We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute, clean ...good value”
Review of Crown City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crown City Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Rooms are well kept and clean. Great value for the location. Cute little pool and bicycles to borrow and ride around town. Cookies in the afternoon in the lobby. The restaurant, Crown City Bistro, is great. One of the best restaurants in Coronado.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nadomom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2011

We visited Coronado for two days in early July; two adults, three teens and our dog. This was probably our fourth or fifth stay at the Crown City Inn, and it was better than ever. They have refurbished most of the rooms, which are clean, comfortable and very cute. A big draw for us is that Crown City is pet-friendly, so we can take our dog on our mini-escapes. There are several very nice hotels in Coronado, but most don't allow pets, and the big-name places come with a hefty price tag. Crown City is very reasonable in price, clean, quaint, with friendly staff and special touches like iced tea, cookies and coffee in the lobby, complimentary guest bikes/scooters/wagon available to tour the island, a nice sparkling pool and a lovely on-site bistro. It is just about in the middle of the island, so you can walk or bike to the beach, Ferry Landing, art and concerts in the park, and the shops and restaurants in and near the Hotel del Coronado. The Crown City Inn staff is friendly, helpful and works hard to make every guest feel special. It's not the biggest or most extravagant places in Coronado, but for the value and service, it is certainly one of the best!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have been updated; ask for one with a refurbished bath. Don't worry about snea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelstory09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Great place to stay. 15-20 minute walk to the beach. Lots of shops along the way. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4u2travel2anywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Stayed here for a family wedding on Coronado Island, and was pleasantly suprised at how spotlessly clean and nice the rooms are at such a reasonable price. The ladies at the front desk and the maids are all very helpful, and there is free coffee in the mornings, delicious cookies and brownies plus iced tea in the afternoons. Wonderful bistro on the premises (highlight - homemade jams for your breakfast toast), with attentive waitstaff. Easy walk to anywhere on the island you want to go, or borrow one of the inn's beachcruiser bikes. What a lovely place to relax at a terrific price!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesupian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

My wife and I decided to spend three nights here and are now talking about returning to Coronado next winter and possibly staying a month here (they have special weekly and monthly rates, btw). I can't say enough about the people who work here and the quality of everything we saw here. You can walk to any part of the city from the Ferry Terminal to the Hotel Del Coronado.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank country4man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

I first stayed here because I just needed a room at short notice on the island. Long story short I think I fell on my feet, it's a bargain - clean, excellent location, friendly staff.

Like some of the reviewers say, it's not 5* living but it punches way above it's weight. This is no typical motel/b&b.


No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank telnutkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Quite simply--it was beyond our expectations. Very enjoyable- CLEAN- and relaxing. For the person looking for a 5 star establishment -pass this by. But for the person looking for a great location, clean place to relax in between adventures-ENJOY. The price was very reasonable and the nice, personal touches add so much. Bistro attached was excellent. Ownership does a nice job of looking at things from the guest point of view. We will definitely be back when we come back to San Diego area.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RefreshTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.7 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
607 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coronado Inn
Coronado Inn
#14 of 17 in Coronado
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.7 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
714 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown City Inn

Address: 520 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-1827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#5 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £103 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crown City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Coronado, CA, just across the San Diego/Coronado Bay Bridge from downtown San Diego. Crown City Inn is your affordable choice to stay close to the beach. We have a swimming pool, beach cruiser bicycles, and surf/boogie boards to borrow to play in the water. All rooms have complimentary Wi-Fi internet access. On-site Crown Bistro is a favorite with the locals and serves breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service daily. Kids and pets are welcome. Both receive a goody bag at check-in. Don't miss our afternoon "tea" with homemade almond shortbread, oatmeal-cranberry cookies, thumbprint cookies and brownies; and coffee and iced tea bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Crown City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown City Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing