We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Cordova Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2008

I had a great experience at this hotel. I stayed in Room #14, and it had recently been remodeled - new paint, new bedding, new carpeting, etc. The room faced Orange Ave. and the courtyard with fountain. There was a large tree that grew in front of the window which helped to shade the room and keep it very cool. I had the windows open most of the time and did not have a single problem with bugs coming in. Noise wasn't a problem for me as I like the ambient street noise, etc. Be aware that this hotel is on the flight path of NAS North Island so the Sound of Freedom will be rumbling over head frequently. If you get to the beach though, it's very cool to see the fighters and heliocopters flying directly overhead. I had breakfast at Bino's (very good), lunch at Miquelito's (very good) and margarita's at Miguels (tasty). I did not have the opportunity to eat at the Brigantine, but the menu sounded wonderful. The shops on the first floor are ok.
This room did not have a kitchenette or a refrigerator. A small refrigerator would have been nice. The room itself was very clean, but I discovered that housekeeping does not pick up empty water bottles, etc. that you might have just sitting around. So make sure that you put all of your trash into the trash can. Also noticed that housekeeping does not vaccuum daily, which really should be a must in a beach town. But the room and bathroom were otherwise clean, not smelly at all. This room also had a large walk in closet, flat screen tv, and the hair dryer is under the sink (I was expecting a wall mounted one). Most of the rooms are at the top of steep stairs, so be warned if you aren't able to negotiate stairs. A woman at the desk stated the suites were undergoing renovation, and that may be the case in many of the other rooms. It was a very cute room in a great location. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location!!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmo1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    237
    76
    34
    27
See reviews for
238
230
21
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2008

I just read the review from another guest that must have been there about the same time our family was (June 18 - 21, 2008) ; however, I am pleased to report that our experience was just the opposite.

We had a 1 bedroom suite. It was clean and spacious. Exactly what we wanted. The staff was courteous. The location was perfect. We could occasionally hear some noise from the kitchen of the restaurant that was located below our room but nothing to prohibit a wonderful and restful nights sleep. The air conditioning worked well. I loved our little balcony. The furniture was comfortable and the full kitchen was great. The only thing missing was a microwave.

The location was perfect. Our son is in the Navy and training on Coronado Island so it was the perfect place for us to stay. We will gladly stay at the El Cordova Hotel again our next trip.

  • Liked — Location and spacious suite
  • Disliked — set-up of the bathroom. It was small with a door connecting bedroom and a door to living area.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank joy2you2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2008

We liked the idea of this place. The location is great. The outside is charming. The courtyard is charming. The whole layout is kind of cool with the stairways and alleys and little shops and restaurants. The room, however, stunk literally and figuratively.

Our flight arrived late at night and we took a cab to the hotel. Check in was courteous and the lobby seemed pretty cool. Our room was on the second floor towards the far left if you are looking at the front of the hotel from the street.

The place seemed to have character and I was digging it until we opened the door to our room. We were blasted with a mildew-like smell that we ended up realizing permeated most of the rooms. After the smell, the next thing we noticed was the absolutely filthy carpet in the room. It was honestly the dirtiest, bad-smelling room I have ever stayed in and at more than $200+ per night one of the more expensive.

The big screen TV was nice and it worked. The closet was huge. The bathroom was a little on the small side, but with the tile and stuff it was neat. Everything in the bathroom seemed to work fine.

There was an adjoining room and door that due to thin walls or crack under the door, we could hear everything that went on in there even with a towel stuffed under the door. That was my only noise complaint. The street and courtyard noise was not a problem if the windows were closed. You do, however, have to step over people waiting for seating at the Mexican Restaurant if you want to get up to your room during the evening.

The central air moved air but changing the temperature setting made no difference.

We did go to the desk the next morning and ask if we could check out another room to possibly move to due to the dirtiness and smell of our room. They gave the key to a suite, but it was just as dirty and smelly(actually a tiny bit less) and didn’t really have a closet, so we decided not to bother with moving. We even went across the street to the Del Coronado, but they had no available rooms. We were stuck at the “Del Smell” or “Smell Coronado.”

I did have lunch and spent a few hours at the bar in the Brigantine restaurant attached to the hotel and I ahev no complaints about anything there.

I really wanted to like this place. I have no problem with, and actually appreciated its character and quirks. If the rooms had not been so nasty with dirt and smell, I’d recommend the place to anyone open to something other than a generic chain hotel room. Clearly, other reviewers have had the exact same experience regarding smelly and filthy rooms, so I can’t blame it on the two rooms we encountered or on our over-pickiness. The last decent reviews are from 2006, so that may be the last time they gave the place a decent cleaning or even some Febreze.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dirty, smelly room
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Q7K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrae, CA.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2008

The exterior and lobby of the hotel were lovely. That's it. We had one of the lower-priced rooms ($159). We were given no direction to our room which was off an interior courtyard and at the top of a steep flight of stairs. The courtyard would have been beautiful if a big Mexican noisy restaurant hadn't filled nearly the entire space. There was no privacy and lack of security as diners could watch you come and go, and there was another entrance to the courtyard that was not monitored. There were a number of times that there was no one at the front desk monitoring the entrance. Fortunately the restaurant closed at 10PM but between the courtyard noise and the unbelievable traffic noise from the street (near a big intersection) that the flimsy windows didn't muffle, it was not restful. The room was painted institutional green, had dark blue carpet, dreary curtains, cheap pine furniture. The bed had no headboard , cheap bedspread, two thin pillows, and a flat sheet on the mattress that became bunched and uncomfortable. There were no pictures on the wall. The bathroom was tiny with a worn vanity, cheap shower doors and drenching showerhead. The thin curtain over the window stuck to you in the shower. Unfortunately, the free internet didn't work and the $6.00 a day covered parking garage will only accommodate vehicles under 6 feet but there is plenty of street parking after 6PM. The room did have the required coffee maker, hair dryer, and big screen TV so it met AAA basics. The location was terrific and you could see the Del from the room. It would take very little to make the room look better but the noise and restaurant are still a problem. We loved our visit to Coronado despite the room. It was disappointing that AAA led us to believe this was an outstanding hotel.
Sandra, Millbrae, CA.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Linedancer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2008

This hotel should be closed for impersonating a hotel. This was the WORST hotel experience of my life!! It smelled so bad in the room, that we had to change rooms!! There's a restaurant/bar right outside of your window, and the noise will keep you up!! The carpets are greasy and dirty, and there were bugs in the room. The fridge smelled bad, and the furniture is dirty, and smells even worse than the carpet. The locks on the doors are horrible, and the pics on the website MUST be from another hotel, because they are misleading. The rooms look NOTHING like what is advertised. This is a rip-off, and they have the nerve to charge $139 and up for a room!! DO NOT STAY HERE!! BEWARE OF FALSE ADVERTISEMENT!!!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The nasty room, and the horrible smell in the room!!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluefyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleming Island, FL
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2008

Just back from a business trip to Coronado and can not think of anything nice to say about this hotel. Upon check in I was "upgraded" to a suite, which was uncomfortable to say the least, from a security and safety standpoint. It had both a front and back door, both doors had a gap of some 2 1/2 inches at the bottom so that wind, debris, small bugs and someone's foot could easily pass under the doors. This ground floor suite opened on a small alleyway with businesses right across the alley, and the windows had only sheer (transparent) curtains, so there was no privacy from anyone walking in the alleyway. The front door opened on to the pool which was literally 10 feet away, so every splash, scream and shriek from the pool was readily amplified, even with pillows jammed into the door cracks. I felt so insecure that I jammed the two room chairs under each of the door handles. Complained twice to the front desk, was assured that the doors would be repaired, but they never were fixed. No other rooms available, according to the extremely indifferent desk clerk. Another member of our party had a room with no clock at all; another member had a room without even a sheer curtain to cover the windows, and this on the ground floor also. I definitely do NOT recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank FITravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2007

The filth in this place was absolutely the worst I have ever seen. The children's feet became black within half an hour walking on the carpets, the kitchen floor had gobs of gunk stuck to it, the furniture had massive stains and spots on it and smelled so much you didn't want to sit on it.
The bathrooms were incredibly dirty with plenty of bugs both in the tubs and on the walls. We refused to take a shower. Far worst of all was the giant cockroach we killed in the room which made us take a hasty exit and book a room across the street at the Hotel Del. It may be more expensive but it was worth every extra cent to be in a clean, fresh-smelling, and beautiful room.
The staff at El Cordova was very nice, and the tile is certainly pretty. But I cannot imagine they will stay in business much longet with the abominable condition of the guest rooms. They still use keys and the flimy doors looked like a 5 yr-old could break in. Very very old and decrepit hotel badly in need of a total overhaul.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank elanmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.0 mi away
Coronado Beach Resort
Coronado Beach Resort
#3 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Property: El Cordova Hotel
Address: 1351 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#6 Family Hotel in Coronado
#7 Business Hotel in Coronado
#10 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cordova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing