We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel del Coronado
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
La Avenida Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$227
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$348
US$336
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$280
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$414
US$343
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
El Cordova Hotel(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$310
US$243
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
1906 Lodge(Coronado)
US$386
US$366
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Capri by the Sea(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$235
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glorietta Bay Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$239
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Coronado Inn(Coronado)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Rancho Motel(Coronado)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,749)
Filter reviews
5,749 results
Traveller rating
2,664
1,429
774
518
364
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,664
1,429
774
518
364
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictorian buildingocean towersheerwater restaurantsun deckcalifornia cabanasice skatingelevator operatorocean fronticonic hotelfull ocean viewmain buildingmarilyn monroesan diegobucket listbannocknavy sealsdel coronado
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,166 - 3,171 of 5,749 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The Del is a terrific hotel, but not quite worthy of a 5 star review. It's a grand old Victorian hotel, so the lobby and crown dining room are quite dark because of all the wood. Our rooms (2 adjoining) were clean, but spare and the decor & furnishings were a bit tired. I was expecting a bit more luxury. We stayed at the Del for a week in December, including Christmas. Check-in and check-out were a bit problematic, but every other aspect of our stay was great. The hotel has already compensated us for our check-in issues, which were resolved quickly. The hotel is very expensive. Our rooms were ground-level walk-outs directly onto the beach, so you definitely pay for the location. The sunsets from our patio were spectacular! All of the food was excellent. The hotel was quite crowded throughout the holiday, but there were always available chairs at the pool and tables in the restaurants. I think, for the cost, I would rent in the high-rise condos right next door on our next trip to Coronado.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LCCCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday visit to The Del and had the opportunity to experience its magic. It does get quite busy during the holiday so we’re glad you were able to enjoy your meals and our unseasonal weather. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Let me preface this review by acknowledging my awareness that things happen. Hotel rooms experience problems, which is completely understandable given the amount and type of use they get. The Hotel del Coronado is “an old hotel,” as was told to me more than once by staff with respect to the issues my wife and I experienced during our two-night stay. The truth is The Del “has history,” but it isn't “old.” The hotel has gone through upgrades and renovations over the years, at the very least to bring it up to building codes. It seems, however, that when things happen at this hotel, there tends to be an automatic default blame toward the age of the resort.

Our first night was decent enough. When we returned from breakfast in town the following morning, there was a strong sewage smell in our hallway and in our room. We opened the window and turned on the fan to air the room out, which worked. What we didn't know at the time, what we didn't find out until we returned to the room over six hours later, was a water main broke and cut off water to our wing of the hotel. What was truly amazing was not one employee in the lobby – desk or concierge – seemed to be aware of the problem. “No water? Oh, I’m so sorry.” No signs in the lobby or hallways. No proactive attempt by the hotel to inform guests there was a problem. And the only thing I was offered was a $75 credit for what was essentially the loss of full use of a $300+ room and multiple trips to the lobby for information on the problem. And the hotel was 100% booked, so no other rooms were available.

The following morning, I got out of bed and walked across a water-soaked carpet. The refrigerator had developed a leak. Again, things happen, but in light of what transpired the night before, which included bar staff making us sit for extended time for service AT THE BAR, this added to our frustrating stay.

This is advertised as a “luxury resort.” As such, there are certain things I expect for the high price I pay to enjoy that luxury, the very least of which is a resort staff that is knowledgeable about and competent in managing the services provided. The staff at the front desk seemed unprepared and/or untrained to deal with not only my issues, but those of the other people having booking or room issues. That was when there WAS desk staff as too often there were not enough clerks to accommodate the number of guests needing service checking in, out, or in general. We couldn't even check out when we wanted to because we made purchases in resort stores that weren't posted on our account because the stores weren't in the automated system.

In the end, my wife and I received some compensation for some of our loss, but it was only through our effort that we got anything. Overall, we left unimpressed. For the room prices and fees, expectations were higher than what we experienced. My wife and I were two people out of thousands, and we didn't expect undivided attention to make our vacation memorable. That’s our responsibility. That said, hotels of any size should take a measure of responsibility to ensure the services they provide are on par with or hopefully exceed the prices they charge their guests. And a luxury resort, like the Coronado, should make sure that ANY two people out of ANY thousand find the experience of staying with them pleasant and worry free. That starts with the staff, and if nothing else the Coronado needs to work on that.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for your thorough review. We sincerely apologize for the mishaps you encountered and appreciate your understanding of these unusual maintenance issues. We strive to provide legendary service and it appears we fell short. Whenever a maintenance issue occurs, all staff is notified immediately so they may assist guests with any challenges and I’m sorry that was not your experience. We will share your feedback with the appropriate management so we may improve in this area and appreciate your valuable input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I decided to treat ourselves to a spur of the moment overnight to the Hotel Del. I booked the flight and hotel on Saturday and we flew in on Sunday. The hotel website stated that they have an airport shuttle, which you call when you arrive at the San Diego airport. Although it is not complimentary ($32.00) it is the same cost as a taxi. We were picked up within 20 minutes by a Lincoln Town car. Beats a taxi any day. Upon arrival, we were upgraded from a basic queen (no view) to a 6th floor Ocean Tower king with a "partial" ocean view. The room was spacious with a desk, two chairs, loveseat, and a balcony. Couldn't have felt more special and delighted. Get the bed and breakfast package. Breakfast is buffet at the Sheerwater restaurant (make reservations). So many choices and everything is exceptional, especially the salmon quiche. The Hotel is so full of history and you can just imagine what it would have been like to have stayed there 100 years ago. Great place for a romantic getaway, but also fun for the family. The location can not be beat. Only drawback to this trip was how busy it was. We ate off property for lunch and dinner (must go to Miguel's Cantina across the street). We would not go back between Christmas and New Year's again. It was as crowded as Disneyland! Other than that, don't pass up a visit to the Del. Totally worth the splurge!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LY214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your impromptu holiday visit to The Del and appreciate your recommendation. The resort can get quite busy during the summer and holidays—spring and fall are the best times to visit when the weather is beautiful and the crowds are gone. We hope to welcome you back then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

So totally romantic. So totally its own. Stick your nose in the air, hop a bus or take a taxi, but visit. If you really have airs, Stay! What a beautiful place. Its charming and sophisticated in the most casual way possible. It knows it grand and so what of it. Put a smile on your face.

Room Tip: dont take the cottages, make sure you are in the main building, and face the water.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisDCarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

We appreciate your enthusiastic endorsement and are pleased that you appreciate the historic charm and nuances of this iconic resort. We hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We went there to look at the haunted rooms. Its a great spot to tour, right on the beach. Great views from there. The bar was pretty decent as well.

Thank PrafulGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for your kind support and we’re pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Del. We hope your travels bring you back our way again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews