We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I stayed here over the del!”
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Cordova Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Yes the del is the del but this place is right next store and is amazing you don't feel like your in the us when your in the courtyard or at the pool. The Mexican restaurant is awesome. Location is great can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Swank23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickCunningham, Front Office Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at El Cordova Hotel! We pride ourselves in providing a unique experience for each of our guests and are thrilled that we were able to do so for your family. Thank you for your comments we look forward to hosting you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
There are newer reviews for El Cordova Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is our 3rd stay here. The first time was amazing and was 10 years ago. This time was simply uncomfortable. We were so excited to spend our tenth anniversary where it all started for us but we were very disappointed and I'm not sure we will be back. We were wary after fighting the traffic to get here. When we arrived at our room it was almost 90 degrees. Due to an outdated wall mounted a/c unit, we were not able to get our room cooled down to a comfortable temperature until after midnight. Slept on a hard bed and We were awoken early by excessive noise in the alley behind the room. Granted, the windows were open but that was only because we were so uncomfortably hot almost all night long. Since our last stay we learned there is now no hotel parking which means walking 2 blocks with all of your stuff or feeding the parking meter every 2 hours between 8 and 6 during the weekdays. To be fair, we grilled food in the common area. The staff was helpful and we enjoyed our meal.

Room Tip: Have someone go to the room well in advance of checking in and have him turn the a/c on. Plan for t...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mud13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcFrancois, General Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for your review of El Cordova Hotel. Candid critique from guests like you is critical to our ability to train our team and improve our overall guest experience. Allow me to also thank you for choosing to spend your anniversary with us and make a third trip to our hotel. Our property is a favorite in Coronado for many guests because of its rich, historic charm.
We have taken every opportunity to upgrade our property’s amenities in an attempt to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort, but we apologize that you had an unpleasant experience when staying with us. In a small selection of our rooms & suites, the only available option to provide a temperature-controlled environment is in the form of a window mounted air conditioner unit. Please be assured that all of our equipment is inspected and maintained regularly to ensure that all guest comforts are performing at optimal levels. Additionally, we were sorry to hear that our mattresses did not provide your family with a comfortable night’s rest. Our bedding is reviewed by our housekeeping staff on a daily basis, and we work tirelessly to keep all of our furniture in top condition. It is our deepest regret that these amenities did not meet your family's needs.
In the review, you had noted that the activity at Miguel’s Cocina was very loud during your stay. We are very sorry for the increased level of noise, and the disturbance to your time with us. We have developed a strong relationship with the management of their establishment and are continuing to work towards eliminating any excessive noise. It was our belief that moving your room to a different location on property, and issuing a monetary credit had expressed our deepest sympathies that the room did not meet your expectations.
Lastly, you mentioned El Cordova Hotel does not offer designated parking. We understand how this can be a challenge during a busy holiday weekend. It has been our focus to train our line level staff to fully explain the metered spots, free residential parking, and paid private parking available on the streets surrounding our hotel. Directly in front of the property there are two unloading parking spots which guests may utilize during their arrival, and our team is more than happy to provide assistance with your belongings. Our marketing staff has begun reviewing all hotel descriptions to ensure that we are providing absolute clarity in regards to our parking options.
In close, we were very happy to hear that the weather was enjoyable and that you and your family enjoyed a BBQ in our courtyard. While we are very sorry that your stay was less than perfect, we hope to have the opportunity to host you at El Cordova Hotel again in the future so that you may experience the improvements first-hand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I used to stay at this hotel as a child. I have now continued the tradition by bringing my family the past 2 summers. You cannot beat the location! Across from the Del, a short walk to the beach, and many shops & restaurants. We stayed in an upstairs 1 bedroom suite. The room was spacious and clean. The suites have kitchens which they stock with basic pots/pans/plates...etc. With all the running around you seem to do on vacation, it's nice to have the option to make a meal. There is a charming courtyard where you can grill and in the mornings hosts the free continental breakfast. Last year they offered a few days of a hot breakfast(sausage, bacon, eggs) as well, they didn't do that this year and we missed it.There is a pool and hot tub next to the courtyard. The staff is always helpful and polite. Any request was quickly responded to. There is no on-site parking, but there is always metered parking & open spots located on the surrounding surface streets and with the great location you truly don't need your vehicle. I will continue to return to the El Cordova and recommend it as the place to stay when visiting Coronado.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tracie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed there for 3 nites after the Memorial weekend and had a great time due to the location that allowed us to go to the beach and nearby restaurants without needing to drive.

Our room was upstairs and a 2 bedroom (bathroom with the master room, and there were 2 beds in the second room along with a 2nd bathroom. In addition there was a kitchen and small living area.

Note that there is no parking on the property, but we were able to do so on the surface streets nearby with some good guidance from the staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the busy and lively Mexican restaurant (which is very good)
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SonoranDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickCunningham, Front Office Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

It is always fantastic for us to hear about a guest taking advantage of our ideal location! Thank you for your compliments of our staff and grounds. It was our pleasure to host your family during your summer vacation. We look forward to accommodating you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Can't bet the location! Right across the street from 'the Del' and easy walking distance to beautiful beaches. Beautiful Spanish courtyard. We were able to check in early and it was much appreciated after a 6 hour drive from Arizona. From the front check in clerk, to maintenance personnel and maid service we were always greeted nicely. We were put in room 119, which is in the back area away from the courtyard and pool area. This room location was very quiet as we heard no noise from the pool area or the outside dining area at Miguel's restaurant that is in the common courtyard area. Having no on site parking was a bit odd but there are plenty of meters around the hotel and places to park in the residential areas. We will stay at El Cordova the next time we plan a vacation to Coronado Island.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarleyMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickCunningham, Front Office Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your review of El Cordova Hotel! We are so happy that you were able to take advantage of our grounds, our location near the local beaches, and enjoy a relaxing vacation. Thank you for highlighting some of the parking options we have available to our guests. We hope that between metered, residential, and private parking all of our guests will be able to enjoy easy accessibility to our hotel. We would love the opportunity to host your family in the future. Please reach out to us for the best available rate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I cannot say enough about the price, quality and location of the hotel. We had a wonderful stay in a very charming suite. The Del is right across the street with excellent beach access. Many great restaurants and shops are within walking distance. Breakfast is essentially cold cereal, donuts and pastries, but they give you a coupon for a discount at other breakfast eateries in the area. Parking is somewhat difficult because you must find your own space on the street. Because an alley to several restaurants is right behind the hotel, the mornings can be somewhat noisy. We did not hear any nightly noise from the restaurants and bars in close proximity to hotel. The positives far outweigh any negatives and we plan to stay here each time we visit Coronado, which is about twice a year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground level are larger and more accessible.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 997natalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickCunningham, Front Office Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review of El Cordova Hotel! Coronado Island parking is limited; however our guest services staff is more than happy to direct our guests to the best available options. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at El Cordova Hotel. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a room that did not have much noise from the places below (we were upstairs in a two room suite with a small kitchen, 2 bedrooms, and a living space. Love the proximity to the ocean and the shops along Orange. We will stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask about location relative to the Mexican restaurant as it could be noisy later in the evening.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanDonison, Front Office Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. The beach being just a short walk away is quite a luxury here in Coronado that's definitely hard to beat and our centralized location along Orange Avenue is very convenient for all the great local shops and dining.

We look forward to your next stay with us here in the Crown City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.7 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Address: 1351 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#6 Family Hotel in Coronado
#7 Business Hotel in Coronado
#10 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £128 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cordova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing