We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing like it”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing like it”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

If you are looking for a romantic, old style hotel where you would expect to see top hats on the men and ladies wearing dresses and carrying a sun umbrella then this is your place! It has a charm like few other places in the country. Ive stayed in JW Marriotts, Waldorf Astoria hotels and similar and this is right up there with them. The rooms are all unique. It is situated on an remote part of the island and is a wonderful getaway for those looking to be pampered or to be treated
with extra care. It offers gardens, casual and fancy dining, shops, and a long panoramic view of the ocean. Be prepared to pay a high premium for everything however including the family campfires, food and bikes. Stay in the old part of the hotel for a romantic and nostalgic experience, while the towers are for those wanting a view with the modern layout, but the towers do not possess any of the charm that the Main Hotel has. Enjoy walking to shops and restaurants in Coronado as well.

Room Tip: Wanting a classic experience stay in the original hotel portion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your endorsement and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at The Del. It sounds like you were able to explore much of what the resort has to offer and we hope you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,450
    1,310
    699
    435
    294
See reviews for
1,604
1,506
117
925
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Interesting historic hotel but we had issues. We were not aware of a $25 resort charge until we arrived and cannot figure out why it is not included in the room charge since a guest cannot opt out even if not using any of the facilities. We were told it covered newspapers and tea and coffee as well. We ordered a newspaper for the room and were told one would be delivered. Fifteen minutes later I called for the paper and was told one would not be delivered and to pick one up at the front desk. The coffee in the room was not really drinkable. The parking charge was $37 per day which is way too high for a large surface parking lot in a suburban location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. While we are pleased to hear that you found the hotel interesting, we apologize that your entire stay did not meet your expectations. Again, we appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel is right on the beach and a pretty special place. We had a room overlooking the beach and the views were spectacular. We dined at 1500 Ocean restaurant both nights we were there and food was great with attentive staff. Plenty of different areas for food and drink throughout the day and lots of good shops. A ten minute walk takes you down the main shopping street of Coronado with lots of quirky shops and good eateries. Situated next to an airbase so helicopter/jet noise may pose a problem to some. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Beach rooms have a great view but be prepared for lots of aircraft noise from the nearby airbase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsNP712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Del and dining experience in our signature restaurant. As we strive to provide legendary service, we appreciate your recognition of our great staff. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We had wanted to stay at Hotel Del for over 20 years, ever since being stationed in the area in the 90's. While it may have been a luxury resort at that time, all the Del has going for it now is location. The rooms are extremely small and only average furnishings. The bed was hard as a rock. Any one walking and having a conversation in the hallway could be easily heard, it felt like there was no privacy. The bathroom and closet were about the same size, minuscule. There was maybe 6 inches at most between the tub and toilet. There is absolutely nothing special about these rooms to rate the nightly cost. We stayed at The Shelbourne in Dublin, Ireland which is at least 200 years older than the Dell at so much nicer and truly a luxury hotel.

We had several in room issues. The light in the bath were on a switch that when you entered they were supposed to turn on. This did not work, you had to turn them on yourself. Not a problem except that they randomly turned on at 4:12 am and 5:19 am, waking us. The tv also turned itself on both mornings at 7:30 am. The front desk manager apologized for this but perhaps they should check for a wiring short, it is sN old hotel. Additionally, the room was not cleaned even though we were out all day. When we called for service they came promptly but forgot to knock before entering which is definitely against policy. The front desk manager apologized profusely and said the head housekeeper would be contacting us...still waiting for that to happen which really doesn't matter but goes to the fact the Del just isn't the luxury establishment it states itself to be.

The food at the Del is good but again, nothing spectacular. The best we had was at Eno the wine bar. Very good service and wine suggestions (even though the concierge told us Eno was closed).

The concierge gave us incorrect information concerning two on property restaurants. I expected that they would at least know their property's correct information.

The grounds are breathtaking as is the location. At least they have these things going for them. Save your money and stay elsewhere and visit the Del for a stroll through the grounds and beach only.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are delighted you enjoyed our historic grounds and ocean views and apologize for the service issues you encountered during your stay. We like to think we have something for everyone--from the historic charm of the 126-year old Victorian building, to the more spacious and contemporary Ocean Towers and California Cabanas to the luxury cottages and villas at Beach Village. We appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We wewre there for a business meeting - about 150 total people. The hotel put great events for us on the Beach and on the lawn. The food was great at both outside events. The room was very nice despite the age of the property. Bed was King and very comfortable, very clean rooms. Pool side service was excellant - great drink ideas from the girls there. The breakfast buffet was expensive vs local places but great selection and quality. We both loved the place - very romantic.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToonTownFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others online. We appreciate your comments regarding our hotel and our conference facilities. We hope to welcome you back again soon, whether it be for business again or leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, CA
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We finally fulfilled a dream to stay at the "Del" for thanksgiving and it was up to its best. The food, the drinks and ambiance!! Complete with a ice skating rink at the beach. No weak spots. Just don't stay in the tower, if I wanted to stay at Howard Johnson's I would have.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building!! The only way to go, central to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr.DB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We are delighted that you chose to celebrate the holidays at The Del. It's a magical time at the resort and we are glad you enjoyed our famous ice skating rink, dining services and Victorian-style ambiance. We hope a holiday visit becomes an annual tradition for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed for the President's weekend holiday, and rather wished we hadn't. This is an iconic hotel and a huge tourist attraction. As a consequence it is not the place to stay for a retreat away from it all. The hotel is huge but has no lounge or seating area for residents other than the bar which is also open to the public, and so overcrowded. This would not matter except that as the rooms are small (it is an old hotel) there is nowhere to sit in the room except on the bed which is not great. Sunday brunch was a shocking price and very overhyped, better to go elsewhere. We booked a table but still had to stand and queue for half and hour in the lobby
The biggest shocker is the $35 obligatory daily parking fee which with the resort charge of $50 leaves a bad taste. Why not be honest and charge an inclusive room rate?

Room Tip: The rooms with two double beds have room for nothing else, you have been warned!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luxuryloafers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your comments about your experience at The Del. We apologize that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. Our daily resort charge is $28 per day and includes Wi-Fi, in-room coffee, tea and bottled water, Fitness Center access and classes, daily newspapers, discounted attraction tickets and much more. We appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
12.9 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
2.0 mi away
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
0.2 mi away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
289 reviews
4.3 mi away
Loews Coronado Bay Resort
1.2 mi away
Coronado Island Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Property: Hotel del Coronado
Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado, Curio Collection by Hilton is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing