We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhelpful front desk staff”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I checked out of this hotel at 5:30 a.m. this past Saturday morning. I needed to get to the airport for a 7 a.m. flight.
when I walked out the front door there were no valet attendants on duty, in fact their booth was closed. I went back to the desk to ask them to call a taxi cab for me. The attendant was quite rude and said that I should have made arrangements the previous evening and that all taxis in Coronado were booked for the day!
this is absurd. a hotel of this standing not having transportation options to get guests to the airport for early morning flights.

Also, there were screaming kids running up and down the halls at all hours of the day and night.
when I called the desk at 1 a.m. to ask that they do something about this, their reply was "what are we supposed to do?"

obviously very poor management of this property.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ArlingtonVAKangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akeem A, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

I offer our sincerest apologies for what sounds like a disappointing experience, particularly in regards to the service you requested from members of our team. Rest assured, our guests’ overall comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost importance to us, and we’re always willing to go the extra mile to improve a stay. I’m very sorry that your experience was not consistent with that standard.
I hope you’ll give us another chance to earn back your trust.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,798 - 2,804 of 5,626 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Everyone on the hotel staff was friendly and very efficient. Extremely over priced, however, in the on property restaurants. I believe the hotel needs to for warn guests that when a wedding occurs, the resort caters to the wedding party ONLY! We were pushed aside so the "bridal party" could have a moment:( also, most of the guests were extremely snotty and felt they needed extra attention. I also did not agree with the hotel having certain areas reserved for higher paying customers. I've always been a firm believer of everyone is equal. Overall, I'm rating my stay a 4 because I stayed Tuesday-Sunday and the week days were AMAZING. I would NOT recommend staying on a weekend....WAY OVER CROWDED DUE TO WEDDINGS AND WEEKENDS!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelsaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your review of the Hotel del Coronado - we sincerely appreciate your feedback! We certainly never intend to push any guest out of the way and are terribly sorry you received this impression. The Del is a very popular wedding destination - we work diligently to balance every area of our operation so everyone has a positive experience. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel del Coronado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Absolutely amazing Hotel with history that abounds. The beach is Spectacular and the Beach Service was the best I have ever received, bar none...Absolutely Stunning Beach and the beach area was massive. There were tons of people there, but big enough that I felt like I had my own little private piece of the beach. Chair Service with attentive wait staff and menu available for most anything you could desire. it was a fabulous visit and would return again and again!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenHurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review! We launched Del Beach in May and have received very positive feedback from guests - we're delighted you had a terrific experience and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel del Coronado!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We come to the Del every year summer. This has been a family tradition for the last five years. I love the history of this place. It is gorgeous! You can walk out to the beach, or take a stroll off the property for fun shopping. The elevator man is a family favorite with our family. I love the Del! I look forward to our week here every summer. Yes, it is expensive, but so is Maui or Hawaii (which are other great hotels with wonderful beaches comparable to the Del). The customer service here is also wonderful. Every year we have had a wonderful experience, and I have stayed at lots of places in my life. Whenever I am at a hotel that is less than great customer service, I have to remind myself that it's not the Del or the Wailea Princess. Lol. The set the bar on customer service.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Anon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for your endorsement of The Del! We sincerely appreciate your loyalty and appreciate you being our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here as weekend get away. We opted for a room with a balcony and a partial ocean view. It was amazing. We had planned to eat on the island for dinner but opted to eat on property and the food was wonderful and the service was spot on. We spent time on the beach and at the outdoor bar. We explored the hotel and grounds and had a wonderful time exploring the rich history of this landmark hotel.

Room Tip: Worth the splurge for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind endorsement. And, since your stay in July, 2013, so many upgrades and enhancements have been completed. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel del Coronado!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The above review is my boyfriend's post as he doesn't have a yelp account. But yeah the trip to this hotel pretty much sucked because of this major inconvenience. And as far as I'm concerns this hotel has done nothing to rectify the situation. I would NEVER stay here again. I don't care how popular, historical, and big your company is. You should never make your customers feel like you could care less how they feel or are inconvenienced. That is exactly how they've made us feel. I NEVER write reviews but for this I had too. It's been a month and he is still getting the run-around from them. Had to pay for his own rental that day. What if we didn't have the money for that? The car got stolen on their watch. The very least they could have done was paid for our rental to get back home. Never stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We are terribly sorry for the incident that occurred during your stay with us. Our Director of Loss Prevention is working diligently to make amends for the unfortunate situation. We're working with our insurance company for the best possible outcome. Again, we extend sincere apologies for the overall experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the del multiple times , the best beach in the country , best hotel and our kids love it there .
Restaurants in the area and hotel are great , lots of things to do for kids and great weather .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Imran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you so much! We're delighted you and your family enjoy The Del and Coronado. We sincerely appreciate you being our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,120 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,101 reviews
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 17 in Coronado
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £266 - £665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado, Curio Collection by Hilton is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing