We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Missing the mark”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Escondido, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Missing the mark”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Terrible Turkey day at the Del. Started out with a loud boom at our door. When we opened the door, there was a broken bottle of beer and a pool of blood in the hallway. The blood trailed on the floors, walls, pool and handrails. We walked our son and wife to valet and as we returned to our room a security agent told us to return to our room and that they they had the drunk detained, the cops were coming, and the room would be complimentary. The next morning while we were checking out, no one at the front desk knew anything about what had happened. no apology, no explanation, no consideration, just "bye bye." How's that for $650 a night. Please be aware that the Del Coronado is deteriorating and is not what is seems. Our experience revealed it is an antiquated facility. There is no communication between it's management system translating into lousy service and security for your family.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maryanddick19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
We are saddened that your holiday experience at The Del was a disappointment and sincerely apologize for the service issues you encountered. We will share your review with the appropriate management so we may make the necessary improvements. Our guests’ security is extremely important to us and we’re sorry that this unusual circumstance had such a negative impact on your visit. Thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,383
    1,275
    671
    409
    276
See reviews for
1,525
1,459
115
899
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
221 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Great location in the heart of Coronado, CA. The beach was right out the door with a nice breeze each day. Condo was roomy and very clean, but a little pricey. Patio was open, but how it is situated facing the beach is less than desirable. Many people walk past the patio, being that most of them face the sidewalk, which separate the condos from the beach. The sidewalk provides access to the main patio area of the hotel. Other than that, it is a great place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdslam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a classic, historic property with iconic red rooves that has been around for 125 years. It has been beautifully kept up, and gives off much charm and character. I loved the fussy appointments of the room (the wooden mini-blinds were nice), found sleeping here a delight, and loved the regal, upscale feel of the del Coronado. This place has wooed and wowed people for decades, and I sensed that the employees love it here. I was here for a meeting, and the conference facilities were excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karmaswimswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your business trip to The Del and appreciate the historic nuances that make the resort so special. We hope to welcome you back again soon for a vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Hotel Del. Our room, which was in the main part of the hotel, was spacious and beautiful. The service was wonderful. It was relaxing and comfortable to be there with kids, but didn't feel kid-centric at all. We ate on-site and walked downtown to eat as well. Yes, it's expensive, but it didn't feel wasteful or over-the-top. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your kind support and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your recognition of our exceptional staff and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had a nice 2 day "stay-cation" at the del this past September. After all the high season tourists, and were able to enjoy all the hotel had to offer. We had a junior suite, no view, but plenty of space. Our window looked out onto the delivery area. The room was nice, the bathroom cozy, and the pool was delightful. There was the sandman on the beach who made sand castles which many wedding guests used as backdrops. There were two beach weddings while we were there and we walked to the beach after dinner the first night to encounter the SEALS training on the beach with their huge rubber boats. Highly impressive considering the water was about 64 degrees and they were fully uniformed! Those people totally ROCK! We ad fun walking through the shops at the Del, days on the beach (if you're local bring your beach chairs) and late afternoons by the pool watching the sun set. Always a great time at the Del but bring your wallet.

Room Tip: Our room was 3101. Big, roomy, just don't expect a view. :o)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estwhiletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
We appreciate your feedback and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Fall is the best time of year to visit when the crowds are gone and the weather is perfect. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Beautiful grounds and location, great pool, activities, restaurants. Nice to go from pool to beach. Coronado Island is beautiful , easy to walk to other restaurants. Only down side is the rooms are very small but worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikila752013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your support and we are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We like to think we have something for everyone—from the historic charm of the Victorian building where no two rooms are alike to the more spacious Ocean Towers and California Cabanas to the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. We hope your travels bring you back our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We were in the SanDiego area for a week and decided to treat ourselves to a night at the Del. It
is indeed an amazing place and we were glad we stayed there. The rooms have been recently renovated and although they are on the small side they are beautifully appointed and give
you all the amenities you could want. We were there on a Monday so only one restaurant was
open for dinner. We were seated on a beautiful patio and the service was excellent but - the
prices are high, the servings are small and our fish was "fishy". Very disappointing! I would stay
there again but I would go into town to eat dinner!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
We are thrilled that you treated yourselves to a stay at The Del and enjoyed the resort. We apologize that your dining experience did not meet your expectations and will share your comments with our culinary team. We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Property: Hotel del Coronado
Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing