We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay but...........”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We spent 3 nights here as part of our honeymoon tour and the hotel is truly beautiful. I'm going to mention the two negatives first which are kind of small but important, After that is is all good.

I found the music way too loud around the pool and the restaurant overlooking the pool. Who wants to listen to heavy rock and the such in the middle of the day in a beautiful location?? you couldn't hear yourself talking!! I asked if it could be turned down and the waiter said unfortunately it couldn't be and that they were having problems with it but other people had complained also.

We decided to try the beach for a less noisy environment but they wanted $60 for two beds and a umbrella. I'm sorry but that is just a complete rip of when you are paying $350 a night for a room the least it can include is a sun bed on the beach!! Really !! I don't mind paying for quality but I do not like being taken advantage of !!

Now to the good bits, our room was in the main building and beautiful we were very impressed with the décor and it was lovely and clean and had a wonderful large balcony overlooking the inner courtyard, it was a very pleasant surprise as we were not expecting much from the room.

We loved the drinks, food and ambience in Babcock and Storey Bar, the Hawaiian singer on one night was amazing and there was a band on the first night we got there which was good fun also.

This hotel is really beautiful and has a lovely feel about it. Also you must try the ice cream parlour it it the most amazing ice cream I have ever tried. We shared a cornet with a scoop of coconut and a scoop of peanut butter. Even my husband said it was to die for and he doesn't really eat ice cream. Shops very reasonable and some lovely jewellery and clothes.

We will definitely return to this piece of beautifully preserved history. I just hope they have got over their identity crisis by then and sorted out the music in the day time to match the rest of the surroundings.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mccauleygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback! We're delighted that overall you enjoyed your experience at the Hotel del Coronado and will certainly share your survey with our team.

After reading your survey, I walked up to our Sun Deck Bar and Grill to check on the music - it appears we've addressed the deficiency, and the music volume is far more reasonable than you describe. We subscribe to Pandora music service and sometimes the music selection is less-than-desirable for the atmosphere we're creating - we're routinely giving a "thumbs down" to music that is more hard core that we prefer. We're very sorry for the overall impact the music had on your experience.

We sincerely appreciate you being our guest and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel del Coronado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,544 - 2,550 of 5,371 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Seems obvious but for $800 a night, I expected a lot more, honestly. Mold in the shower, fingernail clippings on the carpet (eww), broken furniture, marks on the (peeling) wallpaper, dusty. Thin walls.

Room Tip: Don't spend much time in it? Rest of the property, staff and amenities are super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Worth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akeem A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

We’re terribly sorry to read your review of your recent stay with us and extend our sincere apologies for the condition of your guestroom. Any lapses in cleanliness or overall quality are unacceptable; we’ve inspected the room you occupied and have addressed the deficiencies with our housekeeping team.

As well, we have the UniFocus customer survey you completed, which reflects your telephone number – our Director of Rooms will be reaching out to you to make amends for the deficiencies you described in the survey. Again, we are very sorry – we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back so we may prove that your recent experience was the exception and not the rule at the Hotel del Coronado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Overall the family vacation was great. We had a junior oceanfront suite with a big covered patio. Great for relaxing and listening to the ocean. We have stayed at The Del many times and the only way we can afford it (besides splitting the bill with the sister) was the hotel offers, esp the 5 for 3. Sadly this promotion has been discontinued. The food was great, don't miss ENO for superb pizza and meatball appetizer. Great service at Sheerwater and the Babacock bar. SKIP the Sheerwater breakfast buffet, this buffet still remains overpriced for what you get. The food stations and the floor were a mess with food spills. I just don't want to eat that much food every morning. Tip-go to Albertsons (by the ferry landing) or VON's and get breakfast food, bagels, fruit, cereal and milk, There is a refrigerator in the room (tip-keep the cabinet doors open or it will overheat the refrigerator). All in all it was a very relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Oceanfront in the Victorian building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 1234Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback - we sincerely appreciate your review of The Del! We're delighted you enjoyed your ENO experience - our pizza is receiving rave reviews! Coupled with a fine glass of wine [or two!], a perfect afternoon delight!

Your comments on our Sheerwater breakfast buffet are concerning, especially the cleanliness feedback - I've forwarded your TripAdvisor survey to our Restaurant Manager for monitoring.

We're glad your overall stay was relaxing and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel del Coronado!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel was by far the most dog friendly we have ever been too. From the staff, surroundings, rooms, restaurants, the Del was by far the best! There were so many places our Buddy could go, he was the center of attention the majority of the time!

Room Tip: The rooms were great for doggies, they are on the ground floor and they each have a patio with a dog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you so much! We sincerely appreciate your endorsement!

Ever since we rolled out 'Del Dogs...and Cats Too!' we've found that our furry guests often steal the show! We' so happy Buddy had a great experience! The first-floor California Cabanas guestrooms were selected as pet-friendly accommodations because of the patios and proximity to the lawn - your comment confirms we selected the right rooms!

Thank you for being our guest - we look forward to welcoming you [and Buddy, of course!] back to the Hotel del Coronado!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

the hotel del is like a cruise ship: happy attitudes to be sure, but in addition there are large crowds, mediocre food/customer service, and the entire place is a bit worn around the edges.

i have an ongoing project in coronado and so i brought my whole team to stay a week at the del and arrived with high hopes. on the first night, i was given a second floor room overlooking a parking lot. i asked to be moved, and was taken to a beachfront room-which seemed like it could be an improvement but in fact was worse. when i got home from work that night, there was a convention party in full swing on the beach-complete with MC, a beach boys cover band, and drunken partygoers dancing and yelling right outside my window. sort of like a saturday night live skit.

it took almost two hours for the hotel to find me yet another room, and i had to carry my own bags-but finally they set me up at their adjacent property, called the beach village. a massive improvement! the beach village is much higher end, with tasteful rooms and good service. i enjoyed my stay there but unfortunately, the whole thing was too little, too late.

i should mention that when i called the hotel to cancel a subsequent reservation, they were gracious and listened to my story and encouraged me to come back.

Room Tip: skip the hotel del and go straight to the beach village
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank burnhamdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akeem A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to share your review, however I’m troubled that your stay left you disappointed overall. We understand that guests come to Hotel Del Coronado to relax and needing to move rooms is certainly not conducive with a relaxing getaway. While it sounds like our staff was able to straighten out the issue, we apologize that we did not get it right the first time. If you’d like to contact us and discuss your stay in more detail, we’d welcome the opportunity to earn back your trust.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Absolutely loved spending our days on the beach drinking cocktails and enjoying the ocean. We love that the resort is family friendly but also offers luxury and relaxation you look for while on vacation. Excellent customer service! Patrick (Del Beach) took amazing care of us and made sure we had everything we needed. Had an amazing time and already looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madelineleehy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you so much! We're absolutely delighted you loved spending your day at the beach. Del Beach launched this year, and the feedback we've received has been tremendously positive! We'll certainly share your comments with the Boucher Brothers [the operators of Del Beach] - they'll be delighted and will no doubt recognize Patrick for delivering an amazing beach experience. That you're looking forward to coming back is the best compliment - we're honored!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My family had a relaxing and comfortable leisure stay at the Del. The room price spoke of the beautiful location and experience. Booked with Del Perks package with additional S'mores on the beach... Great customer service to the entire hotel staff, restaurant and to the parking attendant... Can't ask for anything more. We are definitely coming back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Yeah! Thank you so much. We're delighted you enjoyed your experience at The Del. The best compliment is your intent to return. We sincerely appreciate you being our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
302 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £265 - £430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado, Curio Collection by Hilton is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing