We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding”
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Cordova Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We enjoyed the hotel and its quaintness. It was nice to stay somewhere that was different from a regular hotel. The only down side was the available parking, it was either meter or in a neighborhood & having to move the car by 8am

Room Tip: Try to get the one bedroom suite it has more room plus a small kitchen and fridge. Ask for loer leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joany U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    248
    76
    34
    27
See reviews for
249
236
23
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, CT
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This hotel is right across the street from Hotel Del Coronado and a few minutes walk from the beach. There are restaurants and little shops all around the hotel and it's within walking distance of almost anything you need. The rooms are cute and comfortable, have the charm of a bed and breakfast. The little courtyard was adorable. It has the feel of a little village. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the heart of Coronado without spending a lot of money. Would definitely definitely go back!

Room Tip: I was in room 115, which was near the back exit to the main street and very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikingprincessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

While the location is perfect and the exterior charming the rooms are like a cheap motel. Decor is pretty bad and quality is poor. Old yucky smell in the room as well. The maids were very loud at 8am in the morning.....talking and banging. Trash and vacuum were just sitting by our door.

Room Tip: The rooms on the street are very loud. It is a busy intersection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicaJackson, General Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for the review of our hotel. I would first like to apologize for the described experience during your stay. We take great pride in our rooms and décor so that we may deliver an authentic Spanish experience for our guests. We are also always upgrading and renovating the rooms to continue our theme. I agree that there should not be trash left in front of any guest room. I will redouble my efforts and work with the Housekeeping Department to ensure that all rooms are thoroughly cleaned and deliver a fresh feeling to all guests.

The guest experience is very important to us. We will use your feedback in order to improve our operations and services. I hope that you will think of us again should you choose to stay in Coronado in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We had a very nice stay! The room was perfectly accommodating and very comfortable. We like the feel of the hotel with it's businesses and restaurants intermingled. We were a little worried that the noise (joyful sounds) from the Mexican restaurant were going to be a problem; but it didn't effect us in the least. Overall it was a great experience and we would stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scituate, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife and I had a single room with a queen bed. The air conditioner worked well. The room seemed a little small, and there weren't many places to hang up clothes or towels to dry. Also, it was hard to get the shower temperature to stop fluctuating. So much for the downside. On the upside, the staff was VERY friendly and helpful. They have a very nice breakfast outside starting around 7 AM, and there is also a coffee maker in the room. Also an ironing board and iron in the room as well as a flat screen TV. We enjoyed the decor, with nice colors and painted ceramic tiles in the bathroom with a nice southern flair. Check in and check out was flawless. They even printed out our plane tickets for us. The attached restaurant, Michaels?, had excellent Mexican food, and there were many other restaurants in the area also. Overall, I would strongly recommend this hotel for your trip. The minuses, as above, were not that significant. We loved our trip to Coronado Island. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: I don't know. They have a nice pool there, and a hot tub outside as well. We didn't use th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We loved staying at El Cordova! It was a nice change of pace from the sterile environment of chain hotels. The staff is so friendly and helpful. They were great with giving travel plans or just visiting with us. The location is perfect being right across the street from the beach. We rented beach chairs from Little Sam's which is on the El Cordova property and carried them to the beach and just relaxed. We also experienced an air show from the Naval Air Station as they practiced their touch and goes daily. What a deal! Then there's Miguels. 20 steps out our door to awesome Maragaritas and chips and salsa. Great food and great people.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I enjoyed our stay at El Cordova very much! I couldn't have asked for better service - from the employees who checked us in at the front desk, to the fun & knowledgeable gentleman at the complimentary breakfast, the housekeepers, the employees at Miguels, etc!! Everyone was friendly, kind, and helpful! Loved having the voucher for $4.00 off the crepes next door - they are the best crepes ever!! Went to Miguel's each evening for chips, salsa, and excellent white cheese sauce and the shaken margaritas..The hotel is in a perfect location - can walk to the beach, shopping, many restaurants, etc. We had reserved 5 rooms and we were all happy with our stay. Enjoyed having the kitchen and refrigerator for snacks and drinks. The beds were very comfortable and we all got a good nights sleep each evening. The only con was the parking but the pros outweighed this one con. I would definately stay here again!! Thanks to all of your staff for our wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lol2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,014 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coronado Beach Resort
Coronado Beach Resort
#3 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Property: El Cordova Hotel
Address: 1351 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#6 Family Hotel in Coronado
#7 Business Hotel in Coronado
#10 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cordova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing