We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Cordova Hotel
Nearby Hotels
La Avenida Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$227
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$348
US$336
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$280
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$414
US$343
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel del Coronado(Coronado)
US$446
US$389
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
1906 Lodge(Coronado)
US$386
US$366
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Capri by the Sea(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$235
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$2,254
US$1,059
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Glorietta Bay Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$239
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El Rancho Motel(Coronado)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveller rating
335
266
79
36
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
266
79
36
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmexican restaurantacross the streetspanish stylegreat locationone bedroom suitesmall kitchencharming hotelfull kitchencoronado islandbeautiful courtyardwithin walking distanceshops and restaurantspool and hot tubthe staff was friendly and helpfulstreet parkingliving areashort walk to the beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
486 - 491 of 743 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here for my 50th birthday in one of the one bedroom suites with a kitchen and balcony the overlooked the inside patio. We loved the decor and the apartment feel to the room. The location is unbeatable and the ambiance romantic. We felt like we were in old world Europe. We will definitely be back and potentially to use the grand salon for a formal event.

As others have stated there are two drawbacks- one is the lack of daytime parking (metered between 8am and 6pm. The other was the noise- we were right above the kitchen and pantry of the restaurant downstairs, and early the next morning they were steam cleaning the floors well before 8am. That said, its not any noisier than hotels in Europe in a commercial district and we were not put off and will definitely return and stay in the same room.

The staff and manager were absolutely wonderful and accommodating.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are likely quieter and more accessible as the upper flors don't have elevators.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We enjoyed the hotel and its quaintness. It was nice to stay somewhere that was different from a regular hotel. The only down side was the available parking, it was either meter or in a neighborhood & having to move the car by 8am

Room Tip: Try to get the one bedroom suite it has more room plus a small kitchen and fridge. Ask for loer level there isn't an elevator
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joany U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This hotel is right across the street from Hotel Del Coronado and a few minutes walk from the beach. There are restaurants and little shops all around the hotel and it's within walking distance of almost anything you need. The rooms are cute and comfortable, have the charm of a bed and breakfast. The little courtyard was adorable. It has the feel of a little village. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the heart of Coronado without spending a lot of money. Would definitely definitely go back!

Room Tip: I was in room 115, which was near the back exit to the main street and very convenient.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikingprincessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

While the location is perfect and the exterior charming the rooms are like a cheap motel. Decor is pretty bad and quality is poor. Old yucky smell in the room as well. The maids were very loud at 8am in the morning.....talking and banging. Trash and vacuum were just sitting by our door.

Room Tip: The rooms on the street are very loud. It is a busy intersection.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicaJackson, General Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for the review of our hotel. I would first like to apologize for the described experience during your stay. We take great pride in our rooms and décor so that we may deliver an authentic Spanish experience for our guests. We are also always upgrading and renovating the rooms to continue our theme. I agree that there should not be trash left in front of any guest room. I will redouble my efforts and work with the Housekeeping Department to ensure that all rooms are thoroughly cleaned and deliver a fresh feeling to all guests.

The guest experience is very important to us. We will use your feedback in order to improve our operations and services. I hope that you will think of us again should you choose to stay in Coronado in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We had a very nice stay! The room was perfectly accommodating and very comfortable. We like the feel of the hotel with it's businesses and restaurants intermingled. We were a little worried that the noise (joyful sounds) from the Mexican restaurant were going to be a problem; but it didn't effect us in the least. Overall it was a great experience and we would stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeleine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews