We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, cozy, and affordable”
Review of Crown City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crown City Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
phoenix
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“clean, cozy, and affordable”
Reviewed 20 October 2010

what a gem of a place to stay!!! ITS AS CLEAN AS I HAVE EVER SEEN and the staff is very accomadating and pleasant.. parking is free and the grounds are lush and green and very well kept. we walked everywhere, as Vons grocery store and many good restaurants are within a few blocks from the hotel. we have a dog and he was welcomed with open arms, even given a doggie treat bag and his own bowls!! nice touch......cant wait to return someday soon to such a great little place to stay and to a beautiful island. we are convinced that coronado is far more beautiful and affordable than san diego.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoenixdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    67
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
65
80
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Cloud, MN
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Awesome hotel on Coronado that's affordable! Here's what we liked: convenient to EVERYTHING, warm pool, helpful staff, great housekeeping service, cheap laundry rates, the kids loved the bathroom! The pool is small, but we had a great time nonetheless, no complimentary breakfast (though we knew that ahead of time), the bistro is good, but a bit spendy, the rooms are a bit small and we longed for our queen sized bed! Very comfy and clean though. Parking is very limited in the actual parking lot, but they have plenty of spaces in front on the street and in the back, we never had trouble parking. The bathroom was beautiful, sounds weird right? They have bikes available for you to ride, though we never had time to take advantage of that. Laundry was the cheapest I've seen....loved that! Overall a fantastic time! Loved walking down to the beach and all the great restaurants. Vonn's grocery store is close by and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank earnhardt8carfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We had such a pleasant stay at the CCI. We were there for 4 days/nights and really enjoyed our stay. The inn was charming, spotless clean and the staff was courteous and very helpful. The location was close to everything you could imagine. Free wireless internet too !!! The bistro had amazing food. Quiet time is from 8a-10p and let me tell you, we were on the lower level and that place is extremely quiet. I can't wait to go back again. Very close to Coronado beach.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandKev2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2010

This was not our first trip to CCI and it was great as usual. Miranda was great and all the maids were also nice. Will be going back later this year. We had our mini-schnauzer and he was given treats and a bowl for water......

My only problem was the loud kids upstairs running around in the evening.

Ralph

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RVBPhoenixArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, Ca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Stayed over the weekend with my wife and small dog. As titled my review is mixed.
Complaints:
Unsure if my issues are the hotel policy or just the woman at the front desk when we checked in. But anyway here goes:
Upon checkin was told that dogs could not be left in the room unattended, even in a crate or I would be charged 450 dollars if found that we did. However the sheet for the hotel bistro says you can leave dogs there when eating at their restaruant and let them know (maybe it is an exception). In the past we've stayed places where we could leave out dog to sleep for an hour when we bike rode or ate.
The wireless internet did not work most of the weekend. Went to the front desk to ask the same desk clerk; she touched the keyboard and the hotel web was present. When I hit the home key the error cannot connect appeared (in other words the web page was left from before). She asked what I did to break the system, and told someone else who called to ask the same question that another guest broke the internet. I got on once later that night.
Positves:
clear room.
The room I got was extremely quite.
No problem with parking.
Good location. Can walk either downtown or uptown from there.
Bistro was good

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2010

I have stayed at the CCI twice with my partner and 13 yr child. We absolutely love this place. We stay for about 10 days and enjoy every minute of it. The room we have stayed in is CLEAN has two double beds, free cable tv, free internet access (both of which the larger more upmarket hotels in the area do charge you for), ironing board, iron, fridge, microwave, complimenatry coffee/tea, comfy beds, plenty of pillows and extra blankets are available upon request if needed & room service!! The bathroom had been refurbished with a walk in shower, no tub, but this was not necessary and was still excellent for our needs. Maid service is very good and the ladies who service the rooms are very friendly.
Can't say that we have had a problem with noise from other guests, street/traffic noise or dogs - just haven't noticed any of this.

CCI is a welcoming, quaint and family/dog friendly hotel with clean rooms and friendly/helpfull staff. Every afternoon the lobby has complimentary cookies,muffins and beverages - depending on the weather it could be hot chocolate or iced tea.
The pool is small but it is absolutely fine for children and young teenagers and my son has had great times in the pool. Poolside are sun loungers, table and chairs. Also noteworthy about this hotel is the fact that they have pool towels for use and a laundry hamper to put them in finished with.

Also worth a mention - they have internet access with a printer in the lobby so you are able to print off your boarding passes for flights.

A 20/25 minute walk takes you to Coronado's miles and miles of beautiful beaches and a great dog beach north of the main beach. However, within a few blocks there is a small but clean beach down by the ferry landing. Also within walking distance are restaurants, supermarkets, bustops, ferry over to downtown.

There are a limited number of parking spaces within the hotel property so parking on the street is the other option. The streets are fairly wide and locals park their cars on the street without a problem and the distance from the curb to the rooms is very short so not really been a problem.

Coronado is a beautiful town with plenty to see and do. It is worth taking out one of the hotel's bikes (which look new) to ride around the island.

Considering the room rates this is a small but great value for money hotel. They do take care to provide creature comforts without charging them. It is the personal touches that make all the difference to me and is the reason why we choose the CCI and not somewhere like the hotel Del Coronado or similar type hotel.
If you are looking for a larger resort/spa type of hotel those are available in Coronado but you will not get the value for money that this little gem offers.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisManchester37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Was in town for a wedding, so I just needed a place to sleep and get ready. It did the job. There was some construction noise, but it was during the day and next door. The staff was friendly. It was nothing fansy, but the price was good for its location.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happypogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.7 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 17 in Coronado
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.6 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
696 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
291 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown City Inn

Property: Crown City Inn
Address: 520 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-1827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#5 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Coronado, CA, just across the San Diego/Coronado Bay Bridge from downtown San Diego. Crown City Inn is your affordable choice to stay close to the beach. We have a swimming pool, beach cruiser bicycles, and surf/boogie boards to borrow to play in the water. All rooms have complimentary Wi-Fi internet access. On-site Crown Bistro is a favorite with the locals and serves breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service daily. Kids and pets are welcome. Both receive a goody bag at check-in. Don't miss our afternoon "tea" with homemade almond shortbread, oatmeal-cranberry cookies, thumbprint cookies and brownies; and coffee and iced tea bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crown City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown City Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing