a night more than the one bedroom-worth it to get the 2 bedroom.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen196767_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

What a great place. We planned this trip months ago and couldn't wait. It was worth the wait. We picked a great time to go as it was before the high tourist season and we were missing some awful weather in Chicago. The best of both worlds. So Cordova was awesome. People were friendly and helpful. Food was great...

Room Tip: We had the one bedroom which gave us some quiet time for the early riser and the night owl. Slept great every night...comfy beds.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews