We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but secluded”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a great place if you can afford all the extra charges ($35 for parking, $25 for use of the hotel on top of the 10% resort fee/daily). It sits on the beach and has some great restaurants which makes it a costly but fun getaway.

If you just need a hotel to stay I think there are better places. There are no amenities in the room (i.e. coffee maker, bathroom accessories besides shampoo and lotion) and the bed is subpar for the room price. They do not even have pillow top mattress covers.

Only breakfast we could find is the buffet for $30/pp. I just don't eat a huge breakfast and the alternative is their coffee and pastries which are $$$. Room service has a $5 delivery fee on top of the gratuity fees on top of the escalated food prices.

Stayed in the older part of the hotel and unfortunately you hear everything going on near your room.

The balcony's were huge each one has 2 chairs and a tiny table that seem to be lost in the amount of space you have. Almost feels like they need a potted plant or small settee of some sort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1whoscraps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We're very curious in which room you stayed with us as all of our accommodations include Keurig coffee makers featuring Starbuck's coffee and decaf as well as tea. As well, two bottles of water are provided on a daily basis. We currently provide shampoo, conditioner, body wash and body lotion; additional bath amenities are being evaluated to enhance our overall package. We ask for additional information so we can further investigate and follow-up with our Housekeeping team - please reach out to us at executiveoffice@hoteldel.com - we sincerely appreciate the opportunity to follow-up on your concerns. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,711 - 2,717 of 5,490 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed for a couple of days over Memorial Day weekend. The resort is large and can get crowded, but we enjoyed our stay thoroughly. We were given a nice room in the newer tall building and we were pleasantly surprised by a very roomy comfortable space. Bathroom was also nicer with marble floors, countertops, and shower.
We spent a bit of I time at the adult pool here but also some time at the main pool which was much busier and always had lots of kids. Bar service by the pool was fast and friendly.
Room service breakfast was delicious but overpriced. We also had dinner and cocktails at the outdoor bar overlooking the sunset which was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

We appreciate your kind comments! Memorial Day weekend kicks off summer at the beach! We welcome a number of families, couples and individual travellers, all enjoying a summer beach vacation at The Del - our Boardwalk Pool is designated an adults-only pool, a respite from the activity at our main pool, which families thoroughly enjoy. Our Ocean Towers guestrooms were refreshed earlier this year - we're delighted you found the accommodations comfortable and thank you, sincerely, for being our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I had always wanted to stay at this hotel, and it lived up to my expectations!! It is beautiful!! The rooms are a little on the small side, but that is probably because of the type of room we booked. The concierge was fantastic!! I had booked a flight home leaving from Santa Anna airport near Los Angeles instead of from San Diego - and we needed transportation to the John Wayne airport. He arranged a driver and a town car to take us - the driver was like a tour guide - told us so much info about the area along the way!! We had a great stay here!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nellie195105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you so much! We collectively celebrate when one of our guests has a wonderful experience. We'll make sure our concierge team sees your review - they'll be delighted. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Del!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Beautiful hotel and grounds with fantastic beach. The pool and restaurants also were clean, enjoyable and added to the stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable although not as top notch as one might expect for the price. While they were very nice, I would say they were a step below most luxury hotels I have seen. Here you definitely are paying more for the location, the grounds and the beauty of the hotel and less for the room itself. Nevertheless, a great and very fun stay that everyone enjoys.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M8248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you. We sincerely appreciate your kind feedback. And, we're currently reviewing our in-room amenities, evaluating potential upgrades for future enhancements. We're delighted you had fun during your stay at The Del!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We went over to Coronado to see the historic hotel. We had drinks on the boardwalk, went down to the beach to stick our feet in the water, more drinks at a cafe closer to the hotel, shopped at the signature shop and also in their little "mini-mall". We also took a small tour thru the lobby and in the grounds.

The service at EVERY stop was exemplary . When shopping one of the clerks even went so far as to go to different shops to help us look at everything the property had to offer in the category we were searching for.

There were a lot of people there. I'm thinking more to come later in the season. In any case, the drink service was wonderful, the servers friendly and engaging.

The hotel lobby is a perfect example of a historic structure lovingly restored. We didn't have the option of seeing the whole property since we didn't stay at the hotel, but what we did see is gorgeous! The hotel common areas lush with plants and blooms of every variety.

Thinking our future holds visit to the hotel to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank 124SandyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thanks for visiting - we look forward to your stay with us at the Hotel del Coronado!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Attentive service, great location, would definitely visit again , shops have unique clothing , easy walk to town with many stores and restaurants , great seafood raw bar dish for $40. Wonderful adult pool along with Hugh family pool

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Yes, we do have terrific shops - there are times I can simply sign over my paycheck to cover the shopping I've done in our shops! We're really lucky to have a terrific retail/buying team...they collectively have tremendous talent and routinely buy for our retail outlets things I absolutely love! Glad you enjoyed your experience at The Del. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have stayed here twice now and LOVED every minute of it. Great staff and an amazing atmosphere. I loved how close it was to the beach and everything it had to offer. I would defiantly stay here again when I return to Coronado.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaigeCO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

YEAH! Thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel del Coronado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,058 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £243 - £502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado, Curio Collection by Hilton is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing