We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you come to stay make sure you are with a group as they get preferred service.”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Concluded our drive down the Cali coast at Hotel Del. All in all I was a bit disappointed. There were several conferences here during our stay and several areas of the beach and outside restaurants we closed for special events. They had set up for one activity or another outside of our room (which was a beach view) every day and night. On our last day we couldn't even get beach chairs as they were being used for a "special event". Thank goodness the little gal working the main pool went on a chair hunt for us. Lauren was a life saver. This is a lovely hotel, on a lovely beach with beautiful surroundings. The price is crazy high though and we definitely have had better for less. If you're going for history and the beautiful exterior then you won't be disappointed. If your looking for a luxury room with pampering service then I would say this isn't for you. I definitely don't feel pampered. Also, a note....if you get a room on the 1st floor with a beach view you must sleep with the door closed and your blinds are either opened (letting everyone who walks by see in) or closed. No sound of waves crashing for you because there is no screen and no windows that open to the beach. And it's not private at all. I'm sorry. Just not the way I would have liked to end my vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback and we are equally saddened by your disappointment. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered and will pass along your kind words to Lauren. For a more private and luxurious experience, we would recommend staying in the cottages and villas at Beach Village. We appreciate your valuable input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,844 - 2,850 of 5,367 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

Even if you don't stay at the Del...its certainly worth visiting and a walk thru the lobby. The oldest hotel in the U.S. that is still completely made of wood and kept to a constant update. The traveler on a budget may not be able to stay here so its worth just a quick visit or a wonderful walk on the pristine beach. The golden gilded elevator is a thrill...complete with a gloved elevator steward still helping the clients. As always San Diego has wonderful weather year round....

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Christy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for the nice endorsement. The Del is one of the last remaining Victorian seaside resorts and we’re pleased that you appreciate its historic nuances. We hope your travels bring you back our way again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel. Upon arrival we were told our room faces the parking lot, and if interested to have an ocean view room. There will be additional premium for the upgrade.
We agreed to the ocean view room. The room was in the newer part of the hotel. The view from our balcony was spectacular, however the room itself was tired, the rugs, furniture, the bathroom. We thought for the added premium and overall rate, was excessive for just the view.

We asked to speak to the manager, who was Ms. Megen Ledbetter for that day. Ms ledbetter was very gracious, did everything possible to accommodate our concerns. I understand they are updating some of the rooms which need attention. We believe the hotel deserves a four star, once all the rooms are updated.

The hotel is perfectly located to access all area restaurants, tourist attractions. We took the hop on and off bus, which stopped across the street from the hotel, which was very helfull and gave us a good overview of San Diego.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cami41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for your kind support and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Del. We apologize that aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations and will share your nice comments with Megan. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

A wonderful experience but not for the traveler on a budget. An experience to remember. I stayed in the hotel over the Christmas holidays. From checking in to checking out everyone was wonderful. The decorations are exceptional. The spa treatments are awesome. The location of the resort is great for sightseeing in San Diego.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bren1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

We are delighted that you had an opportunity to visit The Del when it is decked out in all its finery and enjoyed its magical atmosphere. We appreciate your recognition of our great staff and hope a visit to the resort becomes an annual holiday tradition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

A new experience to stay at the Hotel Del in the more private Beach Villas and Cottages. The location and proximity to the beach path and beach can't be beat! What a beautiful sunset was witnessed right over Point Loma! A wonderful morning jog/walk down Ocean Avenue and into town for coffee. Didn't get to enjoy as many amenities because of our short stay, but I will be back to enjoy the mini pools and hot tub. Breakfast at Windsor Cottage was charming and delicious! Beach front dining with wonderful patio heaters to take the chill off.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Thank you for choosing Beach Village at The Del. We are pleased that even during your short stay, you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to not only enjoy Beach Village's direct beach access, but also indulge in the countless amenities and services (and pools) available exclusively to Beach Village guests. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This grand hotel in the town of Coronado offers outstanding accommodations. Located on the beach, it is ideal for a romantic getaway, a family vacation or a professional meeting. The rooms are comfortable, but not outstanding. In the older part of the hotel, the walls between the rooms are a bit thin so you are aware of neighbors. If you have creaky knees like me, there are not many elevators. There is a charming brass elevator in the lobby with a real elevator operator. The restaurants are outstanding, especially if you can dine outside. For meeting functions, the food service was excellent. The meeting rooms are very nice and, if the speaker is boring, you can look out over the ocean and day dream.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Professorhosokawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for your kind endorsement and we are thrilled that you appreciate the historic nuances that make The Del so special. The elevator in the lobby is the original, Otis #61, and does require an operator. We hope your travels bring you back this way again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I was just a visitor at this beautiful hotel but wow,its lovely!I would absolutely stay here next visit.Super expensive but the hotel ,location, view ...everything is perfect.Oh Yah its also haunted....Love this place!We sat on the patio overlooking the ocean and had cocktails,at 13.50 per cocktail it was well worth it,great seating and a live band!Fun in the sun all day long.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

We are delighted that you discovered The Del and enjoyed your visit to the Sun Deck. It’s the perfect spot to watch the sunset. Thank you for your review and we hope you return for an overnight stay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
302 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £265 - £429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado, Curio Collection by Hilton is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing