We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Brush Prairie
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 4 September 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Del for our 20th anniversary. It is a beautiful historic hotel with a fabulous location, but aside from that we were not impressed. We had high expectations based on what we had heard and the price of the rooms (very expensive). The Lobby was beautiful and it looked like it was starting off great.

When we checked in, we learned that it cost an additional $25 per day for parking, and $25 per day to use the hotel ammenties (pools, common areas, internet, etc.). We stayed in the Ocean towers which as we understand it are not part of the original hotel. We had a full ocean view which was great. The hallways and room however, were old and not very well maintained. It wasn't terribly clean either.

We were hoping for a wonderful experience, but were very dissapointed. We felt nickled and dimed and did not feel like we were staying at a high end resort. They are all about the name and the money...somewhere along the way they have forgotten how to create a wonderful experience for their guests. Pick somewhere else to stay and visit the hotel to see the grounds...it is open to the public.

We did have a couple of fabulous dinners though. If you visit Coronodo Island, both are a must. Candelas on the Bay is wonderfully romantic with a stunning view of the city. The food was amazing and the service even better. The other must do is Vigilucci's. Again, wonderful ambiance, and amazing food and wine. We had a mushroom pasta dish that was to die for. They also had phenominal service.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOUSEMAGGOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,405
    1,286
    681
    411
    279
See reviews for
1,548
1,475
116
904
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
az
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

this hotel is old ,outdated,way too crowded and way too overpriced' $25 for coffee in your room everything is extra. $33 plus $5 for parking because this island is so crowded there is no place to park. Forget about renting a bike too much traffic. I was so disappointed after there ads. no way

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AzUnhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont Shore, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

This was my second stay this month, and our two nights just weren't long enough! The Junior Suite was offered to us at a special rate that turned out to be very comfortable. The bedding, sheets and towels were exceptonal. Though the shower/bath was relatively small for a suite, the overall bathroom was large.

This is a 121 year-old resort property with many modern amenities. But there was, at times, the sound of creeking floor boards from above our room.

Overall, breakfast was pricey and nothing special. The mushroom quiche, however, was very good. Lunch at the Sheerwater restaurant was superb. My grape salad at $19.00 was worth every penny. As lobster bisques go, they tend to be overly salty and typically artificial tasting without the unique flavor of lobster. Their bisque was some of the finest that I've had in years.

The front desk seems to have a chronic issue with understaffing as I watched frustrated guests wait in long lines at both check in/out.

The fee for parking is excessive at $25.00 per night. We parked on the street during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chesbeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2009

$$$$$$, Friday neighbors woke us up at 5:30 shouting, Saturday hotel picketers marching between hotel and beach for 12 hours with bullhorns/sirens and then guest screaming obscenity to picketers (not for the ears of a two year old) and the third morning, Sunday, fire strobe light going off 5 a.m., (so up early again)coffee pot was never cleaned out, glasses just rinsed, hard to find parking even though you are paying for it, food was just okay for the price, conversations from other rooms sound like they are in the room with you! The hotel gave $75.00 credit for the day of picketing, but you had to get a letter or you would never have known about it. We had three rooms and only 1 room got the letter. We had to get my other rooms adjusted because no one came by. People we met in the elevator had not idea they were to get a $75.00 credit. When I was getting my other rooms credited, the front desk told us that everyone got a letter under their door.........Sorry, but this was a lie......This hotel ruined our vacation!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Checked out early and went elsewhere where we had a good time! Too bad we waited so long to check out. Also, we were told by someone that the picketers had been coming for several weekends. Did the hotel tell us this ahead of time? Definitely not!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momsscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscon, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed here and had an unbelievable time! The architecture was incredible and we loved the beach, the pool and the service. Our room was large and beautifully decorated This was truly a 5 star property at a 3 star rate.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawyerup123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmonton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Our room was not ready when we checked in at 2pm so we left our number and went for a bite to eat. We never got a call that our room was ready but I thought that I would check anyway. They gave us a room in the ocean towers. Not that nice of a room and it kind of felt like we were in a super 8 motel or something. Even though we paid for oceanfront we had a building to the right of us and shrubs and trees in front so not as nice as I was hoping for. The front desk had said they would move us the next day to a room in the California cabanas next door. We waited until later in the afternoon for them to call about our move but they did not so we called. It kind of spoiled our day abit waiting to move but the second room view was nice. The room though was about the same as the first one. I'm not sure what the rooms inside the victorian building look like but I don't get the historic feeling of the Del staying in these newer California cabanas. It is very expensive to stay here and many people including myself need to have a really great experience in order to return as there are so many more hotels and resorts to stay in. I found the location of the hotel perfect with it being right on the beach. The beach is one of the nicest I have seen in California and it never felt crowded. The navy seals were training one morning on the beach and that is the fastest I have ever seen my 18 year old daughter wake up in the morning. She thought it was pretty cool to watch and of course they are in top shape. The fitness room is free to use for hotel guests and is very nice. If you want to use the steam room or relaxation lounges you need to have a spa appointment booked or pay $55 per day. They had massages on special for $99(reg $165) . That was hands down the best massage I have ever had including at the Ritz in Vegas.(make sure you ask for Kayla). My husband and daughter had one the next day. I used the rest of the spa facilities as well and it was a really beautiful enviroment. We ate at 1500 ocean avenue for my husband's 50th birhday. The food was good but I would not say it was great. We all had the tasting menu and I just didn't feel the meal was worth almost $300 for the four of us. The service was good though and our waiter had worked at 1500 ocean for a very long time and was full of information. They sat us outside on the covered patio which he said is a newer addition to the restaurant. A very nice view of the ocean and just the perfect spot to sit. They take very good care of the hotel grounds. The shops are neat to walk through but very expensive. You don't have to eat at the hotel. There seemed to be a lot of people opting to walk to Orange avenue to eat at the resturants there. We ate at La Salsa mexican food a couple of times. It's like a mexican subway. Very good meals and made fresh. We had moo time ice cream on Orange avenue. If you go to the one at the Del you will pay twice the price. All in all I liked the Del. Not sure if I would return ever unless I got a really good deal on the rooms and even then I don't know because staying at the Del in the California cabanas doesn't really feel very historic. I did feel the service could have been alittle better in all areas from the front desk to housekeeping. Nothing really stood out for service and it should as people are paying a pretty penny to stay here. The hotel is very beautiful and just to be able to even have a visit for a few hours. It's really cool to think that many many people have stayed in this hotel and walked here and now you're on that list. Just to experience the feeling of the Del is worth the trip.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenniejp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

My wife wanted to stay at this hotel for nearly 20 years. After putting aside some… a lot of money, we went for our 20th anniversary along with our seven-year-old daughter.

Before leaving, my wife called the main number and asked if we would need reservations for dinning or kid’s activities. We were told that as guests of the hotel, we wouldn’t need them and it wouldn’t be a problem. Wrong! Dinning without a reservation was a problem and the kid’s camp was “fully booked” when we called to sign up our daughter.

Although the accommodations are nice, the hotel was crowded with so many kids, that it had exactly the same overwhelming feel as Disney World.

For the evening of our 20th anniversary we went to the “signature” restaurant 1500 Ocean. My daughter had taken a late nap, so we arrived shortly after 8:00 pm. Although, most of the tables were empty, we were told it would be a few minutes before we could be seated, because we didn’t have a reservation. After we were seated, it took a long, long time to get something to drink, some bread and to place our order. In fact my wife, who has the patient of a saint, began debating as to whether we should just leave and go to the “casual” restaurant, Shearwater instead.

In all, the meal took nearly two hours and we were forced to make at least three comments to staff about the inattentive service including asking twice for a waiter to come by the table. The food was good, but I am not exaggerating when I say that the service at our local Cracker Barrel is exponentially more attentive than what we endured at 1500 Ocean. Given the cost and ballyhoo associated with this “signature” establishment, the level of service was so far beyond unacceptable that I can’t begin to put it into words. The fact that the restaurant was nearly empty leads us to wonder how much worse service must be when it’s busy. Bottom line: Unless you want to spend an enormous amount of time and money for poor service, eat somewhere else. Shearwater was a much better experience, though only the dress is casual, NOT the prices. The best dinning experience we found was a place across the street called the Brigantine Seafood House. It was everything 1500 Ocean wasn’t and even though it was crowded, service was excellent as was the food.

Perhaps the most amazing part of our stay was when a fire alarm was triggered one afternoon. After my wife fled the premises with our daughter, she was actually admonished by concierge who told her that she should have waited in the room for instructions and that it would be a really “bad thing” if all of the guests headed for the exits upon hearing the fire alarm. Are you kidding me?!

I usually stay in average hotels when I travel (2-3 diamonds) and once a year, we try to go somewhere really nice like the Greenbrier or Grand. Overall, I’m not demanding and generally easygoing, but based on the five nights we spent at the Del, we have no desire to return.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Property: Hotel del Coronado
Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing