We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool old Spanish architecture, huge suites, and prime location.”
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Cordova Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2013

El Cordova made for an enjoyable place to hang our hats for a wedding at the Hotel Del Coronado, which is directly across the street.

We had a suite, and the rooms were surprisingly big. The kitchenette had everything we needed, and there were tons of closets and dresser space which would be wonderful for someone staying a longer time in the area.

The building is really cool looking -- obviously quite old and therefore we accepted some of the differences that come with a more "historic" building. There were a few steps even to get into first floor rooms, which made it just a bit tricky getting the stroller in, but we managed... also, the plumbing may need some upgrading (shower temp varied a bit). But the place seems well-built, and funky Spanish tile is everywhere.

The pool, right in the courtyard, just outside our room, was deep and just the right temp to cool off. The hot tub was nice & warm with powerful jets, a good way to release the tension and help me unwind.

We loved the very close access to the beach, as well as all the cool shops and restaurants that this part of Coronado has to offer. We really enjoyed the Mexican restaurant (Miguel's) that is right inside the hotel complex, too -- and ate there twice over the long weekend. Great margaritas, very good food, and friendly service.

Would recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay close to the action but not completely break the bank.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cooperbl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

Very cute and quaint property. The rooms were nice and great location. The biggest downfall was no parking available on site. Another improvement i would suggest is to improve the continental breakfast....more choices and get rid of the costco fo

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We love staying on Coronado and El Cordova is the perfect location with easy access to the beach and fine dining, all within walking distance. We stayed in a one-bedroom suite with a balcony overlooking the patio w/BBQ, where the complimentary breakfast is served every morning. The room also has a kitchen with a working stove, microwave and refrigerator and complete dining table with four chairs. Sparse in utensils, however the front office will accommodate you with any missing tools, for example we didn't have a wine bottle opener. I appreciated the 24-hour coffee/tea bar. Love all the convenience shops and restaurants connected to the hotel. Great relaxing vibe with the Spanish tile decor throughout the hotel and lush landscaping. A beautiful flower or verdant plant in every square inch of the patio area and lobby, so Californian. Very cool historical connection to the famous Hotel Del, as this hotel was the original residence of Elisha Babcock, who built the Del. All in all, El Cordova is a gem and I recommend you check it out on your next visit to Coronado.

Room Tip: It gets noisy if you get any room over the restaurants due to the kitchen pots and pans banging. Ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USCTrojan1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The location of this hotel can't be beat. It's across from the beach and in the heart of the town, surrounded by restaurants and shops. It has a nice pool in a small courtyard where a light breakfast of muffins and cold cereal is served each morning. The tiles and the flowers in the courtyard are pretty.

Our room was through a locked door from the lobby and up some tricky stairs which were a bit hard to navigate with our luggage. There did not seem to be anyone to help carry bags up. We were given a rack which proved useless once we got to the stairs (which is about 6 steps from the lobby). There was no elevator in sight. This could be a challenge for those with physical disabilities.

The room, itself, was spacious with a kitchen connected to a small balcony overlooking the pool, sitting area which had a pull-out sofa bed, dining area, small bathroom and bedroom. It was beautifully decorated with unique Mexican-style furniture. My only minor complaint would be that the bathroom is quite tiny and could use some upgrades, including replacing some tiles and a larger area for toiletries near the sink (even a shelf or two would work). The room was quite clean which is important.

The service was very un-imposing. Once checked in, there was very little contact-the front desk personnel kept very much to themselves.

Parking is interesting. There is no parking lot so you must park in the street. This can be tricky since it is in the heart of town but we didn't seem to have a problem while we were there. Might just have to drive around a bit until you find a space.

We were satisfied with our stay and would stay again because of the great location, though we might opt for a hotel with more modern amenities next time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triptakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This place really is cute. You walk into the lobby and are transported back to a less hectic time. The early california tile and decor are lovely and a welcome change from more sterile hotels. The problems?? A bathroom so small you can barely turn around in it, carpet worn and unattractive, peeling paint, odd odors...and generally just a little too rustic to get a higher score. The parking problem is REALLY annoying (you have to find an empty spot in a residential area several blocks away..or feed the parking meter every two hours!). it does have a great location and helpful staff that balance it out a little, but if youre expecting classy, go across the street to hotel Del!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if you want any room! also try to be as far away from restaurant as possible for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chivato09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Best Coronado location... car not needed. Historic boutique hotel with clean, spacious rooms & suites.
Friendly staff with sincere, personalized service.
Best price/value hotel on the island.
"Hats off" to staff mgt... Nathan, Rafael & Mica Jackson (Gen. Mgr.).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had high expectations from what we saw on other reviews. Unfortunately this place did not live up to what we expected- far from it. We booked a one bedroom suite with a full kitchen and living room. We asked for a recently upgraded unit, which we got. First, there is no parking. If you have ever been in Coronado, you know that this spot is very congested. The lobby is a little shabby and needs some TLC. The people checking us in were pleasant and warm. They gave us the key to our room & the rest is downhill from here. We walked through a courtyard between two kitchens from the Mexican restaurant Miguel's to find our room. The entire courtyard stunk like greasy tortillas. It was so bad that it literally turned my stomach. It was loud and there were constantly kitchen workers going from kitchen to kitchen and then eating their food out in the courtyard. We walked into our dark, dingy room and thought "oh no!" I said I can't stay here. It was so dark and smelly. There was mold growing on the wall near the kitchen, the stove was filthy and the bathroom didn't look updated in many, many years. The bed was firm, flimsy. Our unit looked out to the back alley. We said "ok" lets just pretend we are camping. I asked te front desk of we could have another room- the front desk staff was really nice and showed me a couple of other rooms. One wasn't an updated room (wow, I can't believe they actually book those) an the other was right in front of Miguel's (really loud). Needless to stay we got our money back and left as soon as possible. Don't take your chances by staying here, unless of course you don't mind smells from a greasy kitchen, dark and dingy rooms. Pay the money and stay somewhere else. This place needs a major overhaul!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NapaLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicaJackson, General Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you for the feedback concerning your stay. It surprises me to learn that the renovated room you were placed in was noisy and smelled of Mexican food. As you may have seen, we have many guests specifically request Courtyard facing rooms, because these rooms are located away from the restaurant. Our regulars love the fact that these rooms are next to the pool and the ability to use the grills to cook meals. I will be personally inspecting this room with my head of Housekeeping for any defects to the bedding and uncleanliness in the kitchen and bathroom.

We have more rooms scheduled for renovations starting early 2014. As with all guests, I invite you to revisit us next summer. I am confident that you will see that the previous stay is not the experience that many enjoy here at the El Cordova Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
617 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.7 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
208 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coronado Inn
Coronado Inn
#14 of 17 in Coronado
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Address: 1351 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#6 Family Hotel in Coronado
#7 Business Hotel in Coronado
#10 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £135 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cordova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing