We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The El Cordova was great!”
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Cordova Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Chino, CA
17
Reviewed 6 June 2006

Stayed at the El Cordova the first weekend in June and had a great time. The hotel is pretty dated and needs some upgrades, but the room was comfortable and charming. When we arrived, they were doing construction on the patio of Miguel's in the courtyard and we happened to get a room that overlooked all the action. When I opened up the window in the bedroom, I came face to face with a crewman and a saw! The room itself had a bedroom, a kitchenette, a living room with a couch bed and 2 full bathrooms. Cute room, but couldn't deal with the construction noise...after all, we came here to get away from it all! After we said something to the front desk, they moved our location and in the process upgraded our room to a 2 bedroom suite! Awesome room with a living room and master bedroom that had windows that faced Orange Ave. and a view of the Hotel Del and the ocean. The other bedroom didn't have such a good view...it was the rooftop of the Brigantine restaurant. Through that bedroom was a kitchenette. The floorplan of this room was definately unique! The bathroom was pretty small, but it had all the amenities we needed. This is a boutique hotel and it's fun to come downstairs from your room and be surrounded by shops, restaurants and beautiful courtyards. The staff was awesome, especially the gentelman that upgraded our room! Miguel's, The Brigantine and the Marie Callenders across the street are highly recommended! Marie Callenders is within walking distance and near the underground parking area across the street. I suggest you use the 2 hour parking zones in front of the hotel to load and unload, but use the underground parking, as it is only $6 a day with in and out priveleges. Thank you Hotwire for a deal to die for on this hotel! I paid only $166 a nite for the orginal room which turned out to be about a $350 a nite room after the "upgrade".

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

691 - 697 of 717 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2006

While slightly dated, the room was comfortable. My other qualm was that the hotel rooms are sort of spread out within a complex around a (allegedly delicious) Mexican restuarant. Great location though and more affordable than some of the other Coronado locales. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bhug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2006

A group of friends met up at the El for four days. It served us perfectly. We had a two bedroom suite, with a separate living room and kitchen. The location was fantastic and the price was right. We could see the beach from our windows. It is loud, as it is next to the street; it was street noise more than restaurant noise for us. The windows are older, so they aren't soundproof. The staff was helpful--great about calling cabs and answering questions. Huge size, good location and the right price. It most definitely isn't in the same category as the Del, but neither are the costs. The hotel is not fancy, but the location, location, location makes it great.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thankstomiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2006

super location...accross from The Del and the Beach and great shops along Orange. We stayed in room 19 not on the courtyard side, right accross from Miguel's. It got very, very loud starting about 5:30pm and going until 11pm and then started again at about 8am. Miguel's was okay food, the next mexican place down Orange is better. The cafe right next door that's kinda hidden was great for breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nyckms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2006

Stayed at the El Cordova for a business trip this winter while spending the days at a conference in the famous Hotel Del Coronado across the street. While I intended to stay in another property to get away from the activity in the evening, I never thought that the El Cordova would be such a pleasant surprise! I checked into a spacious suite for a very reasonable $140/night corporate rate. With a kitchenette, living room, separate bedroom and terra cotta bath I was the envy of my co-workers stuck in the matchbox rooms in the Del. Very pleasant garden-like atmosphere of the grounds reminded me of the pensiones I've stayed in in Spain. And with similarly styled interior of the rooms and reception area for the front desk you might think you're actually in Seville!
Be sure to try the excellent Mexican food at Miguel's as well.

5  Thank YepitsmeJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2005

My husband and I love to stay at small, unique hotels and this fit the bill. I thought the hotel was quaint and the staff was very friendly. The rooms are old but we were informed when we checked out that the upstairs rooms were scheduled to be remodeled after the first of the year. We stayed in a standard deluxe room, the shower was on the small side. We had lunch at Miguels, the food and service were very good. The hotel is walking to distance to the beach and a lot of restaurants. We really liked the location and will stay there again after they remodel.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mauijunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2005

We just returned from our fall vacation on Coronado Island. We stayed at the El Cordova which looked very quaint in the photographs we saw. The staff was very friendly. Our room, itself, was fine although the view left something to be desired (rooftop & all the air conditioning units). It was very clean and very large as were the closet & bathroom. We are not tall people, but the shower was meant for a very short person. My husband teased that he needed a bench. Our friends, on the other hand, were very disappointed in their room. It did have an odor which I'm not sure was caused by the age of the furniture or mildew. Their room was on the street side and, apparently, was very noisy, both at night & in the morning. Considering the room rates at the other hotels on Coronado Island and the fact that you really only sleep in your room, the El Cordova is a good value. It is as quaint as the photos portray.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NoKidsCanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
615 reviews
0.1 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.7 mi away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
208 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coronado Inn
Coronado Inn
#14 of 17 in Coronado
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Address: 1351 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#6 Family Hotel in Coronado
#7 Business Hotel in Coronado
#10 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £135 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cordova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing