We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful stay!”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Wayne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A beautiful stay!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I was fortunate enough to stay at the Hotel Del because my husband had a work awards trip that brought us here. I found the hotel to beautiful...old yes, but with charm. Upon check in we were upgraded to a small suite overlooking the ocean...We had an amazing view, room was very clean and nice.
The beach looked beautiful but we could not take advantage of it, since it never really got above 68 degrees sadly. The pool area was fine, nothing overly impressive. The Sun Deck bar/restaurant was really great...outdoors looking over ocean. We enjoyed hanging out there especially in the late afternoon when it was a bit warmer.
The dinners were organized events through my husband's company, the food overall I was say was pretty good!
The breakfast buffet they offer in the morning is impressive. you can also grab a starbucks coffee at the little bakery they have onsite.
We really enjoyed our stay there, everyone was friendly and helpful and i would definitely go back! Just when it's a little warmer!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your kind support and we are pleased that you enjoyed your business trip to The Del. You must have just missed the unseasonably warm weather we experienced in early May when it reached 90 degrees on the coast. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,383
    1,275
    671
    409
    276
See reviews for
1,525
1,459
115
899
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Was so hopeful and exceited to be spending a Holiday Weekend here....turned into a cut short, stressful weekend.
This fine hotel picked this time of year to clean carpets over a Holiday weekend...Large hoses all over the hallways and carpeting in rooms wet. The hoses were not neatly placed to one side, you had to walk over them every few feet. Our stroller kept getting caught, waking up our toddler.

We were not told that the pool area was under construction. Impossible to get to the pool without taking stairs....no stroller access. While at the pool, there was a worker spraying chemicals on gum spots and scraping it off...in front of us....under people on lounge chairs and they sprayed the chemical right next to my daughter feeding the baby......ah....lovely.....Really? Really? on a Saturday a holiday weekend...your scraping gum off the pool area?????

There was only one girl to service the pool area......over heard an unhappy quest who had waited over an hour for food....and had to leave. Food was pre-packaged....not fresh....


Most the service people informed us that they were only on premise for a few days....one guy tried to get us to the pool...he couldn't get us there. Just left us....

Lines for food or restaurants were long and forget about getting coffee from the cafe.
Place just seemed unorganized and staff seemed inexperienced.

Manager seems to be MIA, to this day have never heard from the management.

When I booked services before arrival, the conserage applied the wrong date, I had to call back and have the date corrected.

On the plus side? The hotel is charming, and the rooms we had while small were clean and nice...lacking any extra rolls of toilet paper however. ( wet carpet)

I believe this Hotel has the potential to be what I truly expected. This was a special get together for my girls and I . We traveled a far distance to come here. We left early, Another Hotel accommodated us last minute. When they heard of our horror story we were greeted with treats for the little ones and wine for the grownups. I'm happy to say our weekend ended better than it began.

Room Tip: Make sure you have an updated room and ask if there are any issues with the hotel, like short staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deb r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. While we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room, we apologize that your entire stay did not exceed your expectations and for the service issues you encountered. What you experienced was the exception and not the rule. We will be sure to share your feedback with our team to ensure that this type of experience is not repeated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
238 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed there for my husband's business meeting, and the first room we were assigned was small, noisy and musty. We asked for a new room, and were given one with a bit of an ocean view, but it was much nicer and more recently renovated. It had a balcony (small), but the room was very clean, and the grounds are amazing. The spa is wonderful if you have a chance to use it, and the fitness classes are a really nice addition too. I took the Super Spin which combines weights with spinning, and it was a tough workout. The hot tubs don't always work, and the one by the main pool is cold. The food is also very pricey throughout the resort, but there is great food less than a 5 minute walk away.

Room Tip: As for the California Cabanas. The Victorian building is really old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
We are pleased that we were able to place you in more suitable accommodations and that you enjoyed the resort. We like to think that we have something for everyone—from the historic charm of the 126-year old Victorian building to the more contemporary and spacious Ocean Towers and California Cabanas to the luxury villas and cottages at Beach Village. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

What a ripoff. Overpriced and rude. The two times we used the hotel to buy tickets to Lego land and San Diego zoo, we had to correct an error in the hotel's favor. It seemed a bit of a coincidence. I also had to correct for valet parking. Guest parking is only $37 a night (no in and out privileges) and valet is only $47 a night. The Del charged me for valet. Just another little money grab. Be prepared to protect your wallet from the moment you enter the property until you leave and enjoy the $13 hot dogs with the bus loads of people who show up every day to jam the public areas.

I can not recommend this place to anyone and feel good about it. We are the Del, and you are privileged to have us rip you off! Now go enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChicagoWolfgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your experience. I understand your level of disappointment and apologize for the billing mistakes that were made. We strive to provide exceptional service and memorable experiences for all of our guests and it appears we fell short. We value your perspective and appreciate you taking the time to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Great location. We went here for a weekend get away and it's location and ambience was fantastic. We had room with ocean view that was a very large in size. I almost felt like the movie "somewhere in time". Because the age of the hotel, it was a nice change from the contemporary hotels stay. Only complaint is that it was very expensive! It was nice walking the grounds

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katlinshreveport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your weekend at The Del and appreciate its historic ambiance. The Del was the setting of Richard Matheson’s book “Bid Time Return” which was later turned into the 1980 movie “Somewhere in Time.” We hope your travels bring you back our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The place is awesome!! Along the best beach in the country!! I spent five years stationed on the island. Used to eat lunch at the outside restaurant along the beach all the time. The food is first rate. It is soothing to listen to the ocean and watch the waves dining out on the deck.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your kind support! We appreciate your endorsement and loyalty and hope to welcome you back again for another terrific meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at Hotel del Coronado for a work trip. The rooms are very nice and my particular room had a great view of the beach. The grounds of the hotel are very well maintained and immaculate. You have very easy beach access from the hotel. The hotel is well... obviously on Coronado Island which is a quick trip from San Diego Int'l Airport. Room service was great. Overall service was great! Make sure to watch their channel and learn more about why they say some of the rooms might be haunted... pretty neat stuff.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justadude1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Del and our beachfront location. We appreciate your recognition of our exceptional staff and hope to welcome you back again, be it for business again or leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Property: Hotel del Coronado
Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing