We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Family Vacation Year after Year”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Family Vacation Year after Year”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We love this vacation destination. We visit year after year and are never disappointed. The service is unbelievable. If you have any problem, the staff will immediately offer to fix the situation and offer to compensate if necessary.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words - our goal is to provide our guests with memories they'll take with them for years to come. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Del.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,381
    1,273
    671
    409
    276
See reviews for
1,525
1,456
114
899
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a wonderful 2-night stay at the Hotel Del. We used the Del Perks package. Our room in Ocean Towers was large, elegant, quiet, and very comfortable, and they had champagne waiting for us upon arrival (we were celebrating our anniversary). All the people we encountered -- at check in, in the restaurants, and at the pool -- were friendly and helpful. We had wonderful meals at 1500 Ocean, Sheerwater, the MooTime Creamery (love that they have this!) and the Crown Room (for Sunday Brunch). The entire experience was excellent and we can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: We really liked Ocean Towers. It is close to the adult pool and the beach, and the walk to the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMM1156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you! We're delighted you selected the Hotel del Coronado for your anniversary celebration. Congratulations!

True, you cannot beat our Ocean Towers accommodations - proximity to our Boardwalk Pool and Coronado Beach is perfect! We're delighted you loved your experience and the various dining options at The Del - we can't wait for you to come back either!

Thank you for being our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixx
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Even though I grew up in SD, staying at the Del makes coming home fun and amazing. I will stay there every time I go back. The cabanas were great, smores, everyone was super nice, no complaints from me!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melissa Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for your endorsement! We're delighted that a stay at The Del is synonymous with coming home. We look forward to welcoming you back time and time again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We spent 3 nights here as part of our honeymoon tour and the hotel is truly beautiful. I'm going to mention the two negatives first which are kind of small but important, After that is is all good.

I found the music way too loud around the pool and the restaurant overlooking the pool. Who wants to listen to heavy rock and the such in the middle of the day in a beautiful location?? you couldn't hear yourself talking!! I asked if it could be turned down and the waiter said unfortunately it couldn't be and that they were having problems with it but other people had complained also.

We decided to try the beach for a less noisy environment but they wanted $60 for two beds and a umbrella. I'm sorry but that is just a complete rip of when you are paying $350 a night for a room the least it can include is a sun bed on the beach!! Really !! I don't mind paying for quality but I do not like being taken advantage of !!

Now to the good bits, our room was in the main building and beautiful we were very impressed with the décor and it was lovely and clean and had a wonderful large balcony overlooking the inner courtyard, it was a very pleasant surprise as we were not expecting much from the room.

We loved the drinks, food and ambience in Babcock and Storey Bar, the Hawaiian singer on one night was amazing and there was a band on the first night we got there which was good fun also.

This hotel is really beautiful and has a lovely feel about it. Also you must try the ice cream parlour it it the most amazing ice cream I have ever tried. We shared a cornet with a scoop of coconut and a scoop of peanut butter. Even my husband said it was to die for and he doesn't really eat ice cream. Shops very reasonable and some lovely jewellery and clothes.

We will definitely return to this piece of beautifully preserved history. I just hope they have got over their identity crisis by then and sorted out the music in the day time to match the rest of the surroundings.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mccauleygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback! We're delighted that overall you enjoyed your experience at the Hotel del Coronado and will certainly share your survey with our team.

After reading your survey, I walked up to our Sun Deck Bar and Grill to check on the music - it appears we've addressed the deficiency, and the music volume is far more reasonable than you describe. We subscribe to Pandora music service and sometimes the music selection is less-than-desirable for the atmosphere we're creating - we're routinely giving a "thumbs down" to music that is more hard core that we prefer. We're very sorry for the overall impact the music had on your experience.

We sincerely appreciate you being our guest and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel del Coronado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Seems obvious but for $800 a night, I expected a lot more, honestly. Mold in the shower, fingernail clippings on the carpet (eww), broken furniture, marks on the (peeling) wallpaper, dusty. Thin walls.

Room Tip: Don't spend much time in it? Rest of the property, staff and amenities are super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Worth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akeem A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We’re terribly sorry to read your review of your recent stay with us and extend our sincere apologies for the condition of your guestroom. Any lapses in cleanliness or overall quality are unacceptable; we’ve inspected the room you occupied and have addressed the deficiencies with our housekeeping team.

As well, we have the UniFocus customer survey you completed, which reflects your telephone number – our Director of Rooms will be reaching out to you to make amends for the deficiencies you described in the survey. Again, we are very sorry – we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back so we may prove that your recent experience was the exception and not the rule at the Hotel del Coronado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Overall the family vacation was great. We had a junior oceanfront suite with a big covered patio. Great for relaxing and listening to the ocean. We have stayed at The Del many times and the only way we can afford it (besides splitting the bill with the sister) was the hotel offers, esp the 5 for 3. Sadly this promotion has been discontinued. The food was great, don't miss ENO for superb pizza and meatball appetizer. Great service at Sheerwater and the Babacock bar. SKIP the Sheerwater breakfast buffet, this buffet still remains overpriced for what you get. The food stations and the floor were a mess with food spills. I just don't want to eat that much food every morning. Tip-go to Albertsons (by the ferry landing) or VON's and get breakfast food, bagels, fruit, cereal and milk, There is a refrigerator in the room (tip-keep the cabinet doors open or it will overheat the refrigerator). All in all it was a very relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Oceanfront in the Victorian building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 1234Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback - we sincerely appreciate your review of The Del! We're delighted you enjoyed your ENO experience - our pizza is receiving rave reviews! Coupled with a fine glass of wine [or two!], a perfect afternoon delight!

Your comments on our Sheerwater breakfast buffet are concerning, especially the cleanliness feedback - I've forwarded your TripAdvisor survey to our Restaurant Manager for monitoring.

We're glad your overall stay was relaxing and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel del Coronado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel was by far the most dog friendly we have ever been too. From the staff, surroundings, rooms, restaurants, the Del was by far the best! There were so many places our Buddy could go, he was the center of attention the majority of the time!

Room Tip: The rooms were great for doggies, they are on the ground floor and they each have a patio with a dog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna G, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much! We sincerely appreciate your endorsement!

Ever since we rolled out 'Del Dogs...and Cats Too!' we've found that our furry guests often steal the show! We' so happy Buddy had a great experience! The first-floor California Cabanas guestrooms were selected as pet-friendly accommodations because of the patios and proximity to the lawn - your comment confirms we selected the right rooms!

Thank you for being our guest - we look forward to welcoming you [and Buddy, of course!] back to the Hotel del Coronado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Property: Hotel del Coronado
Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing