We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1906 Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Coronado Beach Resort(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$274
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$384
US$326
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$322
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Loews Coronado Bay Resort(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$258
US$234
Loews Hotels
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Cordova Hotel(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$307
US$261
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$395
US$340
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crown City Inn(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Capri by the Sea(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$269
US$231
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Rancho Motel(Coronado)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (699)
Filter reviews
699 results
Traveller rating
605
76
13
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
605
76
13
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bfree underground parkinghot dishtea gardenboarding housespa tubstar parkwine hourwine and cheeseeach morningbed breakfastbreakfast was deliciousquiet neighborhoodgas fireplacesan diegoorange avetwo blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
465 - 470 of 699 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This was our 8th visit to the 1906 Lodge and they continue to exceed our expectations each time we visit. We were upgraded to the Trolley Car suite which is located on the second floor. It is a delightful room with a great view.

The innkeepers are the best and they treat with so much warmth, hospitality and caring. Susan, Laurie and Alyssa are all extremely friendly and have so much to offer about the lodge, Coronado Island and the surrounding area.

The happy hour (white & red wine, ice tea and snacks) and the breakfasts are also tasty and presented well. They also have coffee, tea and water available in the suites and in the central area for the lodge rooms. They also have often have some leftover sweets available for a small snack in the evening.

We were also treated to new mattresses in all the rooms. The innkeepers even asked for feedback on the mattresses.

They continue to offer free underground parking, DVD's, beach equipment and most anything you would like. You can walk to most restaurants and the golf course on the island is outstanding and a value.

We will only stay at the 1906 when we are in Coronado and highly recommend the property to many people. We hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: The lodge rooms are great if you looking for a lower price. We recommend the Bay View and Winchester. However, the suites are delightful if they are in your price range. I would recommend calling for reservations and you may get a better deal.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19KHand58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

YOUR 8th VISIT!
We love greeting our return guests! Happy to read the Trolley Car Suite was a treat for you. Many of our guests and Innkeepers refer to "Trolley Car" as a favorite because of the suite's amenities, the size of the room and the peaceful garden view. It is unanimous, the new mattresses are a dream. We are continuously making positive changes at the 1906 Lodge. We have one goal in mind and that is to make each of our guest's experience the best it can be.
We want to keep nice folks like you coming back again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The 1906 Lodge is a wonderful place to stay. An original house from 1906, the Lodge has been lovingly restored into a beautiful small but luxurious hotel/inn. The location is fantastic - minutes from the truly spectacular beach and from local restaurants and shopping. The Lodge truly allows you to live like a local on Coronado Island. And if you want to spend time in San Diego, don't fret: the city is a short drive or (even better) ferry ride from here.

The staff here were consistently friendly and helpful. Our room was gorgeous, with large windows and excellent amenities. The common areas are stunning as well. They include a beautiful, well-lit living/sitting area as well as a pretty courtyard where we ate breakfast everyday. Breakfast was excellent - with plentiful breads, cereals and other breakfast items plus one hot delicious main dish.

The Lodge has a reception hour (or so) every late afternoon, featuring wine and a small assortment of snacks. This was a fine way to relax and get prepared for the evening. Free Wi-Fi and indoor parking are a plus (though be careful when you exit - the turn is sharp!).

Overall this was one of the finest lodging experiences we have had, and we would not hesitate to recommend the 1906 Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yazzy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

We thank you for taking the time to write such a complete and nice review of the 1906 Lodge. When our guests are happy we are happy! We hope you return to the island again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed four nights in the North Island suite. The room was very clean, quiet and spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a sumptuous breakfast each morning and the wine/cheese reception in the evening. The owners have created a nice balance between the feel of a B&B and a lodge (we liked having the choice to eat at individual tables versus communal tables).

The location is fantastic. Close to shopping, restaurants and a couple of blocks from the Del Coronado Hotel and its fantastic beach.

We would definitely return!

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad room, but we really enjoyed the North Island suite. It is upstairs toward the front of the hotel. We never heard any noise from other guests or street. Jacuzzi tub is huge and awesome!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

"A Relaxing Stay"
Exactly what we want for each and every guest of the 1906 Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The 1906 Lodge is the best. Great attention to detail. Luxury accommodations at a reasonable price. Staff is top notch. Make sure to stay there when Susan is there - what a great hostess! Coronado is known for luxury, it's top rated beach, and "island" atmosphere, but this little gem, tucked away just a few blocks from the beach, really defines the finest Coronado has to offer.

Room Tip: I think any room would be great at this location.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Our top rated beach is only 2 blocks from the 1906 Lodge. Grab a couple of our beach chairs, beach towels and a big umbrella and enjoy the sunshine. After reading, napping and playing on the sand, enjoy Happy Hour in our parlor before going to dinner at one of Coronado's many and varied restaurants. As I like to say, you can stay busy all day long doing nothing while vacationing on Coronado Island! And we hope you hurry back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful two nights at the Isabella room. For the price though, I had higher expectations. I think we paid around USD 260 (incl tax).

Pros:
- Great location in Coronado (!!)
- Very clean and new room with attention to detail. The bathroom in the Isabella room is really cute (and largely the reason why we chose this one)
- Good service
- They have water bottles and coffee in the hallway for free, which was a nice touch

Cons:
- Breakfast was so so. Very standard breakfast, but overall rather sweet and we would have loved to have some savoury stuff. Coffee was very bad. The fruits were ok.
- The mattress: It had some plastic wrapped around it (as protection?), which meant that every single time we moved/turned around, it made a horrible squeaky sound. It was seriously annoying. I told the staff the following morning, but they did not seem too concerned about it. Kind of this "thanks for letting us know" thing, but I doubt any action was taken after...

I am kind of divided on this one: on the one hand, we had a wonderful stay, the place was very clean and nicely done, and overall we probably would not mind to come back, on the other we felt a bit misplaced and the mattress issue did not let us rest very well at night. It seemed more like a place for elderly couples (and mind you, we are in our 30s). They do have afternoon wine & cheese. Everyone was very welcoming, but I could not help feeling that it had a bit of a stiff/artificial atmosphere.

Maybe we have to give it a second try on our next Westcoast Trip :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thank you for this review. We have checked the bed frame and mattress for the "squeaky" sound you heard each time you turned. We take great pride in the comfort of our rooms, the bedding and all amenities. All of our mattresses are new and each bed is made using 100% cotton mattress covers, sheets and comforters. Our housekeeping department is responsible for keeping the Lodge spotless! I will pass along your kind comments about the cleanliness of the Isabella Room and the attention to detail. We do hope you choose to return to the west coast and the 1906 Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews