We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can choose only one place to vacation...........”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2011

You MUST stay at Hotel del Coronado. We started our vacation at Hotel Del and returned to the "Del" after a brief three day interlude to Disneyland. The entire time we were away in Anaheim, we couldn't wait to return to Coronado. The accommodations are most comfortable and the resort offers many entertainment options for families. It is the most "family friendly" resort we have ever experienced. The entire staff is accommodating and available to make your stay most enjoyable. We celebrated my wife's 40th birthday at the "Del". She took surfing lessons, we spent the day on the beach, and the hotel concierge arrange our dinner reservations and limo transportation without a hitch. Don't miss the Sunday Brunch. It's truly the most spectacular setting you will EVER enjoy. We will return to Hotel del Coronado as often as possible.

Thank MikeandLori1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

We are so glad to hear about how you enjoyed your experience at The Del. We are thrilled that your wife had such a great 40th birthday and that your whole family enjoyed the amenities, services and activities that make The Del a special family-friendly resort. We look forward to celebrating may more special occasions with your family and to welcoming you all back to The Del soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,323 - 4,329 of 5,628 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2011

The Del does not need to rely on positive reviews from travelers at this stage. It is a historic luxury icon. The only value of a review for the Del is to establish that it continues to maintain its standards and live up to its reputation. It does. The Del is an experience.

Room Tip: Get a full ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FPodesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words about The Del. Since opening in 1888, we continue to strive to provide legendary service and a unique vacation experience. We hope that you will visit us again soon to see more of what The Del can offer you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We only stayed for one night, but I definitely wanted to stay longer! The service we received was always positive and gracious. We opted for S'mores on the Beach in the evening and was it absolutely wonderful. The crowning touch was that we had our own private fire pit! My family and I are talking about making this an annual trip - definitely worth every penny!

Thank jenng52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2011

We are thrilled you found our staff gracious and that you had an opportunity to experience s’mores on the beach. We look forward to welcoming you back and to becoming an annual family tradition!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

My friends & I stayed here for three nights in June. It was great! There are three sections to the hotel, the "old" or Victorian side and the newer California Cabana and the Ocean tower. If you want the historic side, be sure to indicate that when you reserve. We stayed in the California Cabana and it was perfect. A large, clean room with a balcony and access to all the amenities of the hotel. A run on the beach was a great way to start the day. I would recommend this for sure but if you are interested in exploring other parts of San Diego, you really need to rent a car.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BevRobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at The Del. We are thrilled that you and your friends enjoyed your accommodations in the California Cabanas and all of the amenities the resort has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you all back again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

1. Never got the internet to work in the room, but still got charged for it
spent 1/2 hour on some tech in India, and she was useless. Hotel facility people could not fix it.
2. Could not set the time on the alarm clock. Could set the alarm, but not the time.
3. No light on one side of the bed.
4. Very noisy. Facing a parking lot. Every time the Navy planes flew over (and that was noisy enough), the car alarms went off.
5. The Del sandbags you on the price. There is an additional, non-optional $25 per day charge for internet, workout room, and water in the room. As noted, we got charged even though the internet did not work.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patenpend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2011

We appreciate your feedback and are truly sorry for the service issues you encountered during your stay. We understand your frustrations and we’ll be reviewing your comments with the appropriate managers to make the necessary improvements. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

even if you don't stay here it is worth going to visit for the afternoon for a couple of hours. the interior is great and the beach is wow.
def. worth doing if you visit Coronado.

Thank julieannboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2011

Thank you for sharing your kind thoughts about your recent visit to The Del. We hope your travels bring you back and that we may welcome you as a guest to the resort. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

I'd wanted to visit the Hotel del Coronado ever since, as a kid, I found out that L. Frank Baum wrote some of the Oz books there. To celebrate a happy result on a medical test I decided to splurge and arrange a short (two-night) vacation there. We were bowled over by how fantastic it was. I'd never spent so much on a vacation before (rooms are expensive), but the value for the money was GREAT. So many happy surprises awaited us -- the beautiful view, the niceness of all the staff, the ridiculously good breakfast, the beach bag and pails and shovels, the many swimming pools, the beach two seconds away by foot, just the gorgeousness of everything. The quality of the light. I'll never forget it!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JessyRandall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2011

We are so glad you chose to celebrate your happy medical test results at The Del. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words about what makes the resort so special. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,125 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,101 reviews
La Avenida Inn
#7 of 17 in Coronado
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £267 - £658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado, Curio Collection by Hilton is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing