We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best vacation ever!!!!”
Review of Crown City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crown City Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our best vacation ever!!!!”
Reviewed 22 July 2009

My son and I stayed at the Crown City Inn while visiting with his Dad as well as my sister. The room was small but cozy and adorable. Our room had a fridge, microwave, iron, hair dryer, and air conditioning. The staff was excellent as well as the House Keeping Staff (Hi Maria)!!!! Bikes were there for our use as well as a lovely swimming pool and afternoon treats in the lobby. Close to everything and the price is right. In the evening it is so beautiful as well as peaceful. Many thanks to the Crown City Inn. See you in December!!!!!! The Ferguson's

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Knightbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    67
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
65
80
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2008

We had two rooms. One with a queen bed and the other room had two double beds. The rooms were very clean and nicely remodeled. The beds were very comfortable - not the usual hard, stiff hotel beds. The rooms are a little small but they are so well equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, flat screen TV, DVD player, iron, ironing board, hairdryer and very nice clean bathrooms that it more than makes up for less space. The Crown City Inn was quiet and peaceful even though it is on busy Orange Avenue. The Bistro restaurant was fabulous and so convenient. Excellent service and great food and the prices are reasonable. The Crown City Inn is definitely an asset to historic Coronado.

  • Liked — Everything was in great condition and very clean.
  • Disliked — Rooms are a little small.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank casualtraveleraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bisbee, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

On this year's trip to San Diego, two of us from work stayed at the Crown City Inn for a week. I've stayed on Coronado for 3 years running and really feel like I know the place.

Crown City Inn is alright - almost convenient to the ferry and relatively comfortable. If you compare to other places on Coronado, the price is about right for what you get. The wifi was a little weak in my room and the room needed better lighting. I don't think I'll be returning as it wasn't the right fit for my week in San Diego. No breakfast bar is offered (restaurant opens at 8). Bathroom was not very good and air conditioning was a little weak. Nice that you can take dogs, and staff was accomodating. Bikes can be checked out for 2 hour jaunts, which I enjoyed.
The one-night deposit was charged in advance which I find a little odd (or I'm just a rube) but they were quite flexible on payment types and taking care of me.
I think it's alright for short stays and couples who are active and don't need the resort amenities. For business, it's not quite a home away from home.

  • Liked — Close to library and park.
  • Disliked — Small poorly lit rooms, dingy bathroom, and weak wifi.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KurtAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2007

A comfortable motel. Clean room and comfortable bed. A bit pricey for what it is but it met our needs for a good night sleep. Parking was a bit inconvenient but we managed. The staff was not overly friendly but we didn't have to interact much with them. There was coffee available in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank slumberbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2007

First off let me just say the staff at the CCI is so friendly and customer service oriented. I have stayed at CCI many times and have always had a wonderful experience. With their great rates and quiet ambiance Crown Ciy is the perfect place to stay. From business trips to a quiet weekend away with my boyfriend this place has always had it all. I've even gotten my parents, whom normally only stay at The Del or other 5 star resorts, on board the CCI train.
If your looking for a convenient place within walking distance of all Coronado attractions and eateries The Crown City Inn is the perfect place for you or your family.

(Front room by the street is a little loud with traffic but if urban noises don't bother you too much you won't even notice.)

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank funnthesun111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2006

After staying at the sister property in Santa Barbara, we decided to stay at the Crown City Inn. The rates are pretty reasonable for the San Diego area. The motel is basic and in need of updating and sound proofing. Our room while okay, was in need of a paint job, little tired looking. It had a vaulted ceiling and jacuzzi tub which was nice.
The lobby had a computer with free internet access which was nice after being away for a while to check in on things. They also served tea and cookies in the afternoon, however does not include breakfast as most motels seem to. There is a restaurant downstairs however if you walk down the street further, there are better and less expensive options for breakfast and other meals.
The motel is in a U shape, so noise travels very easily to the rooms, we were woken up by people on cell phones outside their rooms in the morning, people dragging suitcases down the stairs etc.
They have free bicycle rentals, although they looked a bit worse for the wear so we didn't try them out. The pool is very small but private, nice for a dip as it was quite warm.
Good option to stay in Coronado as it is only a few mintues walk to a walk on ferry that goes from the island to downtown San Diego. The trip was only $3 each way so was a great option for a trip over to avoid paying for parking and traffic.
Service was hit and miss at the front desk, some helpful others very much the opposite.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 June 2006

We recently spent three nights at the Crown City Inn. After extensive searching for a hotel on Coronado Island that 1) accepted dogs and 2) that was not over $300 per night (you can stay at Hotel del Coronado or Loews for mucho bucks) I found this Inn through an internet search. With the pet fee it was about $150 per night. Their website looked nice, but I have to admit nervousness since they were not in any of the usual guidebooks. It was great! They welcomed us and our dogs with a "doggie bag" for each dog (treats, a small tennis ball (the receptionist specifically asked the size of our dogs to get the treat bag right!) and poop pick-up bags). The rooms had placemats on the floor where the hotel provided dog bowls. I felt very safe in pottying my dog at 2:45 a.m. because Coronado Island is very quiet and safe-feeling. The hotel was a long (but scenic) walk from the beach (about a mile) but a short drive to the Coronado Island Dog (off-leach) beach (check because San Diego has dates when dogs are not allowed off leach and other dates when they are allowed off leash). The Inn was on the main street of Coronado Island, so it was a short walk to restaurants. The Inn has its own Bistro, but we did not try it, because we ended up taking out for dinner. On Sunday in the summer, the Island puts on an evening concert at the park that was 1/2 block from the hotel.
The only reason I did not rate the hotel Excellent was that our hotel room had a small shower with an odd shower head. The room itself was plenty large and it had both a refrigerator and microwave. The rooms seemed individual, so I wouldn't be surprised if other rooms had different shower configurations. I plan on going back next year!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.7 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.6 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
696 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown City Inn

Property: Crown City Inn
Address: 520 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-1827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#5 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Coronado, CA, just across the San Diego/Coronado Bay Bridge from downtown San Diego. Crown City Inn is your affordable choice to stay close to the beach. We have a swimming pool, beach cruiser bicycles, and surf/boogie boards to borrow to play in the water. All rooms have complimentary Wi-Fi internet access. On-site Crown Bistro is a favorite with the locals and serves breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service daily. Kids and pets are welcome. Both receive a goody bag at check-in. Don't miss our afternoon "tea" with homemade almond shortbread, oatmeal-cranberry cookies, thumbprint cookies and brownies; and coffee and iced tea bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crown City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown City Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing