We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Resort”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome Resort”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The room were very clean and spacious. The Ocean Tower is close to the beach for easy access to the beach. We had children 3 to 9 years old. Cost is about twice of other places that I looked into, but we all agreed it was worth the extra expense. Breakfast buffet at the Sheerwater was great for the kids. The 2 younger kids were free and the older kids only $5.00 each. We took side trips to legoland and sea world but agreed that we should have only done one and stayed at the hotel more since there are so many activites for the kids to do at the hotel. Some reviews were negative about the hotel I can't imagine what they were expecting. It is wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at The Del. We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed all the fun-in-the-sun activities the resort has to offer. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,456
    1,312
    699
    436
    300
See reviews for
1,611
1,511
117
927
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I was terribly disappointed. They are "BANKING" on their historic reputation. Make sure to request the towers if you have to go. Coronado is beautiful, but don't plan to swim in the ocean unless you have really thick skin or don't mind freezing water.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrick40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunwoody, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This year a couple of my sisters and I wanted to get together somewhere special where we could be pampered, catch some rays and laugh. We found the perfect location, the Beach Village at The Del. Here is the low-down:

Location:
The entrance to the Beach Village at the Del is located off of RH Dana Place---not at the Hotel Del Coronado’s very crowded entrance. As we got out of our car, we were greeted pleasantly by one of Valet guys at the Valet Hut located on the right side of the lot; then they immediately notified the concierge of our arrival.

Staff:
Almost immediately someone from the Concierge Desk appeared. Maria greeted and escorted us to the Reservation Desk. Along the way, she welcomed us, explaining the Village’s sites and activities. At the reservation desk, they even made us feel more welcome. We were treated like royalty, not that I know how that is but throughout our two-day stay they surprised us with wonderful gifts. Who does that in today’s economy?

Accommodations:
We reserved an Ocean View One-Room Cottage with a fire pit. Little did we know, they gave us a free Upgrade! A MAJOR Upgrade to the Horizon Room frequented by Honeymooners and movie stars. It brought tears of joy to our eyes to see a three-room suite! There was a Master Bedroom with a king-size bed, flat screen TV and fireplace. A HUGE Master Bathroom¸ with a lovely tub and shower area. We had a living room with another flat screen TV, fireplace adjoined to a dining room and full service kitchen. Then down the hallway was a ‘den’ or sitting room with a sofa and flat screen TV with a half-bath next to it. If that wasn’t enough, we had our own sun deck and private Jacuzzi. (See attached photos.) Two of us spent the nights on sofa beds that were nicely prepared and turned down in the evening, while another slept in the luxurious Master Bedroom.


Our Sun Deck
We had an incredible private sundeck that could be viewed through French doors in the ‘great room’. We enjoyed watching the sunsets from our Jacuzzi each night---occasionally we’d wave to the folks strolling down below us on the boardwalk. It was a hoot.

Food and Drink
We brought some items in a cooler---water and some snacks. If I knew we’d have top-notch kitchen appliances, I would have packed more. There are several stores down the street that one could go purchase groceries. The restaurants and bars on the property are VERY Pricey. Either plan to bring your own provisions or be prepared to run up a juicy credit card bill.

Spa
Stephanie from the Beach Village helped book our spa appointments. My two sisters and I had wonderful treatments and were able to use all of the Spa’s facilities while we were there…including their private swimming pool. Since we had our own sun deck, we didn’t spend much time here.

Final Thoughts:
We called our suite the “Princess Palace”….a perfect name for us ‘temporary princesses’! This is by far the most fabulous vacation I have ever had --- surpassing all of my visits to Fairmont Hotels. We were very lucky to get a mega-upgrade! I cannot express enough gratitude to everyone for making our girls get-away mini-vacation an extraordinary experience.

Room Tip: Check for package deals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joanie_Balonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Thank you for sharing your kind words about your recent visit to Beach Village. We are thrilled to hear that you and your sister enjoyed the special Beach Village experience and that you all felt like royalty in your “Princess Palace”. Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Whist our room was nice, it was about as peaceful as my high school. Between the auctions in the courtyard, the kids and late night revelers running in the hallway, pretty much everybody stomping & making noise, it was about as peaceful as your standard construction site. But at least it was extremely expensive.

$37 a day for parking is excessive for a hotel guest.

The Sunday brunch bill had a $18.00 gratuity added to the cost. This was not on the check we were given at the brunch, but was added to our final bill. I do not like these kinds of surprises. Especially as I tipped the waiter generoulsy - it seems twice.

I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback from your recent visit to The Del. We understand your frustrations and apologize for the unacceptable service issues you encountered. To that end, we will be reviewing your comments with the appropriate managers so we may make the necessary improvements. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

What a great hotel with lots of charm and great service, expect to pay top dollar whilst you stay there, not for those on a budget, the only down side is that the naval base is very close by and military aircraft fly directly over head, great viewing from your sun bed around the pool, you will need to put your fingers in your ears, had we known we would get such a great air display we would not have gone to the Camarillo Air show the weekend before.
Coronado island is charming, lots of restaurants within walking distance to the hotel. Oh and just another thing, nothing is included, $25.00 a day self-parking, $25.00 a day resort fee for Pool towels, 1 bottle of water per room (a bit mean considering the price of the room) plus high speed internet
Sorry just one more thing, the beds are a little hard.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the original building, not the newest part, and a partial view as we had was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Thank you for sending us your comments about your recent visit. We are thrilled that you and your family found the hotel charming and thought that our staff provided great service. And, we apologize for the aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The Del is FABULOUS!!! I wanted to stay on the beach and I did!! The beach was spectacular--water/waves/sand awesome!!! And they have a bar right there so you can get pina coladas--heaven!! Ben the bartender was the best! My room was great--very spacious!! And I had no problems with noise. I requested a room away from the main pool and screaming children. I did that because I had read that in a review I read--Thanks to whomever wrote that! They accommodated me and I had no problems!! It was heaven! Try the El Pepino drink at Babcock & Story--if you like hot/spicy--you will love it! Lots of shops and easy to walk down the street and check out the town. I will be back!

Room Tip: I asked for a room away from the main pool and screaming children. I did that because I had seen it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at The Del. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed the fun-in-the-sun activities and dining at our restaurants. We strive to provide exceptional service and are glad that our staff anticipated your every need. Please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, CA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This is the second time that we have stayed at the Hotel Del Coronado, the first time was about 3 or 4 years earlier. This time we avoided the weekend check in mess and checked in on a Wednesday, there were no problems, check in was fast (about 20 minutes) for the Del. During check in we asked for, and got a room in the California Cabana’s section of the hotel. We love the beach and pool and wanted to be close to both, we didn’t want to have to trek through the main hotel each time we went to the pool/beach. Our room was clean and everything worked fine. Our room was on the pool deck level, so we could walk out the back door of our room to a private porch/sitting area that opened onto the pool deck. The private sitting area had a few chairs, table and a lockable door (between the sitting area and the pool). Although we love the Del one of the issues we noticed during our first stay is that there is little space to dry wet bathing suits and beach towels in the bathroom, the nice part about having the “private” porch was we could store and dry all our pool/beach toys there – this made things much easier for us and was a vast improvement over our last stay where we didn’t have an area where we could store wet and sandy stuff. The beach had a lot of seaweed but it wasn’t a problem, we still could enjoy the ocean – we didn’t remember as much seaweed the last time we stayed. We never ate at any of the Hotels restaurants, instead we walked a short distance to the numerous restaurants that are within an easy 10 minute walk. The restaurant we all really liked the most, that was an easy walk from the Del was the “Rhinoceros”, it’s at 1166 Orange Ave. We got there early (before 6pm) and didn’t need reservations, but as we ate dinner we noticed that the people coming later had reservations, so I suggest getting reservations if you are going there after 6pm. During our last trip to the Del we ate at their restaurants a few times but quickly learned there were great dining options, at much more reasonable prices just a short walk away. We did order pizza from the Del’s room service one night, it was good pizza and wasn’t outrageously expensive. Self-parking was an issue at the Del, we would often drive around for a long time trying to self-park and never find any space, so we ended up valet parking the whole time, it is more expensive but wasting an hour driving to find a self-park space was getting old and a waste of time. If you do valet park, and stay in a California Cabanas, then remember to tell the bell-hops and they will deliver your car to the California Cabanas for you when you call for your car, this made checkout much faster for us. We didn’t have much interaction with the staff so I can’t comment on that, although the check in staff was really nice and helpful and went out of their way to accommodate our room request. We did take advantage of the Dels’ stay 2 nights and get 3rd night free program. Make sure you get the list of events happening at the Del for the time your there, there are daily events happening which my teens loved and in some cases were free. If you’ve never been to the Del it’s important to note that the military flies right over the beach during the day and early evening, we love seeing the Navy planes but if you’re not use to seeing planes that close it may be unnerving at first, but remember, above your head fly the best aviators in the world, remember that and you’ll never think twice about it again. We love the Del and especially the beach at the Del, we be back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aperio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
12.9 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
2.0 mi away
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
0.2 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
291 reviews
4.3 mi away
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
1.2 mi away
Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Property: Hotel del Coronado
Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado, Curio Collection by Hilton is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing