We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1906 Lodge is Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Hoover, Alabama, United States
1 review
“1906 Lodge is Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The 1906 Lodge is in a great location where you can park your car and walk to everything. The staff is excellent in every way and the food is better than you would expect. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Our Guests are Great! We look forward to your return…thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    73
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
66
452
25
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

1906 Lodge is a superbly restored mansion and adjoining property that’s been turned into a 17-room B&B. Perfection is the only word that fits it—beautiful in every way. Every detail, from the floors to the ceiling moldings and decorations, is authentic and spotless. Our suite, on the second floor, had wooden blinds, leather furniture, a huge shower with two heads (one jutting from the ceiling) and a private balcony. A continental breakfast, served either in a quaint mini dining room or on an outdoor patio with fountains, is augmented by hot dishes. Wine, cheese and hors d’oeuvres are served from 5 to 6—longer if people are lingering. If this sounds like an advertisement for the 1906 Lodge, it’s only because we think you’d love it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
It so pleases us to hear that you felt immediately "at home" in our spacious arts and craft interiors. The details you enjoyed were created with this unique guest experience in mind. We proudly welcome guests and we strive for each guest's stay to be as lovely as yours. We appreciate the nod to our hardworking housekeeping staff. They are the best! Thank you dear guest. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I can’t say enough nice things about the 1906 Lodge. The service was excellent and very friendly. The innkeepers are keen to help with anything you might need. Our innkeepers reserved a table for us at a fantastic nearby restaurant and even located an electric kettle for me. Much nicer than the impersonal service you receive at larger hotels.

The amenities are first-class; beautiful spotless rooms (ask for a 2nd floor suite with a whirlpool tub); private underground parking (included); and a tranquil courtyard with fountain off the dining room. Our suite was very quiet, with no traffic noise and even minimal-to-no noise from the room A/C. The beds are very comfortable. You will sleep like a lamb. Breakfast (included) is continental with 1 hot option (varies each day). The food was excellent. The 5 pm wine & snacks happy hour (included) is a great way to mingle and to get to know your fellow guests.

The lodge is conveniently located just a few minutes walk from the Hotel Del Coronado, the beach, restaurants, bike & Segway rentals etc. Coronado is a beautiful small town with many well-kept historic homes and buildings, bike trails, fishing, kayaking, golf and of course one of the very best beaches in CA. There is the very occasional jet noise along the beach front from military aircraft approaching the Navy base on the West end of the island. However, it is occasional enough to be interesting and not frequent enough to be of concern (e.g. in our 3 day stay, there was 1 occurrence).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Yes, Coronado is a beautiful small town with many options for fun, dining, shopping and sports. Sounds to me like you made the most of all Coronado has to offer. So much so an additional day was needed! Thank you for your detailed review. We are pleased you "slept like a lamb" and felt at home with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodmere, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I had a reservation at 1906 Lodge, and I gave a deposit of one night. I had to cancel the reservation a week in advance because my mother needed emergency surgery. The hotel would not give me a refund or a credit, and they would not answer my phone calls or Expedia's phone calls. I understand that they might not want to give a refund, but under the circumstances, I thought they should have given me a credit for another night's stay at another time. This was poor (and extremely unsympathetic) customer service. I would not recommend them.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Roberta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We never want to disappoint a guest. It is extremely troubling to hear you encountered poor service. I will review exactly what occurred with your cancelled reservation and would appreciate the chance to speak to you regarding this. Please let me know if there is a good time to call you or, if you prefer, you may call me at #866-435-1906. I apologize for the added stress this caused you during an already stressful time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juno Beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Amazing restoration of a beautiful property within walking distance of the beach and Del Coronado for dinner. Very friendly inn keeper. No detail left undone. Excellent breakfast on an open patio in a private courtyard.

Room Tip: Winchester room was excellent. Window seat for quiet reading time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Happy to hear you enjoyed quiet time nestled in one of the Lodge's many inviting and sunny window seats. What a nice way to while away the afternoon. Interested in the renovation? Don't forget to take a look at the 1906 Lodge "Before and After" books during your next stay. Thanks for the kind review-hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a spacious Garden Suite and absolutely loved it. Room had a sitting area, private porch, large bathroom, refrigerator...met our needs perfectly. Very private/quiet -- we never heard other guests. Daily breakfast was high quality and evening wine/snacks was a nice extra. Plus gym privileges right across the street ($10/day) and free parking in an underground garage - wow! Staff is professional and friendly and really goes the extra mile to make sure needs are met. Can walk easily to all the great Coronado shops and restaurants. We had family staying at the nearby Hotel Del and while the history, restaurants, etc., there are great, we found it to be crowded and busy -- couldn't wait each day to escape back to the peacefulness of 1906 Lodge!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
It was a pleasure reading your review. - Thank You for the time spent sharing your experiences. We hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We enjoyed a cool and rainy weekend in Coronado at the 1906 Lodge. The property is made up of a main house with a gorgeous and comfortable sitting room, breakfast area and several guest rooms, and a two story courtyard building with guestrooms around a beautiful fountain/garden. There is underground parking and some small meeting rooms if you need something like that.

This place is really about relaxation, though. We are not good b&b folks...but having driven by many times, we decided to give this place a try on a quick trip to the island without our kids. It was a great choice.

Check in is simple and quick. The inn's staff is 10/10, super friendly, very helpful and quick with a smile. The room was large and comfortable with a great bed and small wet bar/fridge. We had a nice balcony with two comfortable chairs. The weather was perfect for enjoying the foggy mornings with a cup of coffee from there.

We opted for a room without the deep soaking tub/spa. But our room did have a fireplace. Of course, drizzle or not, August in SoCal ain't exactly fireplace weather. But it would be a great thing to enjoy during a November visit!

Breakfast -- fresh fruit, baked goods and cereal -- is served in the main lodge and the courtyard every morning. It's included in your rate.

The location is terrific. One block from Orange Ave. The beach, the Del, and all the fun of Coronado is accessible within a short walk. If you have a car, you should never have to move it!

One suggestion -- if the management reads this -- at this price point, better soap/shampoo/bathroom amenities would be appreciated and would really distinguish an already solid place. But that's a minor point.

All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsethiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan N, Manager at 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Over the years we have found we hit the just right notes for guests who prefer the B&B experience and others, like you, who don't typically stay in B&Bs. We are very pleased you were comfortably "at home" in your Garden Suite. Your feedback concerning our amenities sparked an immediate discussion among we Innkeepers. We appreciate your comments and we thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
La Avenida Inn
#6 of 16 in Coronado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Cordova Hotel
#9 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Hotel del Coronado
#8 of 16 in Coronado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn

Property: 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 1060 Adella Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118 (Formerly 1906 Lodge at Coronado Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Coronado
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#9 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a truly relaxing getaway, choose the 1906 Lodge, now a part of the Four Sisters Inns collection. Guests enjoy a complimentary gourmet breakfast, onsite parking, afternoon refreshments, spa robes, internet, loaner beach chairs, TV/Cable and local calls. Walk to the beach and dozens of restaurants and shops. Luxury suites have a king bed, fireplace, spa tub, fridge, wet bar, porch or balcony, safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your 1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1906 Lodge At Coronado Beach Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing