We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great staff, however...”
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Cordova Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We just came back from our 2nd summer weekend at the El Cordova. First off, I will site the positives. The rooms are spacious. They are comfortable. The staff are EXTREMELY helpful. Nick, the front desk manager is a real gem! He is warm, courteous and extremely eager to help. The location is perfect. And, for the most part, the price of the hotel is reasonable. The negatives...Well, the first time we stayed there were 2 roaches in our room and 1 baby roach made it into our luggage for our arrival back home. The noise from the restaurant outside was intolerable and made it quite difficult to sleep. The second stay (this past weekend) was even worse with the noise. The people next door were so loud (slamming doors and shouting all throughout the night) that we resorted to yelling back at them in the middle of the night. The room, while very spacious and no bugs, was not the cleanest (carpets need to be replaced). Overall, we will return to El Cordova but will definitely be calling the front desk to complain of noise if it becomes an issue.

Room Tip: Rooms not near the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank lisa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickCunningham, Front Office Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at El Cordova Hotel! We greatly appreciate your feedback and pledge to use all of the information as we continue to improve our property. It sounds that your family was able to take advantage of our convenient location and enjoy everything that beautiful Coronado Island has to offer! However, your review highlighted a few areas where we can improve, thank you for offering us an opportunity to address them.
To begin, thank you for mentioning the improvements we have made in regards to pest control. El Cordova Hotel employs one of San Diego’s most reputable pest control agents and actively utilizes their services to prevent any pests from negatively affecting our guest’s experience. We are so pleased that you were unaffected during your last visit and all of our hard work paid off! Please accept our deepest apologies regarding noise levels which interrupted your restful experience. This is something that we take very seriously and will continue to improve through a positive working relationship with Miguel’s Restaurant. We encourage all of our guests to reach out to us at any time if any noise is disrupting a pleasant night’s sleep. Thank you for your suggestions regarding the carpeting in your room. We make upgrades to our property annually, and will use these comments to focus our efforts. We apologize that the cleanliness of the carpet was less than perfect and will focus our housekeeping staff on improving these areas.
We are absolutely thrilled that you will be returning to stay at El Cordova Hotel in the future! Your positive remarks regarding our staff, location, and room amenities are incredible and really inspire us to continue to offer the best product and guest services. We would love the opportunity to host your family next summer so please give us a call for the best available rate! We wish you and your family a fantastic rest of your summer; we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Booked my stay here over the phone and their customer service is great! Jesi went above and beyond in helping me book my stay!!! Staying at El Cordova was awesome, the hotel was very nice! It was my first time staying here and being in Coronado, therefore I will definitely be returning! I went with my best friend, and we both had a great time! Thank you Jesi!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickCunningham, Front Office Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your review and compliments of our employee Jesi! Jesi is one of our newest employees and is already proving to be one our best and brightest! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Come visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We needed a hotel for a wedding we were going to in Coronado. I found this hotel for a great price AND only 5 mins from the wedding location! The hotel del was across the street. Miguel's and The Brigatine was right there next to the hotel! The El Cordavo is a cute spainish style hotel with a charm all it's own! We will be coming back again!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dietz001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickCunningham, Front Office Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your compliments of our ideal position here on Coronado Island. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to host you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

What a lovely hotel! My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We loved the unique architecture and Spanish-flavoured décor. It's clean and well-maintained, with pretty landscaping throughout the courtyard areas. Our room had plenty of space and a huge walk-in closet so we could easily store all our clothes and luggage. The staff were helpful & friendly. We made full use of the breakfast vouchers, we had two of the free continental breakfasts (cereal, coffee, juice, baked goods) and two days we used the vouchers as coupons at Fabrison's next door for some yummy crepes. We didn't have any issues with the noise from Miguel's restaurant, we slept fine, maybe since we were on the upper floor. Our air conditioner was off when we arrived but it cooled down the room in no time. The hotel location is perfect, only a few minutes to the beach and all the shops/restaurants are right at your doorstep, including the historic Hotel Del Coronado. Also, the trolley tour stop is only a few blocks away which was very convenient for sight-seeing in the city. All in all a great choice for us, we'd love to come back!

Room Tip: Upper floors have less noise from the onsite Mexican restaurant. Due to the unique layout, ensure yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickCunningham, Front Office Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

The title "Unique Getaway" is a perfect description of the historic and boutique atmosphere we offer here at El Cordova Hotel. We are so pleased that you were able to take advantage of our ideal location and enjoy the amenities we offer to each of our guests. The Trolley tour is a great way to view beautiful Coronado Island, it sounds like your family had a wonderful time! Come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel was a "home away from home" except it was my dream home. Great hotel and location within just 1-2 blocks walking distance of the beach, and centered in the heart of the downtown area with many shops and restaurants. You have to park on side streets in residential neighborhoods because there is no parking lot, but parking is easy to find and free. You will have to walk 2-3 blocks to get to the hotel from your parking space. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferM1410GN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickCunningham, Front Office Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

As hospitality professionals hearing the words "home away from home" is our greatest compliment. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we are so pleased that we were able to provide a fantastic stay for your family. Come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Yes the del is the del but this place is right next store and is amazing you don't feel like your in the us when your in the courtyard or at the pool. The Mexican restaurant is awesome. Location is great can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Swank23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickCunningham, Front Office Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at El Cordova Hotel! We pride ourselves in providing a unique experience for each of our guests and are thrilled that we were able to do so for your family. Thank you for your comments we look forward to hosting you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is our 3rd stay here. The first time was amazing and was 10 years ago. This time was simply uncomfortable. We were so excited to spend our tenth anniversary where it all started for us but we were very disappointed and I'm not sure we will be back. We were wary after fighting the traffic to get here. When we arrived at our room it was almost 90 degrees. Due to an outdated wall mounted a/c unit, we were not able to get our room cooled down to a comfortable temperature until after midnight. Slept on a hard bed and We were awoken early by excessive noise in the alley behind the room. Granted, the windows were open but that was only because we were so uncomfortably hot almost all night long. Since our last stay we learned there is now no hotel parking which means walking 2 blocks with all of your stuff or feeding the parking meter every 2 hours between 8 and 6 during the weekdays. To be fair, we grilled food in the common area. The staff was helpful and we enjoyed our meal.

Room Tip: Have someone go to the room well in advance of checking in and have him turn the a/c on. Plan for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mud13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcFrancois, General Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for your review of El Cordova Hotel. Candid critique from guests like you is critical to our ability to train our team and improve our overall guest experience. Allow me to also thank you for choosing to spend your anniversary with us and make a third trip to our hotel. Our property is a favorite in Coronado for many guests because of its rich, historic charm.
We have taken every opportunity to upgrade our property’s amenities in an attempt to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort, but we apologize that you had an unpleasant experience when staying with us. In a small selection of our rooms & suites, the only available option to provide a temperature-controlled environment is in the form of a window mounted air conditioner unit. Please be assured that all of our equipment is inspected and maintained regularly to ensure that all guest comforts are performing at optimal levels. Additionally, we were sorry to hear that our mattresses did not provide your family with a comfortable night’s rest. Our bedding is reviewed by our housekeeping staff on a daily basis, and we work tirelessly to keep all of our furniture in top condition. It is our deepest regret that these amenities did not meet your family's needs.
In the review, you had noted that the activity at Miguel’s Cocina was very loud during your stay. We are very sorry for the increased level of noise, and the disturbance to your time with us. We have developed a strong relationship with the management of their establishment and are continuing to work towards eliminating any excessive noise. It was our belief that moving your room to a different location on property, and issuing a monetary credit had expressed our deepest sympathies that the room did not meet your expectations.
Lastly, you mentioned El Cordova Hotel does not offer designated parking. We understand how this can be a challenge during a busy holiday weekend. It has been our focus to train our line level staff to fully explain the metered spots, free residential parking, and paid private parking available on the streets surrounding our hotel. Directly in front of the property there are two unloading parking spots which guests may utilize during their arrival, and our team is more than happy to provide assistance with your belongings. Our marketing staff has begun reviewing all hotel descriptions to ensure that we are providing absolute clarity in regards to our parking options.
In close, we were very happy to hear that the weather was enjoyable and that you and your family enjoyed a BBQ in our courtyard. While we are very sorry that your stay was less than perfect, we hope to have the opportunity to host you at El Cordova Hotel again in the future so that you may experience the improvements first-hand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.7 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
207 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coronado Inn
Coronado Inn
#14 of 17 in Coronado
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Address: 1351 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#6 Family Hotel in Coronado
#7 Business Hotel in Coronado
#10 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £128 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cordova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing