We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Style with a friendly face”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Old World Style with a friendly face”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Del Coronado June, 2013. I was not quite sure what the hotel would be like so I read some reviews on tripadvisor.ca. These were helpful and somewhat concerning. I was sure that the Hotel was older then most and would have some great character. I was not disappointed, the hotel was an old world style hotel. It had great character and real charm that is hard to find in many hotels these days. I did find that it was a friendly place with almost all of the staff very helpful and usually greeting me with a smile. The two men operating the elevator were great and very, very friendly. While we didn't get a chance to eat at the buffet, I heard that it was great. We did eat breakfast that was served on the spacious patio area and it was great. Fresh fruit and fresh breads with the usual eggs, bacon, sausage and hash browns. I would recommend this hotel to any who are looking for a hotel with more charm then features. The room was comfortable and spacious although not up to date. I think that it may have been better to have retained some of the older charm instead of trying to combine old and new.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
And since your visit, our Sheerwater buffet has been completely revamped - in fact, the entire restaurant has had a facelift! New flooring, new lighting, new decor overall...a compliment to our new buffet breakfast! It was good before...to coin a phrase "it is now the best breakfast in all of San Diego" - of course, we're somewhat biased but the feedback we've been receiving is tremendously positive. It has been a year since your visit...seems to me it is time to come check us out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,406
    1,287
    683
    412
    279
See reviews for
1,548
1,479
116
904
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went to the Del on a last minute family vacation and loved everything about it, the staff was great, the hotel was perfect and we loved the history and nostalgia. The location is hard to beat with the beach and the close walk to all the shops and restaurants. We would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OBXTKN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
And we would welcome you and your family back with open arms! That you would come back is the very best compliment - thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I love the grand old entry and lobby of this hotel. It is a wonderful reminder of the quality and interesting architecture of the time. That should always be preserved. However, the rest of the place needs be demolished and rebuilt. They have attempted many makeovers with varying degrees of success. They are nothing more than resurfacing old finishes, and does nothing to take away the fact that the rooms are tiny and smell like an old folks home. They will never do this because they have the best location on the best beach, and the rooms are filled at the top of the price point leaving no incentive to spend a bunch of capital to redo it into something truly grand.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank todd g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback! Since your stay at the Hotel del Coronado in September, 2013, so many things have changed and been enhanced! We're terribly sorry you haven't had a recent opportunity to experience the new Del!

We've completed the renovation of our Victorian Building lobby, refinishing all the beautiful woodwork - we stripped all the walls of their finishes, repaired and replaced wood floooring, replaced the carpeting, renovated the front desk, added a new seating area, relocated our concierge team and changed the lighting throughout. The chandelier was completely refurbished and is truly a stunning centerpiece. Our lobby is lighter and brighter!

The room product at The Del is unique indeed as each room in our Victorian Building is different - "they just don't build 'em like this anymore!" Some rooms are larger, some rooms are smaller, some are ocean front, some overlook the resort grounds and some are tucked into the nooks and crannies of our beloved Victorian Building - each room is unique in presentation and lovingly prepared by our housekeeping team. We work diligently to provide the best possible room product, reflective of the history and charm of Hotel del Coronado.

We do hope you'll give us another look!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralville, Iowa
Level Contributor
151 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Del Coronado is the most luxurious hotel where I have ever stayed. From the front desk to every person one meets, it is friendly and bends over backwards to see that your stay is the best.
Even all the hotel shops are refreshing in that you are greeted with a friendly greeting upon entering, the prices are the same as one would find in a nice shopping mall (not over-priced) and
good, quality merchandise of all kinds. The food, staff, service is just top notch and should be for the price. A "once in a lifetime" experience for sure! The view, the beach everything are amazing.

Room Tip: The back side of the hotel (the "old" rooms) face the ocean. They are extremely spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ntune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
157 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Hotel "Del" as it's known is like stepping back in time but with all the modern day comforts and amenities. It is without a doubt my favorite place to stay or even just visit. I cannot be in San Diego without at least a quick trip for a drink and to "drink in" the view, the sunset and atmosphere. From the lobby to the Crown Room to the outside bar you cannot got wrong. It's like staying in a museum with 5 star amenities! It's expensive but worth it for that special anniversary, birthday, etc. you have to go!

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
You're very kind, thank you! We work diligently to balance modern amenities with the history and charm of The Del. Whether visiting for a cocktail or an overnight stay, we appreciate you being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiggermyron
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014


What an amazing place! Beauty, activities, first class service, wonderful rooms, excellent food, fantastic location...all on the Pacific coast. This is a true 5 star hotel. They accommodated all of our requests and we had some challenging ones! From the valet to the front desk staff to the young ladies at the fitness club who helped our daughter with her scavenger hunt clue, these are the nicest staff ever. The eateries, bars and shopping are a destination unto themselves. Don't miss Sunday brunch in the Crown Room...it's world class dining! Rooms are beautiful, spotless and well appointed. And the beach is paradise!!! Cannot wait to come back to The Del.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggermyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you so much! It is reassuring to hear that members of our team accommodated your requests - we're collectively focused on creating lifelong memories for our guests and are delighted you had such a positive experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel del Coronado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Classic and beautiful hotel! Rich in history and elegant decor. Rooms are contemporary and very comfortable. Staff are friendly and courteous. Perfect location with ample activities for kids! Great beach access, a full spa, and a beautiful pool. A true gem!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom2woo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for being our guest and thank you for your lovely review of The Del!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,153 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Property: Hotel del Coronado
Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing