We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great history, wonderful service, but you pay for it”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great history, wonderful service, but you pay for it”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed at the Del last week and loved the charm and history.

Pros:
Service was wonderful - pleasant and anticipated every need.
We stayed in a newer tower which was good-sized and clean, but wasn't quite the same as staying in the "old" building. The architecture of the old hotel was really interesting, and hotel employees (particularly in the 1888 gift shop) were very knowledgeable about the history.
Food at the poolside cafe, ice cream at Moo Time, and cheese sampling at Eno were all very good (I loved the Asian salad!)
The beach was nice and not too crowded, although the hotel ran out of chairs early in the day.
Range of free activities was pretty good - yoga, beach yoga, family s'mores night, movie night.

Cons:
At $400+ a night for a room with no view, we expected a little more luxury. I didn't price other hotels on the island so this could be in line - but the quality of the rooms, pool, etc was about that of a decent Marriott or Hilton - definitely not comparable to a Ritz/Four Seasons type hotel.
The resort fee was high at $25 per day, and they justified it by saying it covered in-room coffee (no-name brand), newspaper (local) and fitness center - these are generally free at most American hotels. On the plus side, it did cover beach chairs and towels (but not umbrellas)
Pool was extremely crowded - couldn't find chairs, and the hot tub was full of about 12 kids with boogie boards, swim noodles and Barbie dolls.
Noise level was pretty high

One other note - we had breakfast one day at Cafe 1134, a few blocks from the hotel at (you guessed it) 1134 Orange Ave. It was wonderful!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,383
    1,275
    671
    409
    276
See reviews for
1,525
1,459
115
899
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helendale
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Definitely a historical, beautiful property in a nice setting, but $545 a night for a typical hotel room with two queen beds, plus $25 for parking and another $25 bogus resort fee, plus $47 daily taxes, is a bit too much. Granted, we did have a nice partial ocean view of the coastline and pool. MIxed drinks were $14 a pop, and beer was $7 to $9. For less money, you can rent a 1,200 square foot, two-bedroom, two-bath, living room, dining room condo at the Marriot in Aruba, with an ocean view, the turquoise Caribbean and tons to do. And yes, we've been going to Aruba for 10 years, and it is VERY safe!! Hotel Coronado was an experience, it just wasn't worth that much money. $300 a night for a partial ocean view room, would have been more appropriate!!,

Room Tip: Checking out the so-called
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at The Del. We apologize that there were aspects of your stay with which you were not satisfied. If you do decide to return to the resort in the future, we recommend staying in one of the luxury cottages or villas at Beach Village. Again, thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We booked a three night stay at the tail end of honeymoon and we were thrilled with the Del! Fantastic service, a beautiful room, terrific food, and a view of what is perhaps the most beautiful beach in the country! I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay! One could spend a day just exploring the grand old building at the center of this hotel. It's magnificent and has been beautifully kept! Our room was in the newer building, where we had the most incredible view. I would wake up in the morning to watch the Navy Seals do their run down the beach. Then with coffee I'd watch real seals and dolphins moving down the coast line. That was my start to every terrific day that we had at the Del! I higly recommend the Hotel del Coronado!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsongbyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Congratulations! We are thrilled that you chose to celebrate part of your honeymoon with us. And, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed all the amenities and services that make The Del so special. We look forward to welcoming you back to celebrate many anniversaries to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We are a family of five -- 3 small children. We stayed in an oceanfront jr. suite with a huge balcony on the third floor. Getting the right room can either make or break your stay here, so request ahead of time if you want an oceanview or balcony. Beautiful beach. Big pool. Sheerwater Cafe staff was very accommodating to our kids. Food prices can add up with a long stay, so walk into town (there's a La Salsa next door). Place was built in 1888 -- crooked hallways, stairs to nowhere and creaking floors all add to the charm. Definitely recommend for family. So much to do! One note: the Navy SEALS did their runs on the beach early in the morning and came up to the hotel chanting "Good morning Hotel Del" at 7:00am. Fun for early risers, but not so much if you want to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauryssa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We have a large family from ages 7 to 74 and the Del was so very accommodating to each and everyone of us and to get in rooms all near each other in the California Cabana's. The rooms are so spacious and worked so well for all of us. One of our favorite highlights were the seashells and quote cards we were given at turn down service. The rooms were so comfortable and the housekeeping staff so friendly. We truly enjoyed the whole resort from the private beach to the fine dinning. The Del is one of the treasured landmarks of California and a must stay at sometime in your life. Thanks again to the Del and its entire team for a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
We are thrilled to hear that your entire family enjoyed your recent experience at The Del. We strive to provide exceptional service and appreciate that you recognized our friendly staff. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope that The Del will become a family tradition!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Built in 1888, with its iconic red turrets piercing the taut horizontal lines of an azure California skyline, the Hotel del Coronado radiates with a confidence of gracious Victorian splendor that is without equal.

Room Tip: The adult pool was very quit and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petdankay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Thank you for recognizing the nuances and unique architecture that makes the Hotel del Coronado so special. Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

this hotel is not for those who want all modern floors and elevators but as a character hotel with children, it was a time travel trip to days gone by. The creaky floors made for fun, but the rooms were clean and beautiful. Best of all, the service was outstanding. Nice beach in the front. I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank travelandtravail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
We are so glad to hear that you had a wonderful time during you recent stay at The Del. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the character and nuances that make The Del special and that our friendly staff and gorgeous beach contributed to a great vacation. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Property: Hotel del Coronado
Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing