We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect combination of Modern & Vintage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
1 review
“Perfect combination of Modern & Vintage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

We held our wedding at The Hotel del Coronado in early October. From the planning, to the visits, to the entire wedding weekend itself, I couldn't imagine anything more perfect.

The staff are incredibly helpful - even if they can't immediately help you, they do everything they can to connect you with someone who can. They were great with last minute requests and changes to the plan - always with a smile. The space was amazing and the food was unbelievable. And their event coordinators and banquet staff really knew their stuff and were able to make helpful suggestions along the way but never got pushy or restrictive.

The hotel itself is remarkable - simply breathtaking. so old-world-y but with all of the modern touches you want out of a 5 star resort. We had a "partial view" room - we expected to have to crane our necks to see the ocean, but it was actually a gorgeous view down the beach and only if we turned our head to the right could we see a glimpse of a parking lot. I know it's a silly thing to comment on - but one of the things I that stood out to me were the great toiletries -- usually you get "conditioning shampoo" or something horrid - I contemplated purchasing some of the hotel's signature products from the spa because I loved them so much. (unfortunately not enough room in the suitcase)

The dining options are superb - Eno's was able to accommodate a large group of us at the last minute and when we gave them our budget they worked out a great tasting spread of wine, cheese and chocolate that kept all of us oooohing and mmming for 2 hours. The brunch at Sheerwater's is probably the best brunch I've ever had - well worth the $23. Even the takeaway stand at Babcock and Storey is delicious.

i highly recommend getting an evening drink at the Sun Deck with the fire pits or arranging for s'mores on the beach. In fact, I highly recommend just about everything!

Yes, it's a pricey venue (we got married on a Friday to make it more affordable) but everything from the rooms to the location to the activities and amenities are well worth the cost. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the area ---

Helpful?
Thank EllenSCohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,320
    1,242
    657
    399
    271
See reviews for
1,499
1,414
107
874
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hull, MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

The Del is a good hotel. As usual, I will sum this up in the most appropriate fashion...

What it is: The Del is a very old, historic SoCal landmark. With the exception of the new tower, the rooms are old and somewhat musty. The architecture is Vicorian. The location is perfect. From a value perspective, this is a very expensive hotel where a water is $7.50, the buffet is $28 and the drinks are even more expensive. The room prices are very expensive.

The BAD: If you stay in the old part of the hotel, the rooms are LOUD and if you stay in the new part of the hotel the rooms are also LOUD. Loud rooms are my number one stressor on any vacation. The guy next to me was playing a tuba in his room. One colleague of mine said someone was bouncing a basketball in the room above her at 4AM. However, this could happen anywhere... There are a ton of tourists wandering around looking for Kate Morgan and taking pictures. I don't like this because it crowds the place. Mid-Week was very quiet, compared to the weekend. Speaking of Kate Morgan...don't stay in her room. My friend stayed in her room and people will play ding dong ditch and stand outside your door at all hours of the night if you do the same.

The GOOD: Location, location, location... The bar and outside deck lounge are pound for pound the best located places on planet earth for a chilled hang-out session....period. The ocean view from the tower is stellar. The layout of the hotel and the shops are very much legit. At the end of the day, you are getting a nice hotel, in a great spot, with the right atmosphere.

Other Items: For the guy who complained about the seaweed, I'm sorry but the hotel cannot control the ocean conditions. Downtown Coronado is at the hotel doorstep, so there are plenty of shops and a large variety of places to eat. Coronado generally shuts down early. For the guy in the yellow corvette who was doing brake stands at the valet booth...you looked like a cheeseball. I think the hotel phots provide an accurate representation of what you get. I will stay here again. If you are a full on baller or a high roller, I strongly suggest the villas. These are the most crip rooms on the entire compound. They have private hot tubs, fire pits and a pool.

Final Thought: This place was great...

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnysurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

I was staying at the Del for a business conference. I wish that I had brought my whole family and could have spent more time. The deep, rich carved woodwork of the hotel is amazing. The elevator with attendant is quaint. You can walk along the beach and just enjoy the sound of the waves. The Del ever offers a service where you can have a fire-pit and toast s'mores with the kids. The staff is polite and friendly, but who wouldn't be if you live in Southern CA?

Helpful?
Thank Chattycathy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

The beauty of this hotel and it's beach is the next best thing if you can't make it to Hawaii, and we love Hawaii. The service was superb, as was the food. Our oceanfront room had a terrific view, and could hear the waves as we went to sleep. We definitely will be returning.

Helpful?
Thank mgorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

Our first experience at the Hotel Del was in the early 1990's. We have stayed in Victorian rooms, tower rooms and rooms by the swimming pool. We have been there in the spring, the fall and the winter. We have seen the tennis courts replaced by a fabulous spa facility and now the beach cottages are like the icing on the cake! Each time we leave we can't wait until we can come back . The service begins the moment you drive up to the lobby entrance and see smiling faces waiting to welcome you to the Hotel Del. The food is always good, the shopping is great and the location of the Hotel on the beach offers outstanding sunset viewing of Point Loma. If you have never been to the Hotel Del, it should be on your "Bucket List" of places to see and stay. You won't regret it!

Steve B
Spring, TX

Helpful?
Thank DukeFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

We spent 5 days at the Hotel Del and our entire visit was perfect. Our room was always clean and our balcony view was very pleasant. The hotel staff attended to our last minute needs such as clothing alterations, birtday cake and golfing tee times. Room service was promp and good unfortunately we could not eat all the food in each serving. There wasn't a bad meal or cocktail anywhere we went. The restuarants and shops in the hotel were wonderful and we will definately be back to the Hotel Del many more times. We travel to San Diego every year and this will become our regular hotel from now on.

Helpful?
Thank bds67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

We wanted a quick getaway for a few days and couldn't decide between Santa Monica or Coronado. I am so glad we picked the Del. The hotel was amazing and the staff was simply superb from the moment we drove up. The valet could not have been any nicer..always making sure we had the proper directions and giving us tips on what to see and where to eat! We were able to upgrade our room from a partial ocean view to a full ocean view and boy am I glad we did..the room was gorgeous! The views were breathtaking. We went to the spa and it was great...had a little hiccup on one of the spa treatments and the person at the desk corrected it immediately. Every person that you dealt with at the Del was very helpful and just great! I can't wait to visit this property again! It is a definite must for any type of visit!

Stayed October 2009
Helpful?
Thank robynbock35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Property: Hotel del Coronado
Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing