We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We just returned from a weeks stay at this wonderful upscale B & B and we will absolutely be back!!! All the lovely ladies who run this small hotel are exceptional!
Spotlessly clean, beautiful setting, quiet, heavenly Mattress!!!and a home made breakfast every morning, scones, cookies squares. Yummmm
Two small blocks from the main street Orange Ave. in the quaint beach town where the old
Del Coronado Hotel is.
Great Restaurants to sit out side and have your breakfast, lunch or dinner,AND everyone is super friendly.
We look for places like this wherever we travel and believe me they are few and far between but when you find one you will return again and again as you get to know the quality and service they provide. You will definitely tuck this into your special places to stay file.
Unless you really need the big resort type of accommodations, this should be the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K&KCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Great to have you in Coronado for an entire week! It is wonderful to have the time to relax and enjoy our lovely island setting and it sounds like you did just that.
The entire staff was thrilled to read your review. Thank you for the high marks given to our Housekeeping Department and to the Innkeepers. And thanks too for choosing the 1906 Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

My wife and I visited this wonderful B&B with her sister and her husband. We thoroughly enjoyed the quiet, relaxing feel of the place. The hosts were most gracious and the breakfasts were outstanding. We look forward to our next stay at this fine inn.

Room Tip: No swimming pool, it is a bed and breakfast - all the rooms are good. The basement rooms have no vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Budd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

We are always pleased to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay at the 1906 Lodge.
Our guest rooms are all on the first or the second floor. All of our Historic Lodge Rooms and Garden Suites have central heating and air and big beautiful windows that open wide with either a neighborhood or garden view. Located underground, our guest's Business Center, Conference Rooms and secure guest parking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is a pleasant comfortable place to stay, with an interesting flair. But you really need to adjust your schedule to theirs. And if you're in to starting your day early, you can forget about any sort of breakfast other than a pretty mundane package. I attended a meeting while staying here across the bay at the convention center, and with no breakfast service before 8 am (aside from coffee which I don't drink) I probably would have been better off at the Super 8 rather than paying for a gourmet hot breakfast that never fit into my schedule.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank Lewis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

We are sorry you were unable to enjoy our complementary breakfast. We offer a breakfast "to go" and a hot beverage for those departing earlier than 8am. We do try to accommodate our guest's every need. We are sorry we did not meet yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My husband and I only spent one night there but fell in love with this place. We got to relax after our long flight and have some quiet time to relax. It was wonderful to be within walking distance of some many places and did not need our car until we left. The room was clean and had a romantic feel with the fireplace and Jacuzzi tub. The staff was friendly and warm. The breakfast bake was delicious and we enjoy eating on the patio, after the rain. Would stay there again on our visit next year. Thank you for a wonderful evening and morning!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

One night is just not long enough to enjoy all Coronado has to offer. We do hope your next stay with us is a longer one. Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I'll echo other reviewers and say that the staff is amazing. They recommended a wonderful place for dinner, made reservations and then called ahead to arrange a nice little surprise. The happy hour was a nice touch and breakfast was way more than expected. Lovely place that I can't wait to stay at again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_Gena_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Coronado has so many wonderful restaurants, most within walking distance of the 1906 Lodge. After dinner chances are you'll wish the walk was longer as you stroll hand in hand down Orange Avenue….it's a nice way to end a wonderful day on Coronado Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed at the Lodge for 3 nights and found it a wonderful place from which to explore the area. The ferry to San Diego is easily accessible, and it is a joy to return to the peacefulness and mellowness of Coronado (with a property that is consistent with that). We also spent a day exploring Coronado, which was very pleasant. The property is ideally located.

The room and amenities were both excellent. When we booked, the website showed detailed pictures of all rooms, which was helpful in choosing a room (especially a Garden Suite). We chose "Polo Field" because we didn't need a bathtub/jacuzzi, but we did desire natural light (windows on three sides) and a balcony. The room was very comfortable and quiet (on the second floor). There was a king bed, a sofa and chair, and a desk. The bathroom had a walk-in shower. There was a small refrigerator in the room, a coffee maker, and of course a "boob tube" (TV).

We get to San Diego once a year or so and will not hesitate to return to 1906 Lodge. It fit our needs (and, oh, the morning breakfast was perfect for our needs).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Lucky you, a once a year visit to San Diego! Happy to hear you enjoyed the leather sofa, recliner and natural light in The Polo Suite. We do have a few rooms that are a bit less sunny, perfect for those who love a midday nap, but as for most the fresh air and sunshine is most welcome. Hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The 1906 Lodge is one of the rare places where a guest feels like a guest, not just a paying customer.

The staff is knowledgeable--many are natives of the Island--friendly, and helpful. Breakfasts, with a hot entree each day, are tasty. The Lodge is beautiful. On weekends, there is a social hour with wine and nibbles, backed by professional musicians.

Compared to other places one could stay in the San Diego area, the Lodge seems a bit spendy--until you add in the perks like the breakfast (you won't need lunch) and free secure parking.

The Lodge has the advantage of being close to the main commercial and social areas on Coronado, like the Hotel Del Coronado and the beach, without the disadvantage of being in the commercial and social areas. It's nice and quiet.

A travel tip for motorists in the San Diego area, including Coronado: A lot of the street parking is metered, with the meters requiring coins. Parking meters aren't expensive, but if you don't have coins, you can end up in a lot, which could be expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Iambic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Our afternoon Happy Hour is better than ever when accompanied by local musicians. We are happy to hear you agree!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
718 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,035 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Village at The Del, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 1060 Adella Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2908 (Formerly 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coronado
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: £178 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a truly relaxing getaway, choose the 1906 Lodge, now a part of the Four Sisters Inns collection. Guests enjoy a complimentary gourmet breakfast, onsite parking, afternoon refreshments, spa robes, internet, loaner beach chairs, TV/Cable and local calls. Walk to the beach and dozens of restaurants and shops. Luxury suites have a king bed, fireplace, spa tub, fridge, wet bar, porch or balcony, safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1906 Lodge At Coronado Beach Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing