We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite place in California” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
baton rouge
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“My favorite place in California”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Once again I cannot get enough. We hit the veranda at 2 and stayed til sunset. The drinks were amazing (a little pricey but you are paying for the ambiance) and the food was good as well (cheaper than the drinks). While we were there, we saw brides, sand castles, low flying planes, helicopters, weddings, sunsets, and sooooo many sights. This place makes me feel like a million dollars. Can't afford to stay in the rooms but love to visit the beach bar.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheree t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear sheree t,

Thanks for joining us for drinks at Hotel del Coronado. There is so much to see and we're glad that you loved the unique atmosphere of our historic property and the breathtaking views of the beach. Stop by anytime; we'd love to have you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,320
    1,242
    657
    399
    271
See reviews for
1,499
1,414
107
874
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Illinois
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay at this hotel but did walk thru. It was beautiful. We also visited the beach area that is behind the hotel and it was very nice and relaxing. Even a little kiddie area in the beach to swim. Worth a visit to see it all while visiting the area.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Casey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Casey B,

Thank you for your comments on our beautiful beach and historic hotel. We're proud to offer a fantastic experience for both adults and children. We hope that you'll join us as a guest on a future visit so that you can fully experience our outstanding service and accommodations of Hotel del Coronado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Excellent family experience on the beach. The beach s'mores experience and bike trip were a bonus. You can't beat the morning breakfast in Sheerwater Restaurant, nearly right on the sand with scenery varying from dolphins playing in the surf to U.S. Navy aviators on final approach just a couple hundred feet above the surf. The hotel does need to stay ahead of preventative maintenance issues. The room card key controller's batteries were depleted, locking us out of our room and necessitating a call to security that delayed us for 45 minutes. The room safe also flashed a low battery warning and ended up crashing, fortunately right after I opened it (for the last time). Despite my call to security, the batteries were never replaced during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear George K,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel del Coronado. We appreciate you letting us know about the maintenance issues you experienced, and we thank you for your patience. There's nothing better than a bike trip around the island and s'mores on the beach; we’re pleased to know those will be wonderful memories for you and your family. It's great to hear that you all had a beautiful vacation, and we hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

My daughter and I recently stayed at the Del to celebrate her 18th birthday and high school graduation. I was a little concerned by some reviews on this site stating that the rooms weren't very nice. We ended up with a lovely room, very clean, with comfortable beds and a nice balcony overlooking the courtyard. The hotel is historic and beautiful and the Del beach experience was amazing! All the staff we encountered were courteous and helpful. We ate at most of the restaurants and the food was always very good. We stayed during the week and it was busy but not overwhelming. I probably wouldn't want to be there over a summer weekend though. I had also read some reviews that said finding taxi service was a hassle, but we never had any trouble catching a cab from the hotel. I had to make several trips to and from the airport and had no problems. it's expensive but I knew that going in and didn't try to nickle and dime my vacation. I would recommend the Hotel Del to friends and would definitely plan another vacation there! You may find more modern luxury at a newer resort but the location and history are what make it all so special.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Betsy C,

Thank you for your recent stay and your fantastic review of The Del. Congratulations and happy birthday to your daughter! We couldn't agree more that our hotel’s historic architecture and unique character make every vacation special. We're so pleased that you chose us for this special trip and can't wait to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our family spent five nights at The Del - my husband and me, with our two teenagers. We had two rooms, and they were very nice. The beds were very comfortable, and the porches off each room were large.

Things I Liked about The Del:
-Great wifi - even on the beach!
-Great staff - Chris at front desk, Ashley, Kris and Aubrey on the beach, Cory, Dina and Alejandra by the adult pool, Veronica in the B&S Bar, and Cassie in the Sheerwater Grill.
-The weather is perfect!!!
-Good housekeeping.
-Outstanding live entertainment - Gonzo in the B&S Bar was terrific. He plays Thursday - Saturday nights.
-Good food! Favorite item was the Eno Salad at Eno.
-Lots of great shops.
-Most beautiful beach! The beach is huge, clean, soft sand, and wonderful. Wonderful beach amenities (all of which you pay for, but they are great.)
-Keurigs in the rooms.
-Fitness Center is nice (but has zero view).
-This is a beautiful and lovely hotel.

Things I Did Not Like at The Del:
-The property, while absolutely beautiful, is ginormous. If you were elderly or traveling with young children, this would be a problem.
-The property is VERY loud. Every word spoken in the hallways and every door slamming are LOUD . If you like to sleep past 7:30am, this is not the place to do so.
-Everything is expensive. S'mores on the beach for one hour cost you over $100. Really? Cocktails are $15, and they're very weak. The rooms are expensive, and have no amenities other than in the bathroom. No newspaper, no mini-bar (although there is a refrigerator in the room), and no turn down service. They do, however, provide water bottles, which is very nice.
-This is a family hotel. However, this is a family with young kids hotel. There was nothing for the teens to do at night - no teen club, no game room, no activities.
-And The Worst - we were awakened our last morning at 8:20am by housekeeping knocking on the door. When I asked if they were required to do this on the day folks check out, the two people said "yes." It seemed like they want to make sure you're up and ready to go before check out. A little bit later, two men knocked on the door asking to work on our tv, which had no problem, but apparently they are switching to a new system. They didn't knock on any other doors on the floor, so again it felt intrusive. We had a flight to catch and had no intent in staying past the Noon check out, but we sure would have enjoyed resting and relaxing our last morning instead of answering the repeated knocks at the door so early in the morning.

In general, I liked The Del, but I would not stay there again. I felt gouged every time I did/ordered anything. I mean, who charges for nuts in the bar?? We stay in luxury hotels, and enjoy the ambiance and extravagance of four and five star hotels. I did not feel the luxury part of The Del, except in the prices. I prefer more luxury, and less noise and crowds.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasTandE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear TexasTandE,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel del Coronado. We appreciate all your feedback, and your kind words about our fantastic employees and entertainers. We will pass along the kudos to the individuals you mentioned.

We are concerned, however, to hear about the unpleasant experience on your last day. We agree that you deserve a relaxing end to your stay, and greatly appreciate you bringing the issue to our attention. We strive to provide luxurious accommodations and exceptional service, and regret to know you felt value was lacking throughout your stay. We hope to have another chance to serve you in the future, and show you the true potential of a stay at The Del.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

My husband and I had no idea that this beautiful resort is over a hundred years old. We enjoyed the older elegance of this property and the fact that they have their own beach was such a treat.

The service is splendid and the prices are well worth the expense. Granted, this isn't an economical type resort, so plan to spend accordingly. We adored the gift shop in there with all the shirts, jackets and various clothing options.

In closing, with my husband having health issues, this was a fabulous experience that made so many flawless memories. The valet parking attendant's were so attentive with us because of my husbands mobility issues. Again, thank you so much and we'll be back.

PS. Coronado is absolutely beautiful with so many little eateries all around and of course, views that are breathtaking of the Pacific Ocean.

Room Tip: Look for on -line deals on travel sites for a better rate. Plan to spend 2-3 days directly at the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leighn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Leighn S,

Thank you for your recent stay and for your wonderful review. We are proud of our rich history and iconic architecture, and are so happy that you loved it as well. We strive to provide luxury and exceptional service at a good value, and we're pleased to hear that you had a memorable experience. There's no location quite like Coronado. It's great to hear you'll be back; we're already looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The hotel is beautiful. When we first arrived, on a Sunday, it was a bit of a madhouse - scary busy! --although the service was continuously excellent. On Monday, it was perfect. So, my advice would be to avoid summer weekends, as there is a big day crowd. Also, we did not eat on premises at all - there are so many great restaurants in town (walkable), and it's also just over the bridge from the Gas Lamp district, with tons of fun, trendy restaurants. So, I can't vouch for the food; everything else was top-notch, including the concierges, who bent over backwards to make our stay perfect!

Room Tip: Since it was still available, we were able to upgrade for a nominal fee at check-in to a suite that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear sugarhoneyhoney,

Thank you for your recent stay and your review. It's wonderful to hear that our service was on-point and our concierges went above and beyond. Though our cuisine is excellent, we agree that there are many equally wonderful nearby restaurants to choose from, as well. If only there were more days in the week to try them all! We're so glad that you had a great experience at Hotel del Coronado, and we hope you'll stay with us again on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Property: Hotel del Coronado
Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing