We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten-Star service - - by Dave”
Review of Mistral - CLOSED

Mistral
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$50
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Silver Strand
Transit: Complimentary valet or self-parking is available for local guests dining in Mistral. Please bring your parking ticket for validation.
Description: At Mistral, Chef Cho will blend his collection of sweeping cultural experiences into a global-fusion menu that highlights his penchant for tapas-style small plates, Mediterranean flavors and his new-found love of seafood. Our chefs select the finest, responsibly-grown ingredients to take you on a delicious journey along the Mediterranean Coast. Robust, intense flavors are prepared with brilliant and innovative techniques and infused with the freshest herbs from the resorts own garden. Our extensive wine list offers both classic wines and undiscovered treasures that are interesting and affordable. This delectable dining at Mistral restaurant is served with a setting to match, surrounded by floor-to-ceiling windows with breathtaking views of spectacular sunsets over the Pacific, sweeping vistas of Coronado Bay and the glittering San Diego skyline. It's the perfect backdrop for an experience you'll never forget.
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Mistral is a beautiful ocean and bay view restaurant on a Loews property that could use some updating. A happy host and hostess greeted us and assured us what we pulled on after an afternoon at the spa was more than appropriate for the room. The view from the table was breathtaking and the seafood stew and striped sea bass were delicious, but the star of the evening was Dave Carter. This veteran waiter and the other service staff made this dinner an extraordinary night. His pacing was perfect, though he was challenged by indecision brought on by our recent recommitment to healthy eating. I ordered a skinny margarita, and after it was served I mentioned the somewhat elaborate preparation at another favorite restaurant. Before I knew it, orange and lemon slices and basil appeared at the table to complete this perfect drink. Without us mentioning anything more than a general desire to eat healthy, the truffle butter that usually dresses the sea bass, arrived on the side. The fish was great, but Dave's service made our evening perfect. Every restaurant, and every diner, should wish for servers this good.

2  Thank NickStefanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Mistral, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We're thrilled that you had a wonderful dining experience in Mistral, and that Dave made your dinner extraordinary -- even "perfect". Your review was a pleasure to read and we will happily pass along your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to Loews Coronado Bay soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 89 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

I was not sure what to expect with the varying reviews, and some mentioning a change in Chef. However we dropped by earlier in the day and could see immediately the atmosphere and view was fabulous.

We decided to book an early dinner (6:30pm) having arrived that day. We were immediately greeted by the hostess, who found us a great table to accommodate a good view along with space for our toddler's high chair. Our waiter Moises was quite attentive and Chef Cho also stopped by to help describe the selections. Moises also recommended some great drinks.

I opted for the sampler to get a good feel for many items, and was very pleased. I started with the Strawberry Kale salad and then had the yellow tail peach crudo. Both were excellent to start off the meal. Feeling like a good piece of steak, I opted for the Fillet which was perfect and cooked precisely to my request (thanks!). The chocolate bombe with passion fruit was also great. My wife had mussels and frites, and tried shared some of my starters and desert. My 1yr old enjoyed the bread and frites.

Overall we were very happy with the experience. We were staying at the Lowes, and this was definitely the best food on the property. Mistral was closed a few nights during our stay. We tried both the Market restaurant and Cays Lounge, which both had very mediocre food and service. We went off island to Banker's Hill for another great meal. However before we left, we dined a second evening and had another outstanding meal enjoying the Paella along with extremely attentive service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Mistral, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Mistral on TripAdvisor. We're thrilled that you were very happy with your dining experience and that you found both the atmosphere and view to be fabulous. We hope to welcome you back to the resort during your next visit to San Diego.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The sunset view was awesome! Very accommodating to the entire family! The food and service was amazing!

Thank Jenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Mistral, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the sunset, as well as the food and service in Mistral. We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Quality of this restaurant is no where near what it was two years ago. There is no longer a sommelier; the service is horrible (had to ask for bread to enjoy with our wine and never received our $15 mushrooms with our steak); and despite the website saying the dress code is 'elegant casual,' apparently that actually means flip flops, daisy dukes and tank tops.

I wish we had taken our friends to a better restaurant for their 20th anniversary but now we know this place is not worth the cost and we won't bother coming back.

View is nice but it's the ocean so there's lots of places with nice views, better food and better service.

Thank SaraTheWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Mistral, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your dining experience. Mistral continually receives high ratings and we wish you could have experienced our typical quality service and food. These experiences mentioned in your review are not the norm at Loews, and we take great steps to ensure a positive guest experience. We thank you for your feedback and have shared with our team members. We sincerely hope you'll dine with us again and allow us another opportunity to serve and WOW you.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our waiters were very attentive and the food was delicious. We were with friends from a business meeting and it seemed as though the hotel staff was a little snobby - perhaps because there were 10 of us?? Once we reached the restaurant upstairs everything felt comfortable. It is a fancy hotel with a gated entrance (golly, we were only staying at the Hotel Del Coronado), however, that does not give the hotel staff reason to act as though they are superior. The Valet was great.

Ignore the hotel staff and go upstairs to the wonderful restaurant. If you can afford a nice restaurant then snobby hotel be-darned.

Note: This review is about the Mistral Restaurant: I would never stay at that hotel.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ladj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoewsCoronadoBay, General Manager at Mistral, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions in detail. We are delighted that you found your waiters to be attentive and the food in Mistral to be delicious; however, we regret to hear your hotel experience felt "snobby". Guest service is our first priority and this is clearly not the standard we wish to present. We have shared your comments with our management team and appreciate your feedback. Should you return, please feel free to contact any of our managers for personal assurance that your next visit will be comfortable.

Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Loews Coronado Bay Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mistral also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing