We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and incredible service!”
Review of Mistral - CLOSED

Mistral
Price range: US$6 - US$50
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Silver Strand
Transit: Complimentary valet or self-parking is available for local guests dining in Mistral. Please bring your parking ticket for validation.
Description: At Mistral, Chef Cho will blend his collection of sweeping cultural experiences into a global-fusion menu that highlights his penchant for tapas-style small plates, Mediterranean flavors and his new-found love of seafood. Our chefs select the finest, responsibly-grown ingredients to take you on a delicious journey along the Mediterranean Coast. Robust, intense flavors are prepared with brilliant and innovative techniques and infused with the freshest herbs from the resorts own garden. Our extensive wine list offers both classic wines and undiscovered treasures that are interesting and affordable. This delectable dining at Mistral restaurant is served with a setting to match, surrounded by floor-to-ceiling windows with breathtaking views of spectacular sunsets over the Pacific, sweeping vistas of Coronado Bay and the glittering San Diego skyline. It's the perfect backdrop for an experience you'll never forget.
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Food is delicious! Ask for Daniel or Michael and you will have amazing service! The spicy pineapple ginger mojito is fantastic!

Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Mistral, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're thrilled that you had amazing service with Daniel and Michael and that you found the food to be delicious. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mistral soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

I had read the reviews and was "under-whelmed" when entering the restaurant. It was quiet, the decor is somewhat stark - although a beautiful view. The service was hit and miss - although Daniel was very passionate and knowledgeable about the menu - and did a great job of describing the various items. Michael was extremely knowledgeable about the restaurant, the new menu, the wine offerings, and was very efficient and did his utmost best to ensure we enjoyed our evening. To our surprise - the food was really amazing and made up for the minor slip ups that we encountered with the timing of our food arriving. I think this restaurant has great potential - and if it's great food and service you are looking for then this is the place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TorontoMark1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Mistral, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're pleased that the food was amazing and made up for any minor issues you initially experienced. Daniel and Michael are both wonderful assets to the team and your comments will be happily shared with the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mistral soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We celebrated our anniversary and we had the most memorable experience! The food was amazing. Our starters were pickled vegetables (yum) and frites that included calamari, okra, onions. Next course was a simple yet tasty salad. Our main courses Paella with perfect amount of fresh seafood and New York strip medium rare with mashed potatoes and asparagus. The combination of flavors was amazing. Oh yeah and the truffle fries were just right. The wine suggestions perfectly paired with our meals. We had the best seat in the house overlooking the bay. To end our special celebration we had chocolate bombe and it was the bomb! Had a hint of hazelnut........so tasty. Our coffee drinks Keoke & Irish Coffee hit the spot. The service was excellent - from the moment we were seated. The servers were very attentive and detail oriented. We will most definitely return. I will try the scallops next time. We highly recommend celebrating your next special occasion at Mistral!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Mistral, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions, and thank you for choosing Mistral to celebrate your anniversary. We're thrilled that you had a memorable dining experience with us! We hope to welcome you back to the restaurant soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The food is very good, but it is surpassed by the view and service. Michael and Moises took excellent care of myself and my guests. Never overbearing, but always there when you needed them to pour some excellent wine or bring dessert.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Mistral, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're delighted that you enjoyed the spectacular view and received excellent service -- notably from Michael and Moises. We hope to welcome you back to Mistral soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Generally, we do not think hotel restaurants are special, but Mistral at the Loews Coronado Bay on Coronado Island in San Diego, California is an exception. The secret to their success is simple: excellent food served by a very friendly staff. I asked for names of the young staff that took care of us and would tell you you would be happy diners if you were served by Magaly, Michael and the talkative, but very friendly Daniel!

The Assistant Food and Beverage manager, Elyse Charlesworth, also acted as the hostess for the room and made sure we had everything we needed. She kept an eye on her staff and the room as a whole, so I know she enjoys what she is doing and does it well. We had requested a certain table overlooking the lower San Diego bay, but a pair of ladies overstayed their welcome, so they scrambled and got us another window table only a few feet from where I had requested we sit. This got the whole team interested in making sure there were no more glitches and there weren't!

I had an grilled shrimp and mushroom skillet with squid ink risotto, while my wife had a delicious striped bass also on a bed of squid ink risotto and a large side of mushrooms. Our meals were delicious and juicy. The shrimp were outstanding.

The chef made an appearance and we thanked each other; we for the food and him for our joining him for dinner.

All in all it was an excellent experience; when you get outstanding food and a courteous, attentive and friendly staff it makes for a very pleasant evening. We recommend the Mistral without reservations!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Mistral, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. Your review was a pleasure to read, and we're thrilled that you had an excellent experience at Mistral with both outstanding food and friendly, attentive service. Magaly, Michael, Daniel, Elyse and Chef Adam are all tremendous assets to the team, and we'll ensure your kind comments are passed along to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mistral soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing