We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice trip to Coronado”
Review of Crown City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crown City Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We came down for a long weekend with our dog. Our room was small but with the high ceiling, didn't feel too small. The staff was very helpful when we had little issues (knob missing from a/c, big standing puddle in front of our door) and in spite of the terrible weather, we had a nice time! The restaurant there is really, really good, and even worked with a friend of mine to deliver a nice surprise to our room for my birthday! A great location and a nice, non-conventional, affordable place to stay (with or without your pet!).

Room Tip: We paid a little extra to get a slightly larger room to accomodate the two of us and our medium size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomorebake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

Great location (just up street from Hotel Del) in a quiet neighborhood, lived-in but clean, friendly staff, great bistro on site (try their breakfasts but not on a Sunday - standing room only), on a busy street but quiet if you get a room at the back, small pool for the kids, very reasonable for Coronado, free parking.

Excellent for pets and kids. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APBT895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrmill, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us! I'm really glad you were able to eat at the 'Bistro.' I think their Huevos Rancheros is the best anywhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

If anyone is thinking about visiting beautiful Coronado, CA, please consider the Crown City Inn. It's a small hotel/motel within striking range of the interesting places to visit. I was there on a navy reunion and must say that I enjoyed the hotel thoroughly. The staff were helpful, friendly, and kind; the small restaurant took good care of us, and I hope to return next May for another reunion.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrmill, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

What a great thing for all you veterans to get together for a reunion! We are always so happy to get groups like yours at the hotel who are meeting after so many years for a few days of good times and good friends. So glad you enjoyed the Crown City Inn, and we hope to see you next May!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This quaint little place could not have been nicer. We had a cat with us and our room was not disturbed unless we were there. It was situated for easy access to all of San Diego. Coronado island itself is picturesque and offers plenty of things to do. The bistro there was fabulous and the wait staff very friendly. Parking limitations were not a problem. Kudos for the cookies!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 14ebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrmill, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

So glad you (and your cat!) had a nice stay. We haven't had a cat guest for a while, so it was nice to see one come along on a trip. My cat would never be able to stand it! Hope to see you all again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Wonderful Staff, helpful and available! Quaint little motel style centrally located between the beach and the bay...walking distance to everything. We were a big group and they took care of us from start to finish. pet friendly which made me miss mine even more. All the guests friendly.
Would recommend!!!! especially to sport teams or any size group

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maggie049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrmill, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Thanks for your review Maggie! We had a great time getting to know you and your swim team. What a great bunch of "kids!" We hope you'll be back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Great value, great location. Within walking distance of downtown Coronado (although entrance is off a busy street. Parking in the central courtyard is limited (maybe 8 spaces total incl 1 handicapped), add'l parking spaces off the alley in back; no parking fees.
Staff is very friendly and helpful. Definitely pet-friendly -- low nightly pet charge, dog bowl and mat in the room, and the complimentary doggie gift bag was a nice touch (dog treats, poop bags, and a brand new doggie tennis ball -- now our dog's favorite souvenir from our vacation!).
Cozy little restaurant on the property -- looked nice, dog-friendly outdoor seating on the patio (we didn't try only because of other nearby options, plus weather wasn't amenable during our stay).
Bathroom was newly renovated; nice, attractive, glass-enclosed shower (no tub though). Fridge, microwave, and coffee maker in room with excellent complimentary coffee (not the typical motel tea-bag style, but real and locally ground!).
Only complaint was that the heater was loud and not very efficient -- probably not an issue most of the time but the weather was unusually cold during our visit...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The small motel (approx 20 rooms) with a u shaped parking/courtyard feels cozy although on a very busy street. The rooms are updated, clean, and quiet. There is an outdoor (seasonal) pool, attached "bistro", wi-fi and lobby computer for guest's use. Coffee/tea w/free cookies, but no breakfast. Breakfast is served in the bistro, but not until 8:00 a.m. Marcia, the afternoon desk clerk, was extremely helpful and courteous. The location is ideal. It is about 1/2 mi. to the bay w/ferry landing, and about 1 mi. to the beach and downtown. We walked everywhere, even after dark. The town is so safe that the school children ride their bikes to school! There is a grocery to the right (North) about 1/4 mi., Von's; and a grocery to the left (South) about 1/4 mi., Bayside Market. Many restaurants within walking distance, as well as a Starbucks. Very comfortable beds and elegant shower (no tub). I will stay there again. Soon, I hope.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capitollover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.7 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
607 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coronado Inn
Coronado Inn
#14 of 17 in Coronado
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
0.7 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
715 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown City Inn

Address: 520 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-1827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coronado
#4 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#5 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £103 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crown City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Coronado, CA, just across the San Diego/Coronado Bay Bridge from downtown San Diego. Crown City Inn is your affordable choice to stay close to the beach. We have a swimming pool, beach cruiser bicycles, and surf/boogie boards to borrow to play in the water. All rooms have complimentary Wi-Fi internet access. On-site Crown Bistro is a favorite with the locals and serves breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service daily. Kids and pets are welcome. Both receive a goody bag at check-in. Don't miss our afternoon "tea" with homemade almond shortbread, oatmeal-cranberry cookies, thumbprint cookies and brownies; and coffee and iced tea bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crown City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown City Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing