We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a pinch this will do”
Review of Crown City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crown City Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Oak Creek, WI
16
Reviewed 9 December 2004

First, be aware that parking is at a premium. If you intend to return to your room later in the evening, there is a very good chance you will have to park on the street or an off-site lot.

Our room faced Orange Avenue and we had the glare of the street light outside our room and traffic noise the entire night. It wasn't terrible, but it wasn't something one would desire either.

The bathroom is quite likely the smallest I have ever been in, outside of an airplane. The shower is tiny(no tub).

We were told by others that the breakfast is fantastic, but we left too early to ever know.

I suspect that the majority of users of this establishment are couples who have one partner serving on one of the military bases of the island. I really could not see staying here for an extended stay. Given the wide disparity in lodging costs on the Island, I can see how many would opt for this place.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2004

Stayed for 5 day and found that the management was very friendly and helpful. This is a nice, quite little motel. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. They even have free bikes. I will stay here again. A lot better than the much bigger, newer and more expensive hotel a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bbell3509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Indainapolis
116
Reviewed 19 April 2004

My family has stayed at the Crown City Inn on several occasions. We have always found the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms while not large have always been clean and neat. There are fresh baked cookies available in the afternoon. The best thing for us is the location Coronado which has great beaches (no crowds) quaint shops and cafes.
The couple of bothersome things are parking (hard to find spot late) and you do get some traffic noise off Orange Ave. We will once again be staying there later this year.

16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sabrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank Andrea Tamara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melissawm, Owner at Crown City Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank T t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.7 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
630 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coronado Inn
Coronado Inn
#14 of 17 in Coronado
144 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coronado Island Inn
Coronado Island Inn
#16 of 17 in Coronado
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
322 reviews
0.6 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown City Inn

Address: 520 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-1827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#5 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £99 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crown City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Coronado, CA, just across the San Diego/Coronado Bay Bridge from downtown San Diego. Crown City Inn is your affordable choice to stay close to the beach. We have a swimming pool, beach cruiser bicycles, and surf/boogie boards to borrow to play in the water. All rooms have complimentary Wi-Fi internet access. On-site Crown Bistro is a favorite with the locals and serves breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service daily. Kids and pets are welcome. Both receive a goody bag at check-in. Don't miss our afternoon "tea" with homemade almond shortbread, oatmeal-cranberry cookies, thumbprint cookies and brownies; and coffee and iced tea bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crown City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown City Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing