We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Boutique Hotel”
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Cordova Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Quaint Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The location of this hotel can't be beat. It's across from the beach and in the heart of the town, surrounded by restaurants and shops. It has a nice pool in a small courtyard where a light breakfast of muffins and cold cereal is served each morning. The tiles and the flowers in the courtyard are pretty.

Our room was through a locked door from the lobby and up some tricky stairs which were a bit hard to navigate with our luggage. There did not seem to be anyone to help carry bags up. We were given a rack which proved useless once we got to the stairs (which is about 6 steps from the lobby). There was no elevator in sight. This could be a challenge for those with physical disabilities.

The room, itself, was spacious with a kitchen connected to a small balcony overlooking the pool, sitting area which had a pull-out sofa bed, dining area, small bathroom and bedroom. It was beautifully decorated with unique Mexican-style furniture. My only minor complaint would be that the bathroom is quite tiny and could use some upgrades, including replacing some tiles and a larger area for toiletries near the sink (even a shelf or two would work). The room was quite clean which is important.

The service was very un-imposing. Once checked in, there was very little contact-the front desk personnel kept very much to themselves.

Parking is interesting. There is no parking lot so you must park in the street. This can be tricky since it is in the heart of town but we didn't seem to have a problem while we were there. Might just have to drive around a bit until you find a space.

We were satisfied with our stay and would stay again because of the great location, though we might opt for a hotel with more modern amenities next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triptakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    250
    77
    34
    27
See reviews for
249
239
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This place really is cute. You walk into the lobby and are transported back to a less hectic time. The early california tile and decor are lovely and a welcome change from more sterile hotels. The problems?? A bathroom so small you can barely turn around in it, carpet worn and unattractive, peeling paint, odd odors...and generally just a little too rustic to get a higher score. The parking problem is REALLY annoying (you have to find an empty spot in a residential area several blocks away..or feed the parking meter every two hours!). it does have a great location and helpful staff that balance it out a little, but if youre expecting classy, go across the street to hotel Del!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if you want any room! also try to be as far away from restaurant as possible for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chivato09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lufkin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Best Coronado location... car not needed. Historic boutique hotel with clean, spacious rooms & suites.
Friendly staff with sincere, personalized service.
Best price/value hotel on the island.
"Hats off" to staff mgt... Nathan, Rafael & Mica Jackson (Gen. Mgr.).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had high expectations from what we saw on other reviews. Unfortunately this place did not live up to what we expected- far from it. We booked a one bedroom suite with a full kitchen and living room. We asked for a recently upgraded unit, which we got. First, there is no parking. If you have ever been in Coronado, you know that this spot is very congested. The lobby is a little shabby and needs some TLC. The people checking us in were pleasant and warm. They gave us the key to our room & the rest is downhill from here. We walked through a courtyard between two kitchens from the Mexican restaurant Miguel's to find our room. The entire courtyard stunk like greasy tortillas. It was so bad that it literally turned my stomach. It was loud and there were constantly kitchen workers going from kitchen to kitchen and then eating their food out in the courtyard. We walked into our dark, dingy room and thought "oh no!" I said I can't stay here. It was so dark and smelly. There was mold growing on the wall near the kitchen, the stove was filthy and the bathroom didn't look updated in many, many years. The bed was firm, flimsy. Our unit looked out to the back alley. We said "ok" lets just pretend we are camping. I asked te front desk of we could have another room- the front desk staff was really nice and showed me a couple of other rooms. One wasn't an updated room (wow, I can't believe they actually book those) an the other was right in front of Miguel's (really loud). Needless to stay we got our money back and left as soon as possible. Don't take your chances by staying here, unless of course you don't mind smells from a greasy kitchen, dark and dingy rooms. Pay the money and stay somewhere else. This place needs a major overhaul!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NapaLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicaJackson, General Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for the feedback concerning your stay. It surprises me to learn that the renovated room you were placed in was noisy and smelled of Mexican food. As you may have seen, we have many guests specifically request Courtyard facing rooms, because these rooms are located away from the restaurant. Our regulars love the fact that these rooms are next to the pool and the ability to use the grills to cook meals. I will be personally inspecting this room with my head of Housekeeping for any defects to the bedding and uncleanliness in the kitchen and bathroom.

We have more rooms scheduled for renovations starting early 2014. As with all guests, I invite you to revisit us next summer. I am confident that you will see that the previous stay is not the experience that many enjoy here at the El Cordova Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Group of us stayed August 2013 for a wedding that was held on Coronado Island. Very beautiful hotel with polite staff, comfortable beds with spacious living area. Location was extremely accessible to variety of shops and dining. I would recommend a two thumbs up stay for this property.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttemp755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Perfect location, actually has style and character instead of being cookie cutter blah, and for high season & weekend, value was unmatched. Even includes complimentary continental breakfast that was quite a spread.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are small, but perfectly adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at El Cordova for a couple of days in the winter of 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. This time not so much.

The room we'd reserved (#93) was large enough and clean and the bed turned out to be very comfortable. The room's location was probably not the best, at the end of a tiled walkway leading to the Mexican restaurant in the center of the courtyard. A lot of noise echoed along the walkway and into the room. The manager on duty showed us another available room but it lacked the refrigerator we needed. We always carry earplugs so we said we could manage in #93.

My wife's special diet required us to keep some things refrigerated and by the evening we noticed that the fridge was not working. I went online to try to figure out what might be wrong and found that the temperature dial was missing. We called the front desk explained the problem and asked if we could borrow some needle nosed pliers to adjust the temp. The manager arrived with a pair of scissors saying she had no maintenance help and no key to the maintenance room. So I followed the directions I'd found, unplugged the fridge, waited three minutes, plugged it back in and it started. It didn't keep things very cold but it worked.

In addition to the problem with the fridge, the screen in the bathroom had fallen halfway off and the adjuster on the shower head was broken and water poured out rather than sprayed. The sign on the toilet told us to conserve water by re-using our towels. I thought a lot more could be saved by fixing the shower head.

Sometimes and at some places these things wouldn't have added up to much. But we were paying $250/night and for that we expected better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicaJackson, General Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay in room 93. Most of our guests enjoy the location of the room and the fact that it has a full kitchen, separated shower and bath tub. I alerted our Maintenance Department concerning the problems with the refrigerator and shower. I have also spoken with the Front Desk Manager to ensure that all desk agents understand how to perform small repairs in rooms when necessary.

I hope that you will give our hotel another chance. If you decide to return to Coronado in the future please give me a call directly. Thanks again for staying at the El Cordova Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 16 in Coronado
573 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
1.0 mi away
Coronado Inn
Coronado Inn
#13 of 16 in Coronado
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
5,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Property: El Cordova Hotel
Address: 1351 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#6 Family Hotel in Coronado
#7 Business Hotel in Coronado
#10 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cordova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing