We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated ”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at The Del for 4 nights to attend a conference. The hotel is beautiful and has a stunning view of the ocean, and the meals provided during the conference were delicious. My family and I had a room in the Ocean Tower with a partial view of the ocean. In this room we were able to hear everything our neighbors did. I could hear their conversation clearly! And from the bathroom I could hear our other neighbor blow their nose every morning and take a long shower. It was as if I were in the room with them. Be sure to bring extra cash for meals as everything is overpriced at this hotel. The Del is beautiful and the history behind it is very interesting, but not worth paying full price for a room...unless, of course, you enjoy sleeping in a museum.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank TarynR385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and your dining experiences. We apologize if aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,884 - 2,890 of 5,487 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

I began staying at the "del" in 1964 with my family, and fell in love with it at that time. I've been back several times since, and with all the improvements they've made over the years I'm still impressed. This time I was there for business and had a suite that overlooked the beach - gorgeous! You have to stay in the old part (Victorian) to appreciate this hotel. It was the end of October (2013) and the weather was perfect. I can't wait to go back there.

Room Tip: I would definitely stay in the Victorian, where there is still so much charm, not the new buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and appreciate your loyalty. Spring and fall are the best times to visit the resort when the weather is beautiful and the crowds are gone. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Enjoyed our stay at The Del. It was a little like stepping back in time. They have a bell hop in the elevator and the lobby feels like old Hollywood. I would suggest looking at the photos. Its dark but nice. The rooms were a little average or below as far as luxury goes but it was clean. This is the hotel that 'Some Like it Hot' was filmed with Marilyn Monroe. They have a small gallery of the stars who have stayed there with pictures, some of them while they were at the Del. It was kind of cool. The ice cream shop and gift shop at the hotel were good as well. I had a nice pedicure at the Spa. San Diego in general was super fun to visit and had great weather. We stayed in January and enjoyed 72 degree weather for the week. We did the trolley tour of the city. A must to do! The trolley comes by every half hour so you can get off and on as you like and visit many different parts of the city. We visited Old Town, saw Balboa park, went the pier and did the Midway Carrier Museum tour, did some shopping at Seaport Village, saw the Gas Lamp quarter and toured some old submarines. One of the stops is the Del so you can get off and on there. I would visit again and stay on Coronado Island.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KristaWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Del and our unseasonably warm weather. The resort has a rich history and we’re pleased you’re now a part of it. We hope your travels bring you back our way again and to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Fantastic concept: Adjunct to the Del, Beach Village Cottages are two-story, 6-unit buildings; full glass wall and covered balcony directly adjacent to the extensive beach and the Pacific Ocean. My wife and I had a middle (1-bedroom) unit on the upper level; roomy layout; everything impeccable. The room was great.

The service was even better. My wife has mobility limitations so I researched the web to make sure she could be accommodated while I was off to work for part of the time. The Beach Village concierge, Kay, answered all of my questions and even arranged for an electric scooter, which my wife used extensively to 'stroll' the property. With Kay's input and assistance, there were no surprises, and every wish was achieved.

The initial on-site contact was with Cory at Valet. This smiling young man greeted us, gathered our bags, and walked us to our room - all in less than 5 minutes upon arrival. Cory then brought the scooter to the room and gave us a familiarization tour. Cory continued his customer service ethic during our 2-day stay, always providing quick personalized service.

We are old folks who appreciate quality and service. Beach Village was a totally satisfying visit. Don't let the overall size of the Del dissuade you. Beach Village is an enclave and a treasure. The upper level cottage room gave us an uninterrupted view of the beach and the Pacific Ocean. We must return.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms in the Cottages overlook the folks walking the beach walkway and give more privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DVM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim-BVDirector, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

It is always a pleasure hearing about how our staff helped create wonderful memories for our guests. Thank you for sharing your superb experience at Beach Village. The warmth and personalization demonstrated by Kay and Cory showcase our genuine approach to service. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed the week after Christmas and were extremely disappointed. The hotel is beautiful, but there is a general lack of caring by the staff for paying guests. I am not sure if they are understaffed or just not prepared. Examples include 45 minute waits for car in valet lot and two hour waits for food at pool area. Stay somewhere else. This is a resort in name only and a huge ripoff.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lori N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for your comments and we’re as disappointed as you are that you didn’t enjoy your stay. The resort is a magical place during the holidays but the resort does get quite busy. We apologize for the delays you experienced and will share your review with the appropriate management. We appreciate your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Nigel in the valet parking was so wonderful . If he had not come up and answered our questions, we probably would not have ended up eating in the shearwater. The food was outstanding and great service, but Nigel is the reason what a wonderful employee you have in him

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you so much for your recognition of Nigel! We will share your kind support with him and are pleased that you enjoyed your impromptu dining experience. We hope you return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My husband and I just celebrated our #34th there last week and it was lovely. We had a room overlooking the beach / pool area and it was very quiet. This hotel is just charming. There were a few hiccups with service in the restaurants on the property but the staff quickly acknowledged them and they were corrected. The brunch was very good! Very fresh. Loved it. Anything that was not quite right was definitely made right by a staff that I think actually cared. Every single time a member of the hotel staff either walked by or greeted us we were always made to feel welcome. That was very much appreciated by us. We plan to return. This place is a memory sweet memory maker! Go!

Room Tip: Splurge on view! It is wort it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLNelmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

We are delighted that you chose to celebrate your anniversary at The Del. The resort has a long history of romance and you’re now a part of that. We appreciate your recognition of our great staff and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,058 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £248 - £492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado, Curio Collection by Hilton is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing