We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in Coronado”
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Cordova Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The location of this hotel is hard to beat! It's right across from the famous Hotel Del and is located on the same main street where there are a lot of great shops and restaurants within walking distance.

The hotel staff are friendly and the rooms were cozy. My husband and I loved the little alley our room overlooked. The only thing we weren't prepared for, but makes sense, is that the only parking available was street parking. But it was easy enough to find within a 2 minute walking radius.

Great stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

This hotel has some great charchter and is in a perfect location for a Coronado getaway. However it really could use some upgrading. Our room was spacious (suite) & had a full kitchen. But the carpet (why not use Mexican tile?) was worn, walls dingy and there was a lot of dust behind the headboard. Light fixters looked cheap. I'd be upset if I'd paid full proce for this place. (We got a Groupon Deal). Skip the cheap breakfast included. Instead take your $4 voucher and go get a buckweat crepe two doors down. PS. Miguel's next door has the delicious aroma of warm tortillas all day long and thier quesdo dip is to die for!

Room Tip: There is no heat in the living room. If you plan to sleep on the sofa bed in the suite in the winter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noseinthewind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The hotel is conveniently located on Coronado Island. The room was very small, particularly the bathroom, and we had to lug our bags up a set of stairs as there was no elevator. Even so, we slept well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Pros:
Location: You can't find a better spot to be in Coronado. You are right across the street from the Hotel Del Coronado and the famous Coronado beach and are within walking distance from so many shops, restaurants, sights, etc that it is hard to list them all.

Staff: Everyone was very courteous at the resort and the people at the front desk were extremely helpful. Also, even though this was a timeshare, there was absolutely no sales pitch!

Amenities: We didn't use the pool but let me tell you that the hot tub was amazing. It can only hold 3 or 4 adults but it was fantastic on the cold nights. We did use the coin laundry on the premises as well which worked out well for us.

Food: Every restaurant/cafe we ate at on the resort was amazing. We never partook in the complimentary breakfast, instead we always went to Fabrison's french creperie. They had amazing crepes and bagels and, with the resort discount, it was always cheap. Miguel's was our favorite dinner spot (we ate there twice during our stay) and the Brigantine has great food but is pricey.

Rooms: Quaint, old-style rooms with some updates (TV) and workable kichen. The bed and linens were very comfortable and the heater kept the rooms nice and cozy.

Cons:
Furniture:These are old rooms with outdated furniture. The couch was comfortable enough but every other seat in our room was unbearable to sit in for any amount of time.

Noise: The walls are extremely thin. The room next to us was occupied by 2 couples with at least 1 baby. Every time that baby cried at night it was as if it was right in the room with us. Thank goodness the heater drowned it out most nights. Also, our room was adjacent to the service entrance/alley so we were awoken more than a few times at around 5 or 6 am to the sounds of trucks unloading, trash being picked up, etc.

Parking: Expect a good walk to your vehicle every day as there is no parking lot and the only free parking is on residential streets starting 1/4 mile away. We ended up just paying for metered parking whenever we were in our rooms during the day (quarter an hour, 2 hr max, free from 6pm to 8am and on Sundays/holidays).

Overall, I highly recommend this resort. The negatives above are not enough to detract from the awesome location and great people this place has to offer.

Extra tips:
Bistro d'Asia - great sushi and Asian fusion restaurant just down the road.
Hotel Del Coronado - Right across the street is one of the most famous historical sights in California, the Hotel Del. If you hate your money you can certainly get some good food there but we only went for after dinner drinks. They had an awesome live singer covering old bands like Neil Young, Tom Petty, Crosby, Stills and Nash, etc (it was a little freaky how much he sounded like each band he was covering).
Rush hour: try not to be driving around the island around 3 pm as this appears to be the time that the Naval base is let out and the major arteries heading off the island via the bridge are completely clogged.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor all have narrow, steep stair cases so be aware (no elevators). I'm no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ihatemyusername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Hotel lobby is adorable. The suite needs to be updated. Rug and couch felt grubby. The bathroom is extremely tiny and has fixtures from the 70's. Towels are old and stiff. Nice closet space and air conditioning adequate in the winter months. The food concession in the lobby is your biggest asset. The woman overseeing it was lovely. Coffee was good but food just OK. Staff at front desk on Thanksgiving day was not knowledgable about surrounding area and seemed like they just started working there. In short, they were not even slightly helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancyellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicaJackson, General Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for leaving a review of our property. I am shocked to hear that our staff was not able to fully answer your questions about the area. I will use your feedback to help retrain the staff on the importance of our concierge services. I will also have our Housekeeping staff double check all of our older rooms to ensure that they still convey a fresh feeling for the guests.

Our hotel is always changing and looking to improve its facilities. We are currently looking to renovate more rooms in the Spring of 2014. I invite you to revisit us again soon, so that we may prove to you the level of service we provide our guests.

Thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

First time in Coronado and wanted a convenient, boutique hotel. Found on line and the location and photo gallery intrigued me. Stayed in king suite upstairs off lobby. Although kitchen seperate it was poorly stocked (2 cups, 3 water glasses, no wine glasses, etc). Bed super comfy ! Nice little balcony overlooking the courtyard but very noisy due to kitchen operation, yelling staff members and such. Ask for the king suite overlooking the pool area, may be less noisy. The continental breakfast is cute and convenient when you're on the run. Too many times I attempted complimentary coffee in lobby to find it ice cold ! Overall the staff was helpful and pleasant, the room was comfortable, TV's updated and wall mounted. Shower decent and abundant hot water. The cleaniness , trim work, and furniture needs attention. I would consider this a budget hotel and if recommending would be sure to include that aspect, a little worn, needs some attention, yet convenient, attentive staff, comfortable bedding, and a cute experience.

Room Tip: when checking in, view the room first (some smelly and not so nice), if you don't like it, ask t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay...the hotel is kitschy, the room could use some updating. The couch in the living room looked worse than my brothers college apt. Yikes...BUT. The most important part (to me) the bed and bathroom were clean.
Mexican restaurant, and seafood restaurant downstairs...WONDERFUL!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
209 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
1 mi away
Coronado Inn
Coronado Inn
#14 of 17 in Coronado
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Address: 1351 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#6 Family Hotel in Coronado
#7 Business Hotel in Coronado
#10 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £130 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cordova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing