We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dump”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed in the ocean towers. For $750 a night you would expect a decent room. This hotel is on hard times. Terrible decor, old carpets, room service trays everywhere. This place is seriously in bad shape, with staff that could care less. Go a little bit North to L'auberge or Grand Del Mar for an excellent hotel experience. The only redeeming aspect of the hotel is the beachfront location, but otherwise this place has turned into a serious dump. We stayed here twice about 12 years ago and then this weekend. After seeing the deplorable state of the hotel, we will definitely never come back.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Walnut_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback online. While we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the location, we regret that the hotel and its décor did not exceed your expectations. We do care about each of our guests and truly value your feedback. To this end, we will be sure to share your feedback with our team so this experience is not repeated. We do hope you will return and are happy to note a request for the Victorian building if the Ocean Towers is not the environment you prefer. We will continue to strive to improve our service levels and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,457 - 2,463 of 5,376 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was our second vacation at the Del and I love this place! We had an ocean front junior suite in the original building and it was beautiful! Plus we had ample room for our family of 4, two being teenagers. The atmosphere is elegant but family (and pet) friendly, with an almost East Coast historical feel about it; the amenities are, however, all modern. The staff is accommodating and friendly. Mid-way through our stay, another family checked into the room next to ours. After a particularly tough evening of no sleep due to their noise and late/early hours, the front desk generously switched our room and provided a small compensation for our discomfort. I was so thankful! A tip for families with teenagers- buy breakfast and snack foods to have in the room; the meals can be pricey on the resort and with kids that continually eat, we didn't go broke feeding them. BUT, MooTime every evening is a must, as is a cocktail on the deck overlooking the beach. There are so many things about the Del that make it special and unique that only staying there will reveal them.

Room Tip: In you are staying in the original part of the hotel (overlooking the ocean), it can be a bit noisie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Holdeners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Holdeners,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel del Coronado and for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased that you had a fabulous vacation and enjoyed the wonderful service and luxurious accommodations we are so proud of. We agree that the unique charm of our historic hotel can only be experienced by coming to visit. Thank you for your loyalty, and we hope you and your family will join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

check in was half an hour late, toilet broken, shower didn't drain, A/C was loud and inadequate, ran out of toilet paper and didn't get more after multiple calls, message lights on phone could not stop flashing, rude concierge, vents dirty with rust/mold/mildew and no ventilation in the bathroom, line at registration took a half hour to get through for both check in and out

Room Tip: concierge was rude, booming loud music one night from a beach event put on by the hotel, dirty vents...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
7  Thank sanandlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit. I sincerely apologize that your stay was not at all enjoyable, and we will be sure to pass on your experience to our team here. We are consistently bringing in more staff throughout the property, specifically in the front office, to help alleviate the wait times you experienced. I apologize that the issues in your room were not attended to in a timely manner; the cleanliness of the room is something we will be sure to remedy. As a guest you should always be provided the luxury service that we strive to offer, and I do hope you return to give us another opportunity to deliver such service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

the location, the beach and the vista of the hotel are all excellent.

there are number of bars for the evening, number of restauarants for food and even a comedy club, which was very good for 90 minutes entertainement.

they have bikes and water sport equipment for hiring on site, hiring the "bike" for the whole family to cycle together was great fun! beaware fo the hll!!

i liked best was walking on the beach in the morning, the weather was nice, not too cold and not too hot...the beach was massive, sand: silky silvery soft.... dolphin swimming near the beach.... but the sea was cold though, so never went for a swim.

the rooms were ok, the view is diabolical.....looking into a yard and overlooked, so curtains were ever open.....so be careful when you book the room.

otherwise i woudl recommend it, but choose your room wisely.

it is not in san diego, but it is close enough, just across the bridge....

Room Tip: get a room with a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PeterC168662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear PeterC168662,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We're pleased to hear that you loved our historic hotel, explored the beautiful beach, and even saw dolphins swimming! There is so much to do at Hotel del Coronado, and it's wonderful that you were able to enjoy so much of it. We are big fans of the family bicycles, too. We hope you and your family will join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Seems like the room price includes the cost of maintaining the hotel so that hundreds of visitors can use the grounds each day at no charge. It is an old hotel with paper walls and getting around it is a major hassle. None of the things you get in a 5 star hotel, like a microwave or slippers. We were on the fourth floor & the elevator was broken the first day so I spent a lot of time sitting in the lobby when I could find a chair. Throngs of tourists walk thru and they can go anywhere in the hotel. They can even use the pools because the locks are broken, makes for a very crowded pool. The day visitors even walk off with the towels which adds to your room cost.
Everywhere you go in the hotel people are complaining. We stayed a week and there was at least one stressful incident everyday.
We ate at the 1500 restaurant which was a bad experience and very expensive. When you look out the window all you see is a green lattice wall & people on the sidewalk. They had a rock band on the other side of the lattice wall so we could not even talk in the restaurant without screaming.
If you want to stay in a historical landmark, this is your place. If you want a relaxing vacation, pick another hotel.
Check in will take you 30 minutes.
Our room had a 8 foot diameter A/C exhaust 20 feet away. It sounded like a jet plane was next door.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us online. I understand your level of disappointment and sincerely apologize for your experience during your visit. The Del is a historic landmark with many visitors, but we never want this to interfere with the service provided to our overnight guests. I will be sure to share your feedback with our team so we can better monitor the public areas and provide the exceptional service our guests deserve. We hope to welcome you back again soon, whether it is for an extended stay or to simply enjoy the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The first time we stayed at the Del was 28 years ago on our honeymoon, we have stayed 3 or 4 more times since then but 5 years have pasted since our last and sadly final stay.
This hotel has gone down like the Titanic. When I pay 500+ a night for a hotel room I expect it to be a luxury experience but instead we received terrible housekeeping in fact the rooms were cleaned so poorly daily it was shocking! The food was over priced and poor quality, I love fine dining and I don',t mind paying for it but the food was really bad. I was so disappointed I decided to read the reviews to see if i was the only one who has noticed how bad the service was and I was not surprised to discover the hotel has been under new management for the past few years. Well I hope they wake up because those of us who know what a luxury hotel should feel like will not waste our money here again. I could go on and on but I won't all I can say is there is no pride taken in maintaining this beautiful hotel, so sad.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bianca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We truly value our return guests such as yourselves and sincerely apologize that this visit did not exceed your expectations. We will be sure to share this information with our team so that we can improve our housekeeping procedures and dining quality. As a luxury hotel we strive to provide the most exceptional service and make each stay memorable for our guests. We do hope you will return in the future and give us the opportunity to deliver the service you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

What a vacation ! Relaxation! That's the feeling while at the Del. Service by all the Hotel staff impeccable !!!! They made us feel special . We were returning to the Del after 40 years. Honeymooned there ! Won't wait that long to return this time ! Were going back every year....

Room Tip: Perfect ! Don't change a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aeflorez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear aeflorez,

Thank you for your stay with us at The Del and for your wonderful review. Congratulations on 40 happy years! The Del has a long history of romance and we are so pleased that you are a part of it. We are proud to have maintained the beauty and charm of our historic hotel while still offering modern and luxurious amenities. So glad to hear you'll be making your trip to Hotel del Coronado an annual tradition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
302 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coronado
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £265 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado, Curio Collection by Hilton is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotelopia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing